Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Any good 2D Tutorials?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 20th Feb 2004 00:59
I think I speak for all the noobs (and newbs) when I say, we need a good tutorial for the 2D aspect of DB and DBPro.

http://www.t4e0.4cybiko.com
The GameXaero Forums
Cros Jovil
Years of Service
User Offline
I would have to agree I am a noob and I love good old fashion 2d games but where can I learn to make the character to interact with the ground and such so ya we need a tutorial
Prep
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Feb 2004 22:37 Edited at: 21st Feb 2004 22:39
hmm... depending on what topics need covering I wouldn't mind helping or writing a tutorial on some aspects of 2d. What topics would you like to see covered in such?

Basic Understanding of Arrays needed for all the following
Drawing Tile based backgrounds
Array based Collision
Methods of Scrolling
------Bitmap
------Sprite

If thats all people really want I'll have ago at writing something up, anyone think of anything else to cover? (don't say AI )

To be no more, sad cure.
UnderLord
Years of Service
User Offline
Prep i think its all the same problems

- arcade style movement 360 degree turns,speed forward,backwards,side to side, ect ect ect.
- sprites movement and how to manipulate sprites.
- shooting, selection of weapons/weapon scrolling
-sprite based collision and or any other type of collision for 2d games