Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / 3D Normal Shader using 5 lights and a texture atlas - working I think

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
OK...I'm really new to shaders and I've been working on this for about a week.

The goal: a shader that will handle up to 5 lights, normal mapping, passing the object texture offset (numbers across and down, not the actual offsets) in R and G of the object color, passing the ambient light level in the B parameter, and the object's alpha in A.

I think I've got it, but I'd love someone who knows this stuff to take a look.

Here's the vertex shader:

and here's the pixel shader:

Cobbled together and modified from about 1,000 examples here and on the internet. I also use a few "undocumented" things from agk...I just assumed that there'd be a tangent and binormal vector available...and my example seems to indicate that they do exist but I haven't seen any documentation.

I know the attenuation is cheap, but I've been focused hard on correct normal mapping and the 5 light problem.

Here's some agk code to set the shader up:

Oh...and the hsv to rgb code is there as, after I get some validation that this really is normal mapping correctly, I'll be using the object R channel for the texture number and deriving the offsets from that while converting the G to the H part of HSV so I can do some really basic object coloring.

Would appreciate it if anyone that really knows this stuff could check it out to validate that it's really doing normal mapping. And...any comment from the AppGameKit devs as to parameters available to shaders would be great too!

Born. Currently living.
AJCodes
Years of Service
User Offline