Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / My first game: Galactic Warfare

Author
Message
Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2007 03:04 Edited at: 13th Jan 2007 03:05
'lo all! I have been working on this game for awhile now and despite a few bugs to fix i have it mostly complete.

Here it is!

I just started programming a month ago so don't laugh too hard.
Any ideas on how I can make this more efficient?
Z ephyrmancer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2007 03:55
It would probably be best if you zipped up all the images, music, and sound in the game and made that available =) in order to build from the course we need the media.

Cheers,
Zeph
Sixty Squares
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 13th Jan 2007 03:57 Edited at: 13th Jan 2007 04:01
I can't run the program unless you post the media(sounds, images, etc.) (and possibly the EXE, if you like) in a ZIP file or something. Can't wait to test it out!


Ways to make it more efficent? I'll post those after I run the program. But one thing I did notice were all of those collision statements! try IF OBJECT COLLISION(Object A, 0) The 0 means any object, and it will return the object number of the object that Object A collided with. so say you want to see if object 1 collides with any of the objects numbered 20 to 40. You could just do this:




Good luck! I can't wait to play this

Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2007 04:19
ok i have a copy of the final executable in a compressed zipped file as well as all of the media but how do i post it on here?
Darth Vader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th May 2005
Location: Adelaide SA, I am the only DB user here!
Posted: 13th Jan 2007 07:31
Allanon the box were you type your message you will see just below it a small text are with the word "Attachment" next to it. Click the browse button and simply find your file on the your computer and click open. After this your message will be displayed and you will have a little download in button in the corner of your message!
Can't wait to try out your game!


Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2007 17:06 Edited at: 15th Jan 2007 22:16
don't download the download on this post

I don't suffer from laziness... I enjoy every minute of it!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2007 20:18
anyone tried it yet?

if so, please respond
Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2007 21:42 Edited at: 15th Jan 2007 22:16
don't download this download

I don't suffer from laziness... I enjoy every minute of it!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2007 23:21
Anyone...

Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease?

Z ephyrmancer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2007 23:48
Downloading now =) Ill post a comment after Ive given it a try

~Zeph
Z ephyrmancer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th Jan 2007 23:52
Not bad for a first =) The slow problem; You might want to try syncing the game faster...been a while so don't sue me if it doesnt work ^^ try putting this snippet at the top of you code;



then put this just before the "loop" command in the do-loop;



Try it, not 100% sure it will work =P but fwiw

~Zeph
H4ck1d
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2005
Location: Yes
Posted: 14th Jan 2007 00:05
I tried to run it, but it was terribly slow, but then I have a horrible computer so it's probably not the fault of your program

Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 14th Jan 2007 03:03 Edited at: 14th Jan 2007 03:07
It ran fast when I downloaded it myself but this is the fourth time I've heard this complaint so it must be my coding. I have the sync rate on 0 even. Anymore ideas on what's wrong?
Z ephyrmancer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Jul 2006
Location:
Posted: 14th Jan 2007 04:18
Just increase all the movement speeds...I see them down in the .1-.5, but on my computer I moved them up to about 10 and they were moving normals speed =D

Give it a try and recompile.

~Zeph
Allanon Shadeslayer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 14th Jan 2007 17:54 Edited at: 14th Jan 2007 18:13
Ok, I changed the sync rate from 0 to 60 and changed the speeds. But now it runs all jerky; however, the speeds are a tiny bit more consistent than with the sync rate at 0. I hope this solves the speed problem. Like I said though, it seemed to run fine on my computer so I really don't know what the deal is.



Please, give it a try and let me know if the speeds are normal.
Thanks!

I don't suffer from laziness... I enjoy every minute of it!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Darth Vader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th May 2005
Location: Adelaide SA, I am the only DB user here!
Posted: 15th Jan 2007 01:57
Downloading now I let you know how it goes!


The Core
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Aug 2005
Location: mother ship
Posted: 15th Jan 2007 02:39 Edited at: 15th Jan 2007 02:40
hey the idea is great,the only problem i could see was that my bullets were not destroying the targets and i died basicly straight away.

It seems great and i think with more work you will have a star of a game

and to say you have only programmed for 4 weeks your great!! keep it up

i'm E.T i have so much tech but yet i dont have a mobile phone! where is a land line when you need one
Darth Vader
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th May 2005
Location: Adelaide SA, I am the only DB user here!
Posted: 17th Jan 2007 09:34
lol! Very nice! I didn't experience any speed up's or downs. I couldn't get past the third set of enemies though!

One note though. Its quite annoying that you have to restart the entire game once you die! Can you make it so it just go's to the beginning of the code?


Sixty Squares
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Somewhere in the world
Posted: 19th Jan 2007 03:20
Nice game you have there! I'm so bad at it lol... It took me 3 tries to reach wave 3, and then I lost.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-05 18:26:10
Your offset time is: 2024-05-05 18:26:10