Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Crash when using admobs

Author
Message
Phat
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2014
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2015 00:56
Hello.

So, i work in Tier 1, and my game crash when i click on the banner. I'm using Admob with the actual build 2.0.11.

I get random crash too when the app is in the background, but it's really rare, i get a 100% chance to crash when i clic on an ads

I'm alone with this problem ? Or do i miss something ?

Thanks in advance.
JLMoondog
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2009
Location: Paradox
Posted: 11th Feb 2015 03:32
Great thing about admob is it's three commands and your done, no need to mess with it in your game loop.

Any chance on seeing your admob sections of your code? Only things I can think of is your admod # is wrong or you're trying to mess with admob in your game loop, which is unnecessary unless you're hiding/showing it.

Phat
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2014
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2015 07:30
I load before the Do & Loop this :

// AdMob



And... that all. No more code is required

Obviously, the problem is not The detail in SetAdmobDetails, i load the correct configuration of the Ads.

That's really strange, i will try to create a demo of what happens.
paulrobson
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Nov 2014
Location: Norfolk, England
Posted: 11th Feb 2015 18:16
Do one with just that and nothing else ?
Phat
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2014
Location:
Posted: 11th Feb 2015 19:44
This simple exemple reproduces the problem.


(simple... right ? )

The game going in the background and my default browser is showing up (normal). But just after i reselect the AppGameKit app, the game crashed. I'm on Android 4.4.4. Tried with generating an APK too.

The problem not exist with the old Android version i have (2.3.6).
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 12th Feb 2015 08:34
Are the offsets necessary?
What is happening with that orientation setting?
Could the combination of those two be causing it?
I don't really see very much else happening, so maybe try changing one of those and see what happens.
As in change...
CreateAdvertEx(0, 0, 0, 0, 2, 2)
...to...
CreateAdvert(0, 0, 0, 0)

or...
SetOrientationAllowed( 1, 1, 1, 1 )
...to...
SetOrientationAllowed( 0, 0, 1, 1 )

Because it looks like you are using landscape mode for the set up.


Coding things my way since 1981 -- Currently using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1
Phat
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2014
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2015 13:02
I don't think it is the problem, i have this with a game in portrait mode. I will try the CreateAdvert() command tonight to see if i have the same crash... I used CreateAdvertEx to center the ads.
Phat
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2014
Location:
Posted: 12th Feb 2015 23:04
CreateAdvert(0, 0, 0, 0) create the same problem.
Phat
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2014
Location:
Posted: 15th Feb 2015 17:09 Edited at: 15th Feb 2015 18:29
Ok so, it's happen only on my Xperia Z3 Compact...

I don't understand why, but i share it.

Edit : Found ! It was an option in Developer mode, with the Background process limit, *do not keep discontinued operations*. Just after desactivate it, the problem disapears. It's happens only with AppGameKit games, not with others apps... :/
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 15th Feb 2015 19:00 Edited at: 15th Feb 2015 19:03
Quote: " Found ! It was an option in Developer mode, with the Background process limit, *do not keep discontinued operations*. Just after desactivate it, the problem disapears. It's happens only with AppGameKit games, not with others apps... :/ "

Maybe the apps made with AppGameKit are more thorough than those other apps.

Glad to hear you got it working, and thanks for sharing when you figured this out.
Some people resolve the issue on their own and then never come back to say what fixed it, leaving the rest of us vulnerable to that issue.


Coding things my way since 1981 -- Currently using AppGameKit V2 Tier 1

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-18 20:45:19
Your offset time is: 2024-05-18 20:45:19