Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / - Extended Terrain XYZ - new, layer based MAPEDITOR, works in realtime!!!

Author
Message
Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 00:53 Edited at: 20th Jul 2012 14:30
This is open source software now, visit the new post here.

--- Original post:


Extended Terrain XYZ
Map editor by Hurricane-Eye Entertainment



ET XYZ is a layer based, realtime mapeditor. It's perfectly compatible with DBPro and DGDK, the maps are importable through one command. You can also export heightmaps for use in other engines.
You can edit the terrainheights, texture, blendcolor and also the xz coordinate of each point.

Go to it's website HERE for more informations, screenshots and videos and to buy the program.

How to load the maps
In DBP, you just have to include 'LoadETXYZMap.dba' and use the following funtion to load your terrain and, optionally, set it up for PhysX and / or sparky's:


In DGDK:

comes with free 'DGDKeditableMesh' - class and some useful functions.

Features
DGDK loading code and undo funtionality NEW
Edit not only the height of your terrain but also the x and z coordinates, to create tunnels, overhanging cliffs and more
Calculate Lightmaps to add realistic shadows to your terrains NEW
Create terrains from color- and heightmaps NEW
Compatible with collision and physics plugins
Work in realtime with your terrain
Up to 8 layers, with it's own texture and texture scale
Confortable interface with tool windows
Save it and load it in your own game with one command
Unlimited terrain size
Create your own brushes for your needs
Use your own textures
Intelligent culling system, only polygons that you see are drawn
Many tools: set blend color, smooth terrain, flat terrain...
Overall very custumisable editor
lots of textures included to play around (don't use them in commercial projects, they are copyrighted)
Some example maps
Much more


(link to the website)

Downloads
Some demo maps
Fly trough some maps.

Extended Terrain XYZ v1.8 Demo NEW
Try out the program!


Screenshots

More on the website here.










Videos

More on the website here.



Quotes about the program
Quote: "Wonderful program, I’m a VERY happy man now, money well spent.

That's pretty sweet...Nice job

Looks awesome
Looks very nice.
...this looks really nice

This is by FAR the BEST terrain/landscape design program I've ever seen!
Keep up the good work!
This looks really neat.
It's great, thanks.
Sweet

The editor looks good man, great job

That's one sweet looking program you've got there.

I'am gonna buy it, because this program is amazing

It looks really worth it's price.

Hey, great work. Any chance to see a DarkDGK version of it? [comment: yes, WAS IMPLEMENTED]
I'd love to pay for something like this
"




© 2007-2009 Hurricane-Eye Entertainment


Jeff032
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 02:49
That's pretty sweet, I was looking for something that could do multiple layers like that just the other day. I may consider purchasing it, especially at that price.

Nice job

-Jeff

Space Game WIP
Tom J
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2005
Location: Essex, England
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 10:43
Looks awesome Maybe I'll buy it.

Deagle
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: Finland
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 11:30
I'm new to paypal :l i made the payment, where do i download the software?

Deagle aka D-Eagle
Deagle
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: Finland
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 14:16 Edited at: 9th Sep 2007 14:19
Okay i got it.. But it is SLOW!
Like the aomgreek example map, fps is so damn low i cant work with it. I have intel E4300 and 8600 gt, it should not be so slow.
When i play the same map in dbpro, i get like 200 fps, but in the editor, i get 10 fps. I was hoping i could make actually big terrains but i guess it's just a dream. Hopefully you will fix the slowness. BTW when i create a new terrain, what does all of the inputs mean i have to type? I just put '10' to all of then and ended up with an error about image not found at line 60 or something.

Deagle aka D-Eagle
Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 14:30 Edited at: 9th Sep 2007 15:53
Quote: "But it is SLOW!"


That's strange, I don't know why it's slow, I'm going to check that.
EDIT: How much RAM do you have on your system?

EDIT: make sure you have the latest directX installed

Quote: "what does all of the inputs mean i have to type"


The first two are the size of one square of the terrain.
The second two are the amount of this patches that should be in one object wich can be culled.
And the third two are the amount of these objects in the whole terrain.

Quote: "error about image not found "

Oh, I'm sorry, I'm going to fix that right now! Thanks for reporting this bug, and keep helping me and giving me tips and ideas.
Deagle
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: Finland
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 14:38 Edited at: 9th Sep 2007 15:06
About the slowness.. It seems to be slow only when i try to do something with my mouse, if i move the camera with wasd, it moves smoothly. The xz sculpting is kind of painful to do, hope you can improve it a bit. Also running the program in window mode would be cool.

edit: I have 2 gigs of ddr 2 RAM

Deagle aka D-Eagle
Mr Kohlenstoff
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 16:12
Looks very nice. Is the backgroundmusic of your videos from Age of Mythology? I think I've heared it there... however, I'll think about bying it, but atm I don't really need it because I concentrate on 2D-games for now.

