Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / chat code - problems

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
hi,

Im busy with a chat 'window' for in my game

Here's the code:

There are two problems:

- In the beginning, the three lines of introduction text aren't right positioned, until you place your first line in the chat
- When you have typed some text, and you press enter after that, the question should only re-appear when you press return again...
koolaid
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Feb 2003 08:28
i wish i could help you on that but im still learning myself i appreciate your advice on thise problems

trager
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Feb 2003 11:32
you haven't set the cursour position for the welcome text yet you do with with the chat code is this the problem?

and secondly you need a flag to disable the "what do you want to say" message when you press return after a message

flag = 0
if returnkey =1 and flag =0
flag = 1

... message code ...

else
if returnkey = 1 and flag = 1 then flag =0
end if

something like that, hope it helps.

freak
Years of Service
User Offline
thanks for the replies!

for the returnkey thing, I just had to insert another wait 100, because otherwise, if you press your return key some milliseconds too long, returnkey() will still be 1 at the next time he does my main loop

about the welcome text: this is positioned within the function... I still don't know what was the error, but now I soved it on an other way: I just used the center text command, instead of manually programming that manually (there should have been some error in this which only occured for the welcome text I guess)

trager
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 6th Feb 2003 13:12