Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / [SOLVED] Reasons why my 3d models are loaded black?

Author
Message
Game_Code_here
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2020
Location:
Posted: 10th Dec 2021 06:11
Ok so some of my 3d models I load in turn black.

There fine in blender and are perfect in my model application.

But in appgamekit they are black.

I am loading them correct and applying textures correct so i am not sure what the reason would be.

I am loading them up as FBX as they work perfect this way other then the ones that are black.

The author of this post has marked a post as an answer.

Go to answer

ando
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2020
Location: Australia
Posted: 10th Dec 2021 08:06 Edited at: 10th Dec 2021 08:09
Would SetObjectColorEmissive(Obj,80,80,80) light it up enough to see if the textures exist on your models?

Also, can you export your models in another format? Like b3d or x.
BASIC appeared in May 1964. Lightning flashed, the wind roared and the Earth moved.
And nine months later I was born.
So here I am.
I am Basic.
Code is in my genes.
Game_Code_here
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2020
Location:
Posted: 10th Dec 2021 08:27
SetObjectColorEmissive(Obj,80,80,80)

This sets them grey with no texture even though they have a texture applied.

I do not have a option for .x and have not tried b3d.

But so far fbx is the best option for animated models.

ando
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2020
Location: Australia
Posted: 10th Dec 2021 09:33
I usually use milkshape3d, b3d or fbx for animated models.
Today I made an animated model ms3d and it didn't work even though it works fine in milkshape. I exported b3d and it worked.

I often have trouble with this. Some times a format works and some times it doesn't with all 3 of the formats I use.
Sometimes the anim is screwed and sometimes not.
It is very inconsistent. Trying all different formats is the only workaround I have found.
BASIC appeared in May 1964. Lightning flashed, the wind roared and the Earth moved.
And nine months later I was born.
So here I am.
I am Basic.
Code is in my genes.
ando
4
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Feb 2020
Location: Australia
Posted: 10th Dec 2021 09:53 Edited at: 10th Dec 2021 09:54
If you are using multi textures try just aplying 1 tex in slot 0 just to see if it shows up or not. If your model was grey before then it seems like it's just not there. ???
BASIC appeared in May 1964. Lightning flashed, the wind roared and the Earth moved.
And nine months later I was born.
So here I am.
I am Basic.
Code is in my genes.
PartTimeCoder
AGK Tool Maker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2015
Location: London UK
Posted: 10th Dec 2021 12:20
are you using UVMap 1 and texture slot 0 ??? and check the normal directions
Open Source plugins
Cl - DnD Plugin
Buy Me A Coffee
Game_Code_here
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2020
Location:
Posted: 10th Dec 2021 19:05 Edited at: 10th Dec 2021 19:22
Quote: "are you using UVMap 1 and texture slot 0 ??? and check the normal directions"


I am using texture slot 0 and for testing I am now using

SetObjectMeshImage( Guard, 1,ObjectImage_1, 0 )

As far as the normals I am not sure how to check the direction.

Please note:

They all work in other application's, just not appgamekit.
PartTimeCoder
AGK Tool Maker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2015
Location: London UK
Posted: 10th Dec 2021 19:26 Edited at: 10th Dec 2021 19:30
Quote: "I am not sure how to check the direction."


The green lines should be pointing away (outward) from the model, any that point inwards are wrong

for any wrong faces, select the face, from the menu, Mesh>>Normal>>Flip ... it sounds more like a UVMap issue tho, are you sure its unwrapped??

Quote: "Please note:"


Hmmm, double check the UV, I'm sure it must be that

AGK demands that the UV is UVMap 1, cant use secondary UV maps unless using a custom shader
Open Source plugins
Cl - DnD Plugin
Buy Me A Coffee

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Game_Code_here
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2020
Location:
Posted: 10th Dec 2021 19:53
Quote: "Hmmm, double check the UV, I'm sure it must be that"


It could be but it looks just fine in blender so I am confused.

I am going to recreate it and start over because there must be a setting I am setting for some and not for others.

The only difference I can think of is the ones that are black have hair and the ones that work fine have no hair.
blink0k
Moderator
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2013
Location: the land of oz
Posted: 10th Dec 2021 22:55 Edited at: 10th Dec 2021 22:56
This post has been marked by the post author as the answer.
Game_Code_here
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2020
Location:
Posted: 10th Dec 2021 23:36
Quote: "I remember this problem. It had to do with the model having vertex colours (set to black)"


Well I am making fbx extension's not .x so I am not sure how to fix this.
PartTimeCoder
AGK Tool Maker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2015
Location: London UK
Posted: 10th Dec 2021 23:42 Edited at: 10th Dec 2021 23:44
Then just delete the vertex color groups in blender, that should fix it, no?

Open Source plugins
Cl - DnD Plugin
Buy Me A Coffee

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Game_Code_here
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2020
Location:
Posted: 11th Dec 2021 00:30
Quote: "Then just delete the vertex color groups in blender, that should fix it, no?"


I will try this now and let you know.
Game_Code_here
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2020
Location:
Posted: 11th Dec 2021 00:45
That works , oh my lord it works.

But it only works if I do not give my model lightmode=1

so the models can not have shader support is what is wrong.
PartTimeCoder
AGK Tool Maker
9
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2015
Location: London UK
Posted: 11th Dec 2021 00:59
Everything you see on the screen is rendered by a shader its how the GPU draws stuff, there must be something else in the model effecting it.

where it it from, free to download, I'll take a peek if I can...

Open Source plugins
Cl - DnD Plugin
Buy Me A Coffee
Game_Code_here
3
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Jun 2020
Location:
Posted: 11th Dec 2021 01:06
Quote: "where it it from, free to download, I'll take a peek if I can"


I Make these myself in character creator and export them out with a export license.

They are strait from iclone 7 with full face animations and textures with mod variations.

That is why I am setting this up to show that I can export and import iclone characters.

I will show something tonight when I am finished.

I can even sell these models as there mine but Not the ones I'm testing.

But they look and work just as good.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-04 09:21:38
Your offset time is: 2024-05-04 09:21:38