Silvester
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 16:59 Edited at: 9th Sep 2007 17:06
What does it export?

Quote: " lots of textures included to play around (don't use them in commercial projects, they are copyrighted)"


Why can you use it commercial, and we cant?

EDIT:

If they are not made by you, dont sell them with the app,but make a seperate FREE package for owners of the program. So they can download it if they want it.


Dark Dragon
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2007
Location: In the ring, Kickin\' *donkeybutt*.
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 17:05
(.....)uh....
Silvester
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 17:13
Whats with that response?I dont get it.


Dark Dragon
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2007
Location: In the ring, Kickin\' *donkeybutt*.
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 17:26
oh.. sorry. i dont know what it exports to....
Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 17:33 Edited at: 12th Sep 2007 07:48
Yes, the music is from Age of Mythology. AoM was a cool game.

Quote: "I concentrate on 2D-games for now"


You could make a 2d-3d sidescroller game with it:





UPDATE
(see "Changes" in first post)
Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 17:47 Edited at: 9th Sep 2007 17:48
Quote: "What does it export?"


You can save the maps to any folder of your game. It will export a *.etm (Extended Terrain Map) file and save the textures in a sub-folder called "MapTextures". This is loadable by one command, you'll only need to add the .dba file to your project.

Quote: "If they are not made by you, dont sell them with the app,but make a seperate FREE package for owners of the program. So they can download it if they want it."


OK, I'll do that. Soon you'll see a link to the textures on the first post. They ARE not made by me, that's correct.
Deagle
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Aug 2005
Location: Finland
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 18:00
Umm, i'm installing the update, but kaspersky found a trojan from it?
'Trojan.cryptor'

Deagle aka D-Eagle
Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 18:27
What!? A trojan!!!
I'll reupload it somwehre else.
Silvester
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 18:56 Edited at: 9th Sep 2007 18:57
Master Xilo, would you be able to accept Bank Transfer payments? As i have no paypal nor a creditcard.

Oh, and good to hear your fixing the Texture part, as it isnt smart selling them with the software when they are copyrighted.


Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 19:22
Quote: "Bank Transfer payments"

Do you know any site / service that does this?

Quote: "and good to hear your fixing the Texture part"

Yeah, that's it. Thank you for that tip.
Silvester
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 19:31
Well, your bank and bank account does that. and so does mine, and everyone else's. I can send money without going to my bank. Its just sending money from bank to bank.


FireIndy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jan 2007
Location: US of A
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 19:33
Master Xilo, I have a question. I was trying to do something like this, where you can edit terrain with your mouse, what did you do to project the white circle onto the terrain? Is it an object, or a texture? Or something else?

By the way, I watched the videos and this looks really nice.

Silvester
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 19:35
That white circle is the Brush area i guess.


Mr Kohlenstoff
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 20:09
Quote: " That white circle is the Brush area i guess."


I think he wanted to know how he programmed it, not what it is.

FireIndy
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jan 2007
Location: US of A
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 20:12
Yah, I have a 3d object that I made flat follow my cursor that works well, but I was aiming at something like this, so I was just asking.

Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 20:38 Edited at: 9th Sep 2007 21:03
It's an object that is updated (each vertex) to be at the cursors position, to look exacly like the currently used brush wich is based on a 32x32 black/white image and to fit the terrain.

EDIT: added new screenshots
aXeon
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jun 2007
Location:
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 21:10
Add Paybycash payment method and I'll buy it right away o_O;
This is by FAR the BEST terrain/landscape design program I've ever seen!

Keep up the good work!


Btw.
If we purchase this, Do we get updates/bugfixes for free?
Like, when you make a version 2 of this, will it be free of charge or do we have to 're-buy' it.

- : aXeon Essentials : -
Silvester
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 9th Sep 2007 21:39
A nice quote for on your website

"This application really adds advanced depth to your games terrains!"

Oh,and i emailed you.


Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 10th Sep 2007 08:04 Edited at: 2nd Apr 2008 01:04
Quote: "Add Paybycash payment method and I'll buy it right away o_O;"


What do you mean by "Pay by cash"? Put the money in a letter and send it to me? or what?

Quote: "This is by FAR the BEST terrain/landscape design program I've ever seen!"


Thank you!

Quote: "If we purchase this, Do we get updates/bugfixes for free?"


