Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Need alternative to append command

Author
Message
3beth
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2004
Location: Good ole Kentucky
Posted: 11th May 2004 08:23
Hey does anybody know how to in Dark Basic Classic to:

keep and objects number active and just change the file it runs

example a static model not animated

load object "man01.3ds" 7700
and then change man01.3ds to man02.3ds and keep the 7700 object number, texture and current placement all at the present position? I tried the append command but there are no keyframes so it does not work.

Thanking anyone in advance that can help,

Beth

Beth=The ditsy blonde. I like men and programming, but mainly programmed men!
3beth
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2004
Location: Good ole Kentucky
Posted: 12th May 2004 01:38 Edited at: 12th May 2004 01:38
Any guesses?

Beth

Beth=The ditsy blonde. I like men and programming, but mainly programmed men!
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 12th May 2004 05:22
You could combine the 3d models in a progression of animated sequences then just play the correct frames.

otherwise its basically this process

load object "yourmodel_1.x",700
delete object 700
load object "yourmodel_2.x",700

but that causes headaches because theres a loading time involved again so if its live in the game go with combining all the models into one model with a 3d package


fall down seven times, stand up eight
3beth
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2004
Location: Good ole Kentucky
Posted: 12th May 2004 05:30
indi,

I have tried that it really doesn't work. I was hoping there was another command like append that would work without animation but thanks for the try.

Beth

Beth=The ditsy blonde. I like men and programming, but mainly programmed men!
sarin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Mar 2004
Location: nowhere
Posted: 12th May 2004 08:22
try using the show and hide commands. just have the position of the hidden object be moved as the shown object moves.

it would then be a process (at least if you wanted it to move) like

load object "man01.3ds",7700
load object "man02.3ds",7701
hide object 7701
do
if upkey() then move object 7700,5
if leftkey() then turn object left 7700,3
if rightkey() then turn object right 7700,3
if downkey() then move object 7700,-5
x#=object position x(7700)
y#=object position y(7700)
z#=object position z(7700)
position object 7701,x#,y#,z#
if spacekey() and object visible(7700)
hide object 7700
show object 7701
endif

if spacekey() and object visible(7701)
hide object 7701
show object 7700
endif

loop


by the way, only tap the space bar.

Sarin
waffle
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2002
Location: Western USA
Posted: 12th May 2004 11:15
another idea is to combine objects as limbs...

step 1 - make a hidden source object

step 2 - make a mesh from each of the other objects

step 3 - make a limb from each mesh and add it to the source object.
The tank demo shows how to do this with trees....

then, just hide the limbs not needed. As long as all offsets are 0, the limbs will retain data ... just remember to retexture each limb after joining them to the source object.

This is a bit of work and not sure if its worth the effort for you.
But, the object ID will be constant if you are using that for collision testing.

internet gaming group
current project http://home.comcast.net/~norman.perry/Archon.html
3beth
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2004
Location: Good ole Kentucky
Posted: 13th May 2004 04:48
Hey my friends above,

Nope, I've already tried everything above plus the glue to command. The objects lag behind the main character about 3 seconds they change size and go to the zero x and zero z spot on the matrix when they are called up. The only thing I have working is to make them all move in the same subprogram and turn giving major commands for hiding unused objects. There has to be a way to have an append like command to that justs does 1 frame objects.

Beth

Beth=The ditsy blonde. I like men and programming, but mainly programmed men!
Night Giant
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2003
Location:
Posted: 13th May 2004 07:37
if they go to 0,0 than just position them at the proper location.

oh, wow. insignificantpunks.cjb.net. we like orange treble clef notes, just for future reference.

no: website for progs yet.
waffle
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Sep 2002
Location: Western USA
Posted: 13th May 2004 14:17
are you trying to do "costume" work?

like adding armor/shields and clothing to active models?
I had some problems with that before. My solution was to place the object to be added into a collision position before glueing to a limb. Otherwise, DBC uses the position differences as an object offset (and very imprecise too as this changes with scale differences) very annoying. This offset could be what you see if your glueing an object at position 0,0,0 to an object at position 1000,100,1000 ...

internet gaming group
current project http://home.comcast.net/~norman.perry/Archon.html
3beth
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Feb 2004
Location: Good ole Kentucky
Posted: 14th May 2004 02:45
Waffle yes its very annoying. To answer your question I have created a pose library for each character with about 100 poses each from eating, sitting, sleeping, standing idle, talking and doing other things. I am trying to call up the poses in a time order for each subroutine sort of mix and match animation as the poses all blend from a single starting point to ending point. Its pretty cool its better than a single animation if I can make the script work smoothly and correctly.

Beth

Beth=The ditsy blonde. I like men and programming, but mainly programmed men!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-23 19:25:50
Your offset time is: 2025-05-23 19:25:50