Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Following two objects at once

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Feb 2015 06:43
Hello.

I purchased AGK2 a few months ago and finally getting around to using it. I'm new to AGK2, but not new to game development or programming in general.

I have spent some time with some AppGameKit tutorials and now feel comfortable enough to start my first game. I have several game ideas mulling around in my head and have decided to focus on one in particular.

My game will consist of two main objects: one is player controlled and the other is computer controlled. The goal of each level is to keep the two objects as close together as possible while navigating the playfield to a destination point. The player cannot control or manipulate the computer object directly, but instead will use various methods to coax it along.

That said, my game engine needs the ability to scroll and follow both objects at once from an overhead perspective. Both objects need to be kept on the screen at all times by zooming the playfield in (when close together) and out to a maximum viewpoint. All objects (including obstacles) will scale while zooming to stay in-sync with the background.

What's the best way to get started? Is there a tutorial to demonstrate the above? I don't mind cutting this overall objective into smaller pieces.

All comments and suggestions welcome. Thanks!
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Feb 2015 10:33 Edited at: 6th Feb 2015 10:38
It's your lucky day...or lucky choice of programming language.

Check out the following 2 commands in the help, in the core section:

SetViewZoom
SetViewZoomMode

To move around the playing field:

SetViewOffset