Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Data sharing between platforms?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hi all i'm new to mobile platforms and I have a question regarding data sharing.it may be simple for some here so any help would be greatly appreciated.

How is data handled between different platforms online

Eg. User1platform = Android
user2 platform = ios

The data i'm referring to is the online state of each user and their location

Like I said i'm new to the mobile world but I assume I would send a packet of data over the Web which will then b picked up by another user and then interpreted from there... somebody please shed some light on this for me

Native Technology
Markus
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 26th May 2014 14:01
i believe best choice is device-wan-webserver-wan-device
with http commands. alternate multiplayer commands.

AGK 108 (B)19 : Windows 8.1 Pro 64 Bit : AMD Radeon HD 6670
Naphier
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th May 2014 19:53
There are 2 different ways:
Games with live action use a server-side program to interpret data and send it back out to any connected users. MMO games are a good example of this. It is very complex and to do it with AppGameKit would require a server which can run a Windows exe program. I've no idea where to even begin with that stuff. There are some example of using the AppGameKit multiplayer commands in the documentation.