Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

2D All the way! / Anyone know how to slow down a sprites animation?

Author
Message
Game Freak10K
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Oct 2004 12:29
The sprite animates very quickly with sync rate 0, but if I drop the sync rate, the whole game goes with it. How do you slow down the animation of a sprite without using the sync command?

Comics and Games-Bread and Butter.
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 11th Oct 2004 13:02
Slow down the amount of times you call the sprite command by use of a variable, and the wait command... hmm... but the wait command isn't very useable in games, for the most part, but maybe this will help some:



something
Game Freak10K
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 12th Oct 2004 14:43
So what your saying is.."GFreak its impossible!"
The wait command indeed does slow the program to a crawl. Im thinking maybe if I load like 3 or 4 of the same cel and run the program WITHOUT low sync or wait command, itll look a little better. Thanks PoHa!84

Comics and Games-Bread and Butter.
JeBuS
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2004
Location: Undisclosed Location, Dominion of JeBuS
Posted: 12th Oct 2004 14:54 Edited at: 12th Oct 2004 14:55
Direct from the help files:




High quality models and graphics, low prices. Graphics for the rest of us.
Game Freak10K
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 12th Oct 2004 15:15 Edited at: 12th Oct 2004 15:25
JeBus, I think those commands are for DBPro...Im using Classic, thanks though.
I loaded each image 16 times and it slowed the animation down enough to look decent.

Comics and Games-Bread and Butter.
JeBuS
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2004
Location: Undisclosed Location, Dominion of JeBuS
Posted: 12th Oct 2004 16:03
Ah, well, can't help you there then, I don't remember enough of the DBC stuff.


High quality models and graphics, low prices. Graphics for the rest of us.
Flashing Blade
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Oct 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 12th Oct 2004 20:59
Don't know any DBC so don't know if this will help



do

if timer()>spritedelay
make next frame of sprite
etc
etc
etc
spritedelay=timer()+250
endif

stuff
stuff
stuff

sync
loop


The word "Gullible" cannot be found in any English Dictionary.
PoHa!84
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2003
Location: To your left.
Posted: 13th Oct 2004 04:18
Something I thought about late last night right before bed:

Get the current time, then check how much time has passed between that time and the new time, then update the sprite if enough time has passed...

Sorry, no source code as of right now. Maybe later... gotta go.

something
100% Pure Dave
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Mar 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Posted: 13th Oct 2004 15:01
use a variable that gets incremented on each loop. when the variable hits a certain number change the current animation frame then set the variable back to 0.

Flashing Blade
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Oct 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 13th Oct 2004 20:09
That would give different animation speeds according to computers power.
Best to use timer like this:




The word "Gullible" cannot be found in any English Dictionary.
Game Freak10K
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 14th Oct 2004 10:13
Ive settled with loading the same image X amount of times so it slows down. You see Im sticking the animated images to an object so I can old school FPS enemies, eitehr way the games gonna slow down like hell..im using DBC. Thanks for all the help guys

Comics and Games-Bread and Butter.
JeBuS
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jul 2004
Location: Undisclosed Location, Dominion of JeBuS
Posted: 14th Oct 2004 12:05
loading the image over and over would actually be forcing a game slowdown on the player instead of simply regulating the speed at which the image changes. Using a counter variable would be the better way to go, in my opinion.


High quality models and graphics, low prices. Graphics for the rest of us.
Game Freak10K
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Apr 2004
Location:
Posted: 15th Oct 2004 13:26
Maybe I should give up? I kinda wanted to put a little something in the competition, but I now see its not gonna happen, Ive just run outta time, so y'know what?..Im scrapping this project for good. Im gonna migrate back to trying 3D modeling and animation. Thank you all.
This is GameFreak10k.......signing off...*

Comics and Games-Bread and Butter.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-16 20:09:03
Your offset time is: 2025-05-16 20:09:03