Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / DarkSDK & VS 2k3 .NET

Author
Message
x1b
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2004
Location:
Posted: 27th Sep 2005 03:15
bought DSDK 1,1.1,1.1.1.1 and installed all as per the manuals.

made C:\Program Files\The Game Creators\Dark Game SDK - FREEWARE Edition\Lib\VS7

the top of my list, then

C:\Program Files\The Game Creators\Dark Game SDK - FREEWARE Edition\Include

2nd in place.

And ive reversed this. shut down and restart VS 2k3 and compile as per instructions in the manual and get

fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'DarkSDK.h': No such file or directory

Help?

- This message is made of 100% recycled bits and bytes
x1b
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2004
Location:
Posted: 27th Sep 2005 03:30 Edited at: 27th Sep 2005 03:35
Solved my issue.

I went to tools | options | projects then clicked the "Show Directories For" tab and clicked Lib and inserted my Lib path then went back and did the same for my Include path. Compiled and worked.


..Mind you, it would appear that my "spinning" cube is nothing more than a grey lifeless square...

compiled:

#include "DarkSDK.h"

void DarkSDK ( void )
{
// set sync on and sync rate to 60 frames per second
dbSyncOn ( );
dbSyncRate ( 60 );

// make a cube
dbMakeObjectCube ( 1, 10 );

// loop until the escape key is pressed
while ( !dbEscapeKey ( ) )
{
// update screen
dbSync ( );
}
}

straight from http://darkgamesdk.thegamecreators.com/

- This message is made of 100% recycled bits and bytes
x1b
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2004
Location:
Posted: 27th Sep 2005 03:51 Edited at: 27th Sep 2005 04:05
interesting warning.. "LINK : warning LNK4098: defaultlib 'LIBC' conflicts with use of other libs; use /NODEFAULTLIB:library"

How does one go about "use /NODEFAULTLIB:library" ?


Edit: Ok,so I fixed this too. reinstalled my 1.1.1.1 files. BUT my "Spinning Colorfull Cude!" is still a grey,lifeless,box.


GeForce 5200, Pentium 4 2.4Ghz,1gig Ram,DX 9c,current video drivers.

- This message is made of 100% recycled bits and bytes
x1b
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2004
Location:
Posted: 27th Sep 2005 07:11
Right.. now,if i go to C:\Program Files\The Game Creators\Dark Game SDK - FREEWARE Edition\Samples\Visual Studio 7\Example 1 and compile THAT ? I get my spinning grey cube. go me...

But,trying to compile anything else in that directory? And it either locks up or fails to compile.

- This message is made of 100% recycled bits and bytes
OSX Using Happy Dude
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 27th Sep 2005 10:01 Edited at: 27th Sep 2005 10:02
The original code doesn't spin a cube - and it doesn't say it is either :
Quote: "This example places a 3D cube on screen and then loops round until the escape key is pressed using a standard C++ while loop. Many of you will recognise the commands as they are named in a very similar manner to those in DarkBASIC Professional. You'll notice they have a db prefix and no spacing. The commands themselves work in exactly the same way"


Quote: " interesting warning.. "LINK : warning LNK4098: defaultlib 'LIBC' conflicts with use of other libs; use /NODEFAULTLIB:library""

Probably compiling as a debug program - use release mode.

Quote: "But,trying to compile anything else in that directory? And it either locks up or fails to compile."

In what way does it "fail to compile". Where does it lock up ? During compiling or running ?

Come to the third DarkBasic Pro Sci Fi Con - Be there and be square
Blog:http://spaces.msn.com/members/BouncyBrick/
Web Site:http://www.nicholaskingsley.co.uk
Miguel Melo
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2005
Location:
Posted: 27th Sep 2005 10:42
Quote: "In what way does it "fail to compile". Where does it lock up ? During compiling or running ?"


He probably means the old dbRGB() is now dbRgb() and such problem.

@x1b: The casing for a few of the functions has been changed in the header files (but not in the documentation or samples) for version 1.1 - change these in the samples and they will compile fine.
x1b
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2004
Location:
Posted: 27th Sep 2005 13:46
It locks up after compiliation. And the cube is not 3d but 2d.


Miguel: I'll try that,thank you. I did notice that the rotation cube,code is different in the samples directory.



old code:


- This message is made of 100% recycled bits and bytes
OSX Using Happy Dude
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location: At home
Posted: 27th Sep 2005 13:59
Quote: "And the cube is not 3d but 2d."

No, the cube is 3D - the camera just looks at one of the faces.

Quote: " It locks up after compiliation"

Probably because you need to move the executable to the BIN directory so the media can be loaded.

Come to the third DarkBasic Pro Sci Fi Con - Be there and be square
Blog:http://spaces.msn.com/members/BouncyBrick/
Web Site:http://www.nicholaskingsley.co.uk
x1b
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Sep 2004
Location:
Posted: 27th Sep 2005 14:58
Quote: "Probably because you need to move the executable to the BIN directory so the media can be loaded."


Yup, you're right. I didnt know this. Thanks SSS.

Sorry to have wasted your time

- This message is made of 100% recycled bits and bytes

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-03 03:43:57
Your offset time is: 2024-05-03 03:43:57