Bug fixes of course!

Quote: "when you make a version 2 of this, will it be free of charge or do we have to 're-buy' it."

hmm...
Silvester
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 10th Sep 2007 08:23
Pay By Cash is very insecure, money can get lost in the procces. sending money to someone's home is dangerous.


Tom J
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Aug 2005
Location: Essex, England
Posted: 10th Sep 2007 22:12 Edited at: 10th Sep 2007 23:31
Well, I'm going to get it, I missed the bit about tunnels before, all I can say is... wow... this has some awesome features

edit: Purchased it.

Jeff032
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Aug 2007
Location:
Posted: 10th Sep 2007 23:37
What do you load the terrain as, an object?

Space Game WIP
Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 10th Sep 2007 23:55
Quote: "You can save the maps to any folder of your game. It will export a *.etm (Extended Terrain Map) file and save the textures in a sub-folder called "MapTextures". This is loadable by one command, you'll only need to add the .dba file to your project."


It will then be converted/loaded as multiple objects.
wh1sp3r
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Sep 2003
Location: Czech republic
Posted: 11th Sep 2007 00:10 Edited at: 11th Sep 2007 14:05
Quote: " It seems to be slow only when i try to do something with my mouse, if i move the camera with wasd, it moves smoothly"


Maybe, Its problem with DarkBAsic .. because, I have similar problem with another my projects .. movement by keyboard is smooth, but mouse movement is strange, slow and "stabbing" (sometimes, when i use shaders ect)

EDIT: Iam gonna buy it, because this program is amazing and price is funny I have few question for creator of this program.

What new features will have your program ?
I suggest Road tool (you can easily make a road with road texture)
and maybe entity ? Before, then i buy your program, i want to know, if you will still working on your nice program


PS: Real programmers aren't afraid of math!.
Agent Dink
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 11th Sep 2007 16:30
If you want to "pay by cash" I recommend you go and buy a money order. Much safer and faster than personal checks.

Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 11th Sep 2007 18:40
Quote: "What new features will have your program ?"

Quote: "and maybe entity ?"


Currently, I'm thinking of an entity system and with the next update an auto update function will be included so you'll never need to download manually anything again.

Quote: "if you will still working on your nice program "


Of course, as long as there are ideas, suggestions, tips and ideas around this program will always grow.

Quote: "I suggest Road tool "


Perhaps later... it's an idea!
IanM
Retired Moderator
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 11th Sep 2007 19:32
Can I suggest a way of setting the edge heights of the current terrain to match those of other terrains, and the textures at the edges too, so that when used they can be placed side by side a join invisibly.

Utility plugins collection and
http://www.matrix1.demon.co.uk for older plug-ins and example code
el zilcho
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Dec 2006
Location:
Posted: 11th Sep 2007 20:36
if i were to make a terrain with this, and then load it into my own game, would the shadows appear as part of the texture, like in the program? because they look really cool.
Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 11th Sep 2007 20:47 Edited at: 11th Sep 2007 20:51
@ IanM

I already thought of this. It would be very helpful, but to make seamless terrain you'd also need to be able to load the broders of the last mappart at the opposite side. I see what I can do.

@ el zilcho

There are no real "shadows" currently, but it think you mean the shades, the darker sides of the terrain that are turned away from the light. The terrain gets lightned in real time with the dbpro lights using in realtime calculated normals (not using the "set object normals" command). So you will be able to make, for example, multiple laterns as street lights or have a moon or sun moving around the map and the shades will always be positioned correctly.
wh1sp3r
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Sep 2003
Location: Czech republic
Posted: 11th Sep 2007 21:56
Master Xilo: CAn you show me example of exported model from this editor ?

um, How can i Make lightmaps with your terrain ?


PS: Real programmers aren't afraid of math!.
Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 11th Sep 2007 22:38 Edited at: 12th Sep 2007 07:49
Quote: "Master Xilo: CAn you show me example of exported model from this editor ?"


Sure!
I made a collection of maps and putted them into a zip together with a simple maploader program.

removed
Here a picture of one map in the pack:



For those who already bought it: the new update adds an automatic update function.

Quote: "um, How can i Make lightmaps with your terrain ?"


In the program you can't make lightmaps. If you own Dark Lights, you can make lightmaps as usual because the terrain is multiple normal objects.
Mr Kohlenstoff
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posted: 11th Sep 2007 22:42 Edited at: 11th Sep 2007 22:59
One question.. is there an option of automatic terrain-creation? For istance using the Perlin noise-algorithm or something similar? That would be great, in my opinion.

