Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / make mesh from memblock

Author
Message
Smoke sheath
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th May 2006
Location:
Posted: 20th Jul 2006 20:59
Hi folks,

In the DarkSDK Help files for dbMakeMeshFromMemblock it states that:

'The default FVF Format is 338. The second DWORD is the FVF Size, which is the size in bytes of a single vertex element. This size is respective of the FVF Format you specified, which has a default of 36.'

I am taking a .x file, loading as an object and then:
dbMakeMeshFromObject( mesh id = 1)
dbMakeMemblockFromMesh()
... alter memblock values ....
dbMakeMeshFromMemblock( mesh id = 2)

if i take this new mesh (id = 2) and then make it back into a memblock so i can dump the FVF format out using my own routines it is *still* in FVF 274 not FVF 338. Is 338 not the default ? Am I missing something ?


Also on a small aside, when i dbCreateObject(id = 1) and dbLinkLimb(objId = 1, limbId = 1, meshId) the limb becomes hidden when i dbHideObject(id = 1) *even* if i dbShowLimb(objId = 1, limbId = 1)
As soon as i dbShowObject(id = 1) bingo - back it appears.

Show / hide limb *does* work fine if the object is visible. 8/

No Gir ! Thats Bad !
IanM
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 20th Jul 2006 22:20
The format was originally 338, but it changed quite a while back ... the help is wrong.

You can use the dbConvertObjectFVF to switch it to 338, or modify your code to use 274. The first way should be quicker if you have existing code.

Hiding an object, hides the object including all limbs. If you want, I believe that you can hide limb 0, which is the main object mesh.

For free Plug-ins and source code http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk
Smoke sheath
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th May 2006
Location:
Posted: 20th Jul 2006 22:31
Thanks Ian,

Should I not be able to dbHideObject(objId)

and then dbShowLimb(objId, limbId) ?

No Gir ! Thats Bad !
IanM
Retired Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 21st Jul 2006 01:12
No. If the object is hidden, the whole object is hidden, no matter what you do to the limbs.

For free Plug-ins and source code http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-18 21:31:11
Your offset time is: 2024-05-18 21:31:11