Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / MapMaker - Make high quality maps easily.

Author
Message
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 13th Nov 2004 00:58
Quote: "
(1) Can you put a timer in the bit where it produces the image.. Easy to do, make a note of the time at the begining of the routine (startTime = timer()) then display the difference ((timer() - startTime) * 0.001)"

Heh I put that in there before.

AKA teh great Pet Rat.
Peace sells...but who's buying??
Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 13th Nov 2004 04:49 Edited at: 13th Nov 2004 04:50
I put it in once too but it seemed useless since I was using hidden mode.
I haven't done anything yesterday, so I should do things now.

My progress for yesterday:

Screwed around with Cube.
Looked at forums.

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 13th Nov 2004 04:55 Edited at: 13th Nov 2004 04:55
And here's a discription of the options:

Waterlevel - How high the water is(experiment with it).
Quantinize Value - The detail of the terrain(1-255 with 0 being the most. Experiment.)
Sun Direction - Direction of the shadow(again, experiment.)

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 13th Nov 2004 05:59
Ilya, do you think you could possibly send me the source? I wanna see how much I can optimize it.

AKA teh great Pet Rat.
Peace sells...but who's buying??
Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 13th Nov 2004 06:01
Okay. I've created a sequence that makes it look detailed when zoomed in(for retro games) so far. How would I make a smoothing sequence?

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Nicholas Thompson
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 13th Nov 2004 07:46 Edited at: 13th Nov 2004 07:47
Ok, I was playing with it just now.. This looks nice!



Attachments

Login to view attachments
Nicholas Thompson
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 13th Nov 2004 07:49
As for smoothing.. I did a project in Java as part of my degree (for Computer Vision) that took an image an did "blob" colouring too it.. It also had a function to apply matricies to it (so things like primitive edge detection were possible and smoothing).. Now this was like in March so I cant remember much.

If its of ANY use, I still have the code and am more than willing to share it.

Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 13th Nov 2004 07:53 Edited at: 13th Nov 2004 07:53
I just need the part with the formula for smoothing.

I don't know Java, but I should be able to extract the formula.

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Nicholas Thompson
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 14th Nov 2004 03:03 Edited at: 14th Nov 2004 06:23
I'm just downloading Java NetBeans now.. Will let you know the algoirthm asap.

Nicholas Thompson
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 14th Nov 2004 06:46
ok, this is the "section" ok code..



Basically it applis a matrix. Now, to apply a Gaussian filter over it, you need a matrix. With testing (using the program this came from) a 3x3 is about right, 2x2 looks good too..

a 3x3 has these values:
0.0625, 0.125, 0.0625
0.125, 0.5, 0.125
0.0625, 0.125, 0.0625

Now basically, you have a 3x3 template you put over each pixel. Take all the R values for pixel P.
you have (0.0625*P(x-1)(y-1)) + (0.125*P(x)(y-1)) + (0.0625*P(x+1)(y-1))... and so on. Thats just the top row.

Am I making sense? The matrix is just a weighted average of the surrounding pixels. The problem is, when you get to the edge.. The easiest way to get around it is lose 1 pixel off the edge of the image.. There are techniques but I dont know them.

If you want a better explanation, lemme know!

Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 14th Nov 2004 07:32 Edited at: 14th Nov 2004 08:02
I'm confused... but I just got an idea...

Edit: I created a smothing function without your code, but it's blocky.
Edit: Wait, no it's not.
Edit: I've attached a screeny.
Edit: And this is the edit format:
Edit: A line on the first edit is "Edit".
Edit: All lines using edits placed after that are "Edit2" and beyond.

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Element Designs
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Nov 2004
Location: Upstate, New York
Posted: 17th Nov 2004 22:46
For some reason theres a .DLL error when i try to open the main world builder in mapmaker i have know clue what the problem is but im really wanting to check this program out

Element designs team
Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 18th Nov 2004 09:42
I think you have the wrong Mapmaker.

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 18th Nov 2004 09:46
lmao

AKA teh great Pet Rat.
Peace sells...but who's buying??
Nicholas Thompson
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 18th Nov 2004 10:05
@Ilya, nice smoothing! How you do that?

Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 19th Nov 2004 04:45
Take 9 pixels'(surrounding ones and taget one) rgb colors and avrage them. Then, make those 9 pixels that color(wasn't working before bacause I avraged DBP's color integer). Do that for every pixel in the image, and draw to the image when you get done with a pixel.

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Nicholas Thompson
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Sep 2004
Location: Bognor Regis, UK
Posted: 19th Nov 2004 04:49
Ahh so its a non-weighted gaussian..

