Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / image clarity

Author
Message
glint
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2004
Location: the Synth
Posted: 30th Mar 2004 06:17
I am developing a 4-way scrolling game which will build constantly off of a tilesheet. However, when I paste an image to the screen, it loses a lot of quality. In fact, it looks terrible. All the fine details disappear and the pixels appear blurred together. This happens when I paste bmps and jpegs.
Am I doing something wrong?
zircher
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posted: 30th Mar 2004 07:28
load image "my_image.png", imageID, 1

The final ",1" turns off filtering which causes the blurred texture.
--
TAZ

glint
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2004
Location: the Synth
Posted: 1st Apr 2004 05:35
How do you load an image so that the filtering is still on? And why does the number 1 affect it?
Tapewormz
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Sep 2002
Location: Winnipeg, Mantoba, Canada
Posted: 1st Apr 2004 06:13
Weird, I was wondering about that too.

Quote: " Timesoft - Your wife is death. How? NO idea.
But it is murder. REVENGE!!!!!!!!!"

Hands down the funniest synopsis for a game ever. All your base are belong to us!
Pincho Paxton
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2002
Location:
Posted: 1st Apr 2004 12:17
???

zircher
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posted: 1st Apr 2004 19:57 Edited at: 1st Apr 2004 19:57
The one value is just a flag to tell the render engine to not apply mip mapping to the texture. There's no magic to it. TGC routinely adds functionality that way to various commands. Some are documented and others are not.

If you want blurry images (say for terrain), do not use the additional parameters or try ",0".
--
TAZ

glint
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2004
Location: the Synth
Posted: 2nd Apr 2004 03:30
When I loaded the bitmaps and jpegs to be pasted, I only gave the filename and the image ID. I did not put a third number.

( load image "c:\", 1 )
glint
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Feb 2004
Location: the Synth
Posted: 2nd Apr 2004 04:09
I tried what you said and appended a "1" to my image-loading statement. They came out pixel-perfect. Thanks!

One question, though. Is more video memory taken up when you load images this way?
zircher
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posted: 3rd Apr 2004 07:56
Same image size means same memory size. But, I imagine that they should load faster since less processing is required.
--
TAZ

Emperor Baal
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2003
Location: The Netherlands - Oudenbosch
Posted: 3rd Apr 2004 17:21
Its possible it's even smaller (no Multum in Parvum-map, aka mipmap)

Quote: "
UPDATED

Amd 2800+ 1024mb pc3200 A7N8X - Deluxe Ati Radeon 9800PRO 256mb
"

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-14 13:43:43
Your offset time is: 2025-05-14 13:43:43