Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Misc. game creation

Author
Message
artanon15
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jan 2004
Location: The Negative Material Plane
Posted: 4th Apr 2004 05:26 Edited at: 6th Apr 2004 02:17
Help needed:
-How to create a shortcut to a file from within an exe (for program installation purposes, please no "installation maker" programs)
-How the heck windowed coordinates work (for me the center of a 100x100 window is 300 something)

Thank you in advance to anyone who helps me.

"Your taunts are ill-advised templar."-Dark Templar, Starcraft
Monty87
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2003
Location: not very deep in the west country, eng
Posted: 7th Apr 2004 19:22
Quote: "Your taunts are ill-advised templar.""

Ooh, Im shaking in my over-sized boots.
Actually, where did that quote come from? sounds familiar.

Monty
Monty87
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Dec 2003
Location: not very deep in the west country, eng
Posted: 7th Apr 2004 19:23
And you neednt thank me like that, I was only being a pain and wasting thread space.

Monty
artanon15
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jan 2004
Location: The Negative Material Plane
Posted: 8th Apr 2004 21:58
The quote is from the PC game Starcraft, and the Dark Templar is the speaker.

"Your taunts are ill-advised templar."-Dark Templar, Starcraft
Mentor
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 8th Apr 2004 22:56 Edited at: 8th Apr 2004 22:58
the window is set to your screen resolution and scaled, you can either set that at the start of your code, eg:

set display mode 1024,640,32

or you can find out what resolution your app is running at with the functions

width=screen width()
height=screen height()
colours=screen depth()

then halve the width and height values to find the middle

to run a file from a DB program you can use

load dll

if its a dll and then call the library functions, or use

execute file filename,commandline,directory

if it`s a standard app, hope thats some help, cheers

Mentor.

PS I am assumeing you have Pro or the expansion pack for classic

PC1: P4 hyperthreading 3ghz, 1gig mem, 2x160gig hd`s, ATI radeon 9800 pro gfx, 6 way surround sound, PC2: AMD 1.2ghz, 512mb ram, FX5200 ultra gfx, stereo 16 bit soundblaster, ups.
artanon15
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Jan 2004
Location: The Negative Material Plane
Posted: 9th Apr 2004 04:51
Thank you, Mentor for the info on how to find the center of a windowed app, but I meant how to create a windows shortcut from within a program for the other question (example: the exe file creates a shortcut to itself from the desktop of a computer it is run on).

"Your taunts are ill-advised templar."-Dark Templar, Starcraft
Code Ninja
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Dec 2003
Location: AZ, U.S.
Posted: 13th Apr 2004 00:48 Edited at: 13th Apr 2004 00:50
well, if you can figure out the format for a .lnk file then you could write it like that... as for placing it on the desktop all you have to do is (in XP) find the OS Drive, then write the .lnk to the desktop folder (usually located in Documents and Settings\Administrator)

an example would be:



Dragael Software
Current Project: 2D RPG Editor (DragnEdit 2D)
BearCDPOLD
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2003
Location: AZ,USA
Posted: 13th Apr 2004 04:25
I spent ten minutes or so trying to open up my FarCryDemo.lnk file in notepad, but all it would come up with was gibberish. You could make the shortcut on your computer, set all the fields to where the program will be installed, then just use the COPY FILE command to put it on desktop. You have to make sure your program is always in the C:\ or C:\Program Files folder because if the program moves around the shortcut will get confused and die. That's why using an installer has benefits.

Crazy Donut Productions, Current Project: KillZone
Web Site Button Does Not Work, Visit Here: http://www.geocities.com/crazydonutproductions/index.html
Code Ninja
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Dec 2003
Location: AZ, U.S.
Posted: 14th Apr 2004 00:30
Quote: "I spent ten minutes or so trying to open up my FarCryDemo.lnk file in notepad, but all it would come up with was gibberish"

Yeah, it is a bit gibberish, but all you really have to do is experement with, say, by reading bytes, longs, floats, words etc... i mean, some of it makes sence... but yeah, installers have their benifits. http://www.clickteam.com/ has a free installer and updater which are both easy to use.

Dragael Software
Current Project: 2D RPG Editor (DragnEdit 2D)

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-23 17:15:30
Your offset time is: 2025-05-23 17:15:30