Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

DarkBASIC Discussion / RPG menu/talk windows

Author
Message
Red general
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 24th Apr 2003 19:39
this has probably been done lots of times, but how do you do a fight menu system, and also have a system where when you are close to people, if you press, for example, a, then a dialogue window pops up and they can talk to you, and you can ask them questions (selected form list).


Thanks
RED GENERAL
My computer melts regulary - perhaps it likes being fondue
Blazer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 25th Apr 2003 02:17 Edited at: 25th Apr 2003 02:17
the second one is easy:

if obect position x(1)>obect position x(2)-10 and obect position x(1)<obect position x(2)+10 and obect position z(1)>obect position z(2)-10 and obect position z(1)<obect position z(2)+10 and enterkey()=1 then do whatever

this is were 1 is your characterter and 2 is the NPC (non playing character) and if you push enter if your within a 20 squared area then it will do whatever.

As I walk through the vally of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil.
- Psalms 23:4
Red general
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Apr 2003 11:44
Alternatively this one, which includes if you are on a slope or something:


I'm sorry I did not make it clear enought but I meant the actual menu/talk window system.
But Thanks,
RED GENERAL

My computer melts regulary - perhaps it likes being fondue
Shady Simpson
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Mar 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Apr 2003 11:46
What do you mean a "fight menu system"?

Red general
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 25th Apr 2003 18:35
right,
Talk sytem
When distance is less than 100 and the user presses A, a box appears with the message from the character. The person than can then ask stuff by clicking buttons. New buttons appear as the player learns stuff.
Fight system
When the player is in a battle there will be a box with "Magic" and "items" as buttons. On clicking Magic, you will get to the magic box, where if you click on a spell, that spell is cast against the opponent.
If "Item" is selected the item box appears and the player can click on several items. When clicked they can be used in battle (except ones that are no battle related e.g. the map). So he could select "Unicorn Blood" and get full health.

Also this is a 3D game just incase anyone is mistaken.

Please help
THANKS
RED GENERAL

My computer melts regulary - perhaps it likes being fondue
Blazer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 26th Apr 2003 03:19
Here's a niffty little code that Magelin wrote a while back (in the source)

As I walk through the vally of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil.
- Psalms 23:4
Red general
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 27th Apr 2003 15:01
THANKS
RED GENERAL

My computer melts regulary - perhaps it likes being fondue
Whisper Wind
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Apr 2003
Location:
Posted: 28th Apr 2003 07:36
How come when I remove the Set Display Mode 800,600,16 from Magelin's code it just gives me a black screen? I really need this code but I can't have my game running in that resolution! Could you please tell me why it does not work? Thanks.
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 28th Apr 2003 08:20
line 55 needs two () at the end since its calling an empty function and DBP requires the correct syntax more so than classic.

Whisper Wind
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Apr 2003
Location:
Posted: 28th Apr 2003 09:14
I had that fixed already, thanks for the reply though! Any idea why it doesn't work after the Set Display Mode 800,600,16 is removed?
indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 28th Apr 2003 09:22
it does work if u remove the display command and alter the line i presented.

let me check it in DBC 113

my advice before was checking in DBP patch 4 RC1

indi
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Aug 2002
Location: Earth, Brisbane, Australia
Posted: 28th Apr 2003 09:26
ok if u remove the display command most of it is hard coded ont he screen in a certain spot.

this means that when u remove the original display setting it reverts back to 640 x 480 and u will notice only the tip of the title showing.

You will have to adjust its location on the screen to see it all in another smaller resolution.



Leade
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th Apr 2003 17:55
Hmmmn! that looks familiar . . .
Red general
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th Apr 2003 20:01 Edited at: 28th Apr 2003 20:52
I've noticed something. It works fine for my 2d attempt (from earlier), but with the 3D version, it flashes, and you only see the line being written to it.

Anyone got a clue on how to solve this?

THANKS
RED GENERAL

P.S. there is also a problem with the fact that sprites can cover it, and so hide the text

My computer melts regulary - perhaps it likes being fondue
John H
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, VT
Posted: 29th Apr 2003 02:40
For the battle menu, Id suggest reading over the Equilibrium combat menu code. Go to www.mojomagic.co.uk and go to downloads and there is a menu code download. Thats all the code that you can read over, but dont try to compile it because its missing the camera code, because Traci cant release it. That ran very smoothly, and its a really great resource to learn from. Its all commented as well!

RPGamer

Current Project: Eternal Destiny
Tech Demo - Colan Island: Currently 716 Lines

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2025-05-17 19:47:54
Your offset time is: 2025-05-17 19:47:54