A 3x3 gaussian works in EXACTLY the same way, BUT the pixels are weighted averages.. I'll use a (code) as its got fixed width font


Now I THINK thats correct.. Athough my brain is telling me they're all meant to add up to 1. Oopsy.. Anyway, you those are factors of the R,G & B values of the pixels (the 0.5 being the target).

Yours is:


As they're all weighted equally between 9 pixels.

Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 19th Nov 2004 18:28 Edited at: 19th Nov 2004 19:14
AHHHHHHH! Oh crap..oh crap..

I reinstalled windows on wednesday you see and I have just tried the small programs I made with the memblock functions and they don't work! Gah I don't understand whats wrong. Wait a sec...it could be due to the fact my desktop res uses 16bit because I haven't changed it back to 32bit yet..

EDIT: thank god. I should make the functions compatible with a 32bit screen res . Actually it could be a problem with my copy of windows. I mean, when in 16bit mode the image previews on the left of the screen in folders are all messed up.

EDIT AGAIN: Ilya look at this:
I've just made a tool for putting paths/roads/whatever in terrain textures using blending. Cool huh? It uses 3 textures: main texture, roadmap( blendmap), and a path texture. I made it use texture blending so the edges of roads would blend nicely into the base texture. Perhaps this might be of use to you? I mean, you could include it in your program as an extra texture tool perhaps.

AKA teh great Pet Rat.
Peace sells...but who's buying??
Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 19th Nov 2004 20:20
Sure.
There'll probably be some more extra tools, and a menu.

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 22nd Nov 2004 06:28
BUMP!

You there Ilya?

AKA teh great Pet Rat.
Peace sells...but who's buying??
Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 22nd Nov 2004 07:55
Yeah. Should you e-mail me the extra or should I make it myself(I know how)?
And realtime editing would be better.
I'm still designing the menu and lazy.

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 22nd Nov 2004 11:21
I'll send it to you soon

AKA teh great Pet Rat.
Peace sells...but who's buying??
Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 22nd Nov 2004 11:53
Okay.

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 30th Nov 2004 09:30
I'm so lazy

@Benjamin
Do you want to take over this project?

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Ian T
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: Around
Posted: 30th Nov 2004 23:40
Out of curiosity, what's the point of single color height blocks when you're adding embossing and smoothing? If it's not a low (~16ish) color image for a game to read, it's no use as a meta-texture map. If it's a height map, it doesn't need the color. If it's a texture map, well, to be blunt, it's a bit ugly. You need to use real textures for blending together . But I may be missing the point.

[center]
"Thanks for the poncho..."
--Bill Clinton
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 1st Dec 2004 03:56
Your probably missing the point(I dunno, I don't know the point of this project) but I've had a good idea..

Sendeth me teh codez Ilya

AKA teh great Pet Rat.
Peace sells...but who's buying??
Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 4th Dec 2004 07:46
The point was to create a minimap or map display map.

Anyway, I'll send you all codes and media in a zip.

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 4th Dec 2004 08:10
Yay for charity..

Anyway, I'll tell you about my idea after I have adapted the code and well, tested it.

Raven: That said, I DO say 'that said' a lot. 'Nuf said.
Ian T
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2002
Location: Around
Posted: 4th Dec 2004 12:23
Quote: " The point was to create a minimap or map display map.
"


In that case it'd really do better with proper textures there ! I've seen apps in DBP that blend textures via an alpha map, can't think of how to do it myself though. But if you're making those that's definatly what you'd want.

Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 4th Dec 2004 13:32
Texture Maker probably has that.

(I posted a simple particle engine in Code Snippets)

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 4th Dec 2004 22:15
Quote: "I've seen apps in DBP that blend textures via an alpha map, can't think of how to do it myself though. But if you're making those that's definatly what you'd want."

I think thats what I'm gonna do.

Raven: That said, I DO say 'that said' a lot. 'Nuf said.
Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 5th Dec 2004 22:01
Actually, that's easy(to me(or so it seems)).

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."
Benjamin
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: France
Posted: 6th Dec 2004 03:21
Then why don't you do that?!

Raven: That said, I DO say 'that said' a lot. 'Nuf said.
Ilya
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 6th Dec 2004 11:47
I might soon.

Quote: "I've seen the word programming and I'm not sure what it means. Anybody please explain?"


Quote: "We shouldn't sacrifice the truth to preserve "balance"."

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-23 22:16:25
Your offset time is: 2024-05-23 22:16:25