Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / Not enough video memory?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
AMD 1.4Ghz
ATI Radeon 9000 (64MB dual monitor)
256 PC2100
WinXP

This is my first post. I am new to Dark Basic, but have experience in 3D Studio Max and heavy programming experience. Heres the problem:

I built a (standalone) EXE of my game, which runs perfectly on my home computer (spec's above). However, when I run the EXE on other computers, the texture on one of my objects does not show up. All OTHER textures on the other 8 objects do, however, appear.

The only thing I can think of is that maybe the other computers don't have enough video RAM or something? Two of the others had 32mb Video memory, while the third had 16mb. Maybe it works on mine because I have 64mb?

All my textures are BMP, 256x256. All objects are .x format. Polygon count is probably about 10,000 (for the whole scene). (Is there a DB command to tell you the total # of polygons in all loaded objects? --> 3DS Max counts faces differently I think)

The non-texturizing object is by far the simplest object, mesh-wise, on the screen. It has a total of 4 textures on different faces, where as the others have two. Hope this is enough information to get some good responses.

I uploaded a copy of the EXE (temporarily) to the below address. Its a 4mb download, would appreciate if you checked whether the textures load for you ( ALL OF THEM ) and what your computer specs are. Its in between an Alpha and a Beta release, so no cracking on it!

http://gecko.gc.maricopa.edu/~pbkelley/jerseysCorrect.EXE
The admiral
Years of Service
User Offline