Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / 3d questions

Author
Message
Tim Ballisto
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Feb 2004
Location: Right behind you.
Posted: 14th Mar 2004 22:42
1. can you export an object as an x/3ds file?

2. how do you make a triangular plain between three points in 3d space (kind of like the milkshape vertex-to-face plains.)
HZence
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Mar 2003
Location:
Posted: 15th Mar 2004 03:25
1. From DarkBASIC, no.

2. This would be kinda hard to do in DarkBASIC. Don't really have the answer; I'm sure it's needlessly complicated though.


Team EOD :: Programmer/Storyboard Assistant
MrNick
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 15th Mar 2004 20:11
i'm not sure because i dont have the manual with me, but i think you can make a triangluar plain by using the ... make object triange command, if there is one. I'll post the real answer when i have the manual with me.


Make games!
Tim Ballisto
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Feb 2004
Location: Right behind you.
Posted: 16th Mar 2004 13:13 Edited at: 16th Mar 2004 13:43
how about a make memblock from mesh, only i need the full object.


EDIT: can somebody explain the make object triangle command to me? is it a triangular plain?

EDIT AGAIN: i'm also wondering how to position an object on the 3d x,y plain in correspondance to the mousex(),mousey()


I have basics for newbies and shortcuts for everyone.
Van B
Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 16th Mar 2004 13:43
In DB classic you can't really do very much with a model unless you have the DarkMATTER add-on, then you could make it into a memblock and make your own .X export - not an ideal solution but it's possible. DBPro can export a mesh in it's own memblock format which can be loaded into DBPro again, but we should get some sort of .DBO export in the future.

MAKE OBJECT TRIANGLE Objno,xa,ya,za,xb,yb,zb,xc,yc,zc

This makes a polygon object, like 1 single 3 point polygon, and those values relate to real world coordinates. It does make a reasonable ground trail, I actually used 2 MAKE OBJECT TRIANGLE's per loop in Stoked to get the snowboard trail - so deleting 2 objects and making 2 triangles to replace them is not out of the question in DB.

Tim, for this level of development - you should really be using DBPro and not DB, you'll quickly get sick of the limits of DB and wish you could do more technical stuff like making meshes through code for example.


Van-B


The nature of Monkey was irrepressible!.
Tim Ballisto
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Feb 2004
Location: Right behind you.
Posted: 16th Mar 2004 15:12
my main question is actually putting a .05 sphere on the x,y coordinants according to the mousex(),mousey(). by my logic this should work:

position object 1,mousex(),mousey(),1

but unfortunately it doesn't. if you understand what i'm trying to do, can you help me?


I have basics for newbies and shortcuts for everyone.
Van B
Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Oct 2002
Location: Sunnyvale
Posted: 16th Mar 2004 16:10
No, because everything 3D depends on the camera - 3D coordinates have no direct relationship with 2D coordinates, however 3D coordinates can be converted into 2D screen coordinates (like you could find out the screen position of anything 3D, good for easy object clicking etc). By positioning an object at the mouse coordinates, you are positioning the object and it would work if you put the camera at 320,240,-400 or something like that - but I doubt that's what you intended.

Take a look at the code snippets forum, the RTS mouse snippets posted there should show you how complex mouse to 3D coding can be. My snippet that I posted over at LLRGT's code snippets works in DBClassic.


Van-B


The nature of Monkey was irrepressible!.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-23 01:22:09
Your offset time is: 2025-05-23 01:22:09