Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Scorched earth

Author
Message
Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 13th Aug 2004 02:45
This will be my progress thread for my scorched earth remake... I've stopped my snake game for a bit, as it's too hard for me, but I can do this scorched earth thing.

Completed items:
VERY basic map editor.
Saving and loading of the maps.
Destructable terrain.
Arched Bullets.

Still to do:
Make the map editor MUCH better, allow multiple textures, allow it to place enemies and all that.
Enemies.
Better destruction code.
Missions.
Multiplayer.
Random map generator.

I'll get some screenshots up in not too long.
Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 13th Aug 2004 04:14
Here's some screenshots! Don't worry about the FPS... My computer sucks.

Just the game.


Picture of an early explosion. This explosion does destroy the terrain.


Picture of the early level editor.
Hawkeye
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2003
Location: SC, USA
Posted: 13th Aug 2004 07:29 Edited at: 13th Aug 2004 07:29
Well, it's a start

I take it that green thingee is a placeholder gun? Intreasting camera choice , but I suppose that angle would help you angle the gun barrel propely...

Looking foward to more screens and a demo!

~Hawkeye
Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 13th Aug 2004 08:34
Yea, it's just a placeholder gun until I can find the time to model a tank turret.

Once I've got the enemies done I'll throw up a demo. Not sure how long that'll take. I'm still working on the editor and trying to finish that right now.
Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 13th Aug 2004 09:57 Edited at: 13th Aug 2004 10:12
Alrighty, I added on multiple textures onto my editor, you can also now fill it with any one texture that you want... This has taken me like 2 hours, that's why I'm updating, even though it's not a ton.

BTW, I've seen some games where the textures blend into eachother nice, so it doesn't look all bricky... Anyone care to fill me in how they do that?

Screenshot of the multiple textures:
zircher
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posted: 13th Aug 2004 15:05
Hey, you're making good progress. Keep it up.
--
TAZ

"Do you think it is wise to provoke him?" "It's what I do." -- Stargate SG-1
Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 14th Aug 2004 01:33
What I'm doing today: I'm going to make it so you can add in object, such as trees. I'll probably just do trees today, and then start adding in enemies as well. With any luck I'll get in a basic enemy by tonight.

I've got it so you can add in 1 tree in the editor, and I'm going to make it look nicer for this feature... I'll add in buttons to add trees.
Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 14th Aug 2004 10:49
Okay, I've added in some things... You can add in as many trees as you want, you now have a button to add trees with, there is now a toolbox window that you can drag around the screen. I've almost got the objects loading in in the actual game now too, shouldn't be too long until that's done.

The new level editor look.
Peter H
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2004
Location: Witness Protection Program
Posted: 14th Aug 2004 12:18
looking good!

"We make the worst games in the universe."
Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 15th Aug 2004 12:48
ROFL, I had it saving an object array so that it could load it up in the game right?

Well, I had the array dimmed as 100, 100, 100, 100... That way I could have 100 objects each with their x, y, and z saved... Sounded great to me!

Well, I found out that the notepad file it created was 400 megabytes! WHOAH!

I fixed it and made it 100, 100, 100 but now the object file is still 4 megs. I'll fix it though, I'll end up converting this to DBpro and then I can use vectors... I think...

Anywho, here's a screenshot of the trees loaded into the game!


BTW, I can't do the enemies until I fix my shooting code! See the little red crosshair in the middle of the screen? Well, I can't get the bullets to shoot towards it... Check out my post in DarkBasic if you think you can help, more details are there. Here's the link: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=37210&b=10
Arkheii
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Jun 2003
Location: QC, Philippines
Posted: 15th Aug 2004 12:58
Quote: "Well, I had the array dimmed as 100, 100, 100, 100... That way I could have 100 objects each with their x, y, and z saved... Sounded great to me!"


You only need to use:

dim obj(100,3)

like, obj(1,1) is object 1,x; obj(1,2) is object 1,y; obj(1,3) is object 1,z; obj(2,1) is object 2,x; etc.

NathanF
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 15th Aug 2004 13:01
Wow, this is looking really great!
Love the trees, I'm doing something really similar to this

"I....I like rice?"
Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 15th Aug 2004 13:22 Edited at: 15th Aug 2004 13:26
@Arkheii D'oh, why didn't I think of that? Thanks! It's now under 2 kilobytes.

@Dark Sephiroth Thanks! Glad ya like it!
Hell Dragonz43
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2004
Location: at home or at work
Posted: 15th Aug 2004 14:08
Really cool! I like how its FPS.
7/10


www.freewebs.com/mycomputergames
Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 16th Aug 2004 06:50
Alrighty, I have an enemy in there now... Took me forever to find all the limbs I needed to rotate to get the turret moving on it's own, but it is complete! I now have rotation functions for this tank done, and can start implementing some AI... For now, you move it around on it's own. I think the next thing I want to do though is make you one of these tanks and have you rotate the turret with your mouse, thus allowing me to do some cool 3rd person effects

Well, here's a screen of the tank looking at you...

Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 16th Aug 2004 11:57
Just giving an update on what I now plan to do with this game...

First off, it is going to be turnbased like the old scorched earth games, but with a little difference... I'm gonna give you 20 seconds to move as much as you like, you then have as much time as you like to shoot at your enemy, then the enemy does the same... I hope that this will add a different feel to the game.

I'm going to make a single player campaign with missions and all that, plus a multi-player battle where you can play any level you want, including ones you make yourself.
Pazza
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 05:47
gotta say that this is starting to look good, pretty ambitious, but you got some good ideas, esp the map editor, keep it up good luck!

"Bite my shiny metal ass!" - Bender
Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 07:20
Yea, it is a bit ambitious, seeing as it's my one of my first games... But I started a lot of games and I do know quite a bit. Besides, I have plenty of time to finish it

Thanks for the comment.
Teh Go0rfmeister
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 07:43
wow good progress- i thought i was doin good until i see how fast everyone else is doin

Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 07:50
Okay, I have the tank turret up front... The turret even turns with the mouse, well, left and right at least... Not up and down yet



Errors I have for this right now: You keep turning the mouse right and eventually you flip to the other side.

You can't turn up and down because it goes funky still.

You can't turn the tank right and left because it goes funky too. But I'm working on the errors
Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 10:24
Bugs now fixed: You can now turn the turret up and down, though you can turn it as far as you want right now.

You can turn the tank right and left now as well I'm pleased with how it's looking now.

New bugs:

The tank still moves in the direction of the camera, not in the direction of the tank. I'll fix that soon enough though
Peter H
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2004
Location: Witness Protection Program
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 10:31
lol..i haven't even started on my entry...

if i do enter it'll be made in the last month or so

"We make the worst games in the universe."
Izzy545
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2004
Location:
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 10:35 Edited at: 17th Aug 2004 10:42
hehe, I need to start early, as I've never finished a game, and need lots of time to work on it.

Another update: I've finished the turn system, for player 1 at least. You now have around 20 seconds to move, then once you shoot, you move again. You can also skip to the shooting phase by hitting enter. I still need to make the seconds go by no matter the fps though

Edit: I think I got it now, using the timer command.
robo cat
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Feb 2004
Location: In a cat litter tray, near you...
Posted: 17th Aug 2004 19:50
Looking great Izzy545!

Trees look cool, tanks look cool and terrain looks cool!

Keep up the good work!


Hahaha! Tremble in terror at the sight of my pulse cannons!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-20 10:01:32
Your offset time is: 2024-05-20 10:01:32