Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Problem with global arrays in functions - please help

Author
Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 14th Jan 2015 10:06
Hi all,

hoping someone can help, I am new to AGK2 but have done some projects a while back in DarkBasic Pro so not fully new to programming.
I am having some trouble with the code below regarding arrays.
This is the start of a flood fill routine which takes the image, PIC4.png a 640 x 430 image with white as the background colour and black as a line drawing for areas to colour in and then uses a 2D array of the same dimensions to store a set of numbers from 1 to ? depending on the complexity of the drawing.
The array stores a value at the pixel co-ord for x and y and is reference to a fill area. So what it does is give a fill area a specific number a bit like paint by numbers but each fill area on the screen has it's own number area.
I haven't got to the part where I actually paint yet but just doing the storing of the numbers so far.

If I run the program with the Print commands un-commented in the function storeFillPixels then the correct values are shown in the array pixelStore[x,y], however if I re-comment the Print commands back out to then see the pixelStore[x,y] values printed in the main program it shows some odd values store eg 37 and 256 instead of starting at 1.

Any ideas or if this makes sense?
I am storing the values this way instead of doing a tradition fill to obtain the different values for each fill area on my pic as the program I am creating is going to be a colouring book style program but with not the normal flood fill for colouring the areas.

Thanks in advance.

Background:
AMOS on the AMIGA!

Attachments