Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Author
Message
slurch901
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2004
Location: ESPAÑA
Posted: 20th Jan 2004 16:18 Edited at: 20th Jan 2004 16:25
yo wats up dudes

ive got a prob well actually 3

1st prob:

when i load my game i can walk through the matrixes

2nd prob:

when i want a message to stay while im in matrix it goes after like 1/2 a sec and i cant read it e.g "you have lvled up what skill do u want"

prob 3:

when i tell the game to teleport me (object hit(1,2)
and i do this with the same object to go back through (instead of making 2 it doesnt work....

plz help me fix these
Penfold
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Dec 2003
Location: RED postbox houses of parliment
Posted: 20th Jan 2004 20:31
I think your gonna need to post a little code mate..

as for problem 1. I think you need to use the command to find the matrix level for your x,z position.. srry don't remeber the command off the top of my head.

as for problem 2 you need to have the text timed to display for a specific amount of time. ie

do
timer = 100
If timer >0 then text 10,10, "level up"
dec timer
sync
loop


as for 3. I haven't got a clue....

'Ooh 'eck chief'...'crumbs'
VishalC
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 20th Jan 2004 21:18
prob 1)
the command penfold is looking for is
Get Matrix Height(Matrix Number, x position, y position)
so you would use it like this:

put that code in the main game loop and that way the object will never go through the matrix. same thing for the camera. you can add a little to the ypos# to make your camera have some height.


Prob 2)
you need to print your message to the screen once each time the loop is run.

Prob 3)
Have no idea what you are asking!

Hope that helped.

If it wasn't for the last minute, nothing would get done!
slurch901
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2004
Location: ESPAÑA
Posted: 20th Jan 2004 22:04 Edited at: 20th Jan 2004 22:12
thx for that u 2 but the 3rd one is that i made a 2 telelporters
1 in each matrix mat.1 - mat.2 vice versa and when i put it for both of them the code that is it just doesnt work...

2 more probs.....

i made a platform to stand on and i want it to move slowly upwards sort of like a lift

the last one is that whenever i execute the program it comes up d3d error message???

help plz
thx
Travis
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2003
Location: West Aust.
Posted: 21st Jan 2004 05:50 Edited at: 21st Jan 2004 05:52
ok look first we need the code so we can see how u set stuff up we cant just guess there would be to many posible ways to fix it

second we need more detailed explanations
Quote: "made a platform to stand on and i want it to move slowly upwards sort of like a lift"

that isnt even a question!!

and three we need exact error messages....if u want us to help you, you have to help us first by giving us stuff to work with


#edit - with number 2 i guess its close to being a question but u should add on ", how can i do this" its just plain rude how you ask for stuff
slurch901
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2004
Location: ESPAÑA
Posted: 21st Jan 2004 11:25 Edited at: 21st Jan 2004 11:58
soz about beind so vauge

ive put the lvl code here > -


if n e 1 could fix it so the text stays on the screen for more than 1/2 a sec it would be appicated.

thx

and the solid matrix thing doesnt work i can still walk through the sides here the code for the char



that code was me making the char (so far its a sphere making models later)

and this is how i control it and the other stuff


this is get the position of the object for the camera



also the qu earlier about the lift was i make a platform and i want it to decent up so my char can get to the top of the cliff kk

so far this is a 40 page game but not even half done its going to be abit like morrowind except better and more stuff to do
Travis
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2003
Location: West Aust.
Posted: 21st Jan 2004 12:12 Edited at: 21st Jan 2004 12:15
k well all i did was set the cursor ever time instead of using prints as spaces and i added waits just for effect u can remove them if u want and the other stuff



thats the first bit and i dont understand ur matrix problem, are you talkign about a matrix as walls? or other objects?
slurch901
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2004
Location: ESPAÑA
Posted: 21st Jan 2004 14:09 Edited at: 21st Jan 2004 14:11
thx for the code but unfortunatly it doesn't work.....

the matrix bit is that i have made a matrix with sloped sides to stop the player going off the scrren but at the moment the player still can walk through the sides of the matrix
Travis
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2003
Location: West Aust.
Posted: 22nd Jan 2004 07:42
i tested the code myself...so i dunno what ur doing thats wrong...
ok i just recomplied it and it works...if u copy that straight into a new db project and run it it should work then u can work out what uv done wrong

hmm with the matrix... lets see
make a check to see if the matix height in the next step forward is higher then where you are at the moment if the difference is say over 5 then stop the movement
slurch901
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jan 2004
Location: ESPAÑA
Posted: 22nd Jan 2004 15:24
dude i tried the code again but it stll doesn't work because its in the loop command it just does it sooooooooo quick and especially while in matrix mode as well
John H
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 23rd Jan 2004 04:20
Travis: Not needed.

M8- Have you tried putting

Y#=Get Ground Height(1,Object Position X(1),Object Position Z(1))

In your loop? Then position your character at that Y height?


We need help! Email us! [email protected]
Travis
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2003
Location: West Aust.
Posted: 23rd Jan 2004 08:31
rpg - yeah i guess...

slurch - ok look that code will work if you can impliment it properly, because i have wait commands in the code aswell as the input command it will pause the proccesing so no matter where it is in your program it will stop and be displayed how ever fast the program is running

and in my oppinion if you cant get a simple text setup like that working the way you want then maybe you should practise on easyier stuff first before embarking on a 40 page program/game

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-22 11:37:42
Your offset time is: 2025-05-22 11:37:42