Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / Annoying Text Flashing...

Author
Message
SandraD
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2004
Location: Down on the corner, out in the street.
Posted: 19th Jul 2004 06:06
Hi all,

I've just recently attempted to build an EXE of my game file HexaPawn in the CodeBase, in order to take it to a friend's place and let them take a look-see. However, to my shock and dismay I see a "flashing" of title text in the EXE, which appears to be a display of the title in "normal font size" then the selected font size over and over. When it does this, the sub-text beneath the main title is also flashing between its selected size and the size used in the main title, and this keeps up constantly even though the title display routine has been called only once. Here's the code of the banner;



The "Commands" text and subsequent lines look okay and do not flicker, but the above title lines blink something awful. After a given time period, the blinking will stop, leaving the two "versions" of the text blended on the screen.

Does anyone know from where this coming? And how to stop it?
Thanks.
S.

Any truly great code should be indisguishable from magic.
Mind Storm 101
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Excaping the Gates of Heaven
Posted: 19th Jul 2004 08:27
The set text size command can only be used once in a loop, if any repeats are done then it will print 2 versions of the text, thats my take of it.

"Think what you like, You'll all be mine in the end."

[href]www.DotBinary.dbspot.com[/href]
SandraD
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2004
Location: Down on the corner, out in the street.
Posted: 19th Jul 2004 14:12
Thanks for the comment but the above code it called only once, before the main loop completely. Yet this flashing continues. On my friend's machine the error is even worse, such that one time the background itself disappeared to become a blinking black & white "cut-out" around the sprites drawn by the rest of the code. I'm using 98se, he's using XP, different machines, different cards, etc., so I assume it's an error in the DB somehow. However, when I run it in the editor everything runs great...

Suggestions anyone?
S.

Any truly great code should be indisguishable from magic.
SandraD
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2004
Location: Down on the corner, out in the street.
Posted: 19th Jul 2004 15:07
Interesting... very interesting...

Taking your suggestion Mind Storm I changed the code to;



And this seems to function! Curious quirk I must say... Now I'll have to try it on my friend's system.

Thanks.
S.

Any truly great code should be indisguishable from magic.
Mind Storm 101
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Excaping the Gates of Heaven
Posted: 19th Jul 2004 20:51
Yeah, by adding the sync the program redraws the whole screen and overwriting the old one. In a loop there is only one sync and thus the text overlaps becasue of overlapping set size commands.

"Think what you like, You'll all be mine in the end."

[href]www.DotBinary.dbspot.com[/href]
SandraD
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2004
Location: Down on the corner, out in the street.
Posted: 20th Jul 2004 06:30
Yeah, I can see that. I'm suspecting it has something to do with the set text size message and painting, then syncing the backplane to the screen. Like I said, a very curious symptom, one I'll have to remember. (So I guess it's not so much one text change per loop as it is one per sync, but that'll do it.)

Thanks again.
S.

Any truly great code should be indisguishable from magic.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-24 22:52:41
Your offset time is: 2025-05-24 22:52:41