Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / i have a MAJOR problem, any tips?

Author
Message
Takeshii
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 29th Feb 2004 05:10
ok i have this problem.... actually its more of a road blockade

ok here we go! i know what all the cmmd's fo dark basic do and why. and i have read that dark basic book (which didnt help much cause im into 3D). when i have an idea for a program or game i think it out. then i write down on a piece of paper, what it is gunna do and all that. but when i have it all planned out, i move on to the coding. heres my problem : i have these ideas but i just cant put them into code. yet i know what every cmmd does and how to use it.

that is the best i can explain it, its REALLY tough jus trying to explain it

Dark
BearCDPOLD
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: AZ,USA
Posted: 29th Feb 2004 06:29
To be able to program, you have to get a couple of things buried into your mind.

1. The idea behind programming is that you use the commands available and arrange them in such a way that it produces something useful and/or beautiful. There's knowing the commands, and then there's knowing how to put the commands together.

2. Once you have the above mindset, look around in different areas of this site (and in the book) that have some demonstration code. Look at what it does, then think How can I change this so that it works in the way I want it to, so the I can implement it into a game?

3. Whatever you program has to have structure. Lump your code into sections, subroutines, or functions that perform specific tasks. Here is what a main loop could look like:

SetupGraphics()
LoadGameObjects()
SetupCollision()
DO
CheckControls()
CheckCollision()
CheckTriggers()
LOOP

If you just cannot come to grips with programming, you could always invest time learning other aspects of game development. There's sound engineering, music composition, art, marketing, and project management.

Good luck, and keep posting,
Crazy Donuts

Crazy Donut Productions
Current Project: KillZone
DWR
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Dec 2003
Location: No-where to be seen
Posted: 1st Mar 2004 15:17
I have a similar problem - Each of my ideas involves a 3d modle on a bitmap - but the 3d model is animated,and causes the bitmap (Which is loaded,not backdropped) blurs when the model moves. I cannot do the backdrop method, because the bitmap is not a single texture - it would look very odd. ?????

BatVink
Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 1st Mar 2004 18:33
DWR, you probably need to texture a plain and lock it to the screen. Loading a bitmap renders it onto the current buffer, but after that it will get overwritten by anything placed in front of it.

You could also put your bitmap onto a sprite, and DRAW 2D TO BACK.

BatVink (formerly StevieVee)
http://facepaint.me.uk/catalog/default.php

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-22 18:39:28
Your offset time is: 2025-05-22 18:39:28