Also some lightmapping depending on a given sun-position, with self-shadowing, which is blended onto the base-texture then.

I think you should upload the program to different download-pages like downloads.com (I think ^^) to sell more copies of it. It looks really worth it's price.


Edit: Nice screenshot, but all of your heightmaps seem to be quite small... could you make a bigger heightmap (I think up to 512*512 vertices should be possible with an acceptable framerate... at least that's the case with advanced terrains), e.g. like a skirmish-map for games like AoM.
It's just that the screenshots all seem to show a scene of maybe 30*30 meters, and in a game you should at least have the feeling of freedom, you know. ^^

Edit2: Oh, I always talk about "Heightmaps", but obviously you don't use Heightmaps but objects.. however... I think you know what I mean.

wh1sp3r
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Sep 2003
Location: Czech republic
Posted: 11th Sep 2007 23:46 Edited at: 11th Sep 2007 23:48
Downloading ...


PS: Real programmers aren't afraid of math!.
jasonhtml
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Mar 2004
Location: OC, California, USA
Posted: 12th Sep 2007 05:56
woah! i don't know if what you are doing is legal. ALL of your textures are from Age of Mythology.

from Microsoft's terms of service:

Quote: "Unless otherwise specified, the Services are for your personal and non-commercial use. You may not modify, copy, distribute, transmit, display, perform, reproduce, publish, license, create derivative works from, transfer, or sell any information, software, products or services obtained from the Services."


Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 12th Sep 2007 08:10 Edited at: 12th Sep 2007 20:33
Quote: "I think you should upload the program to different download-pages like downloads.com"


??? help me to understand this ???
Do you mean the demo program?

Quote: "Also some lightmapping depending on a given sun-position, with self-shadowing, which is blended onto the base-texture then."


Ok, I'will see what i can do. Should not be that difficult.

Quote: "512*512 vertices "


Currently, I'm working on improoving the overall speed of the application (and now also removing the textures), after that I'll increase the maximum mapsize.
Mr Kohlenstoff
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posted: 12th Sep 2007 16:47
Quote: "??? help me to understand this ???
Do you mean the demo program?"


Sorry. ^^
What I mean is, that your aim is to sell the program.. right? I know the german page "Downloads.de", there everyone can submit his programs or program-information (with links to your site in this case), kind of advertisment, because much people look at such sides, normally.
You wouldn't have to upload your program there, but give them some information, a link to your site and the price.
I am not sure if downloads.com also works this way.. however. I hope now you understand what I am talking about.

Quote: "Ok, I'will see what i can do. Should not be that difficult."


Cool!

Quote: "ALL of your textures are from Age of Mythology."


Oh, I always wondered why your maps remind me of AoM so much. xD But good choice, I liked it much more than Age of empires 3.

Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 12th Sep 2007 20:20 Edited at: 12th Sep 2007 20:33
Quote: "But good choice"


So, don't you guys care if I let the AoM textures as sample textures and let the AoM-music using videos on my page? Then I'll bring this screenshots and videos back on the page as fast as I can!

Quote: ""Downloads.de""

No, I didn't know, but now I do.
Do you think any person that doesn't own DBPro will buy this? And if they own it, they also look at the forums and will see it here

Quote: "I liked it much more than Age of empires 3"


Me too, lol!
Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 14th Sep 2007 19:27 Edited at: 14th Sep 2007 19:28
UPDATE!!!

Mainly inprooved overall speed of the application:
- now you'll have the same fps as ingame if you only look at the terrain (don't change height etc. or move the cursor)
- moving the cursor and changing something will now decrease the fps nearly not
- loading, saving and creating a terrain is now much faster
- culling system is now very efficient (it's still the builtin one so ingame your maps will be as fast as in the editor)
- you can now have up to 15x15 objects with 20x20 patches each

This is huge!

Here (ok, it's on the website) a video of me, creating a huge terrain with 7 textured layers!!! The final map has over 1'000'000 polygons!!!

A picture:


The video:


A last question before i load this update to the auto updater: should I set a fps limit of 60 in the editor or not?
Mr Kohlenstoff
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posted: 14th Sep 2007 20:32
Quote: "A last question before i load this update to the auto updater: should I set a fps limit of 60 in the editor or not?"


What should the limit be good for? If you want a constant camera-speed or your height-changing-tools are depending on the FPS you could make it timerbased.


Quote: "A picture:"


Great picture.


Quote: "The video:"


Even cooler. Great work.


Quote: "Do you think any person that doesn't own DBPro will buy this?"


Why not, if it's able to export heightmaps or 3D-Objects and their textures, so it can be used for any Programming language.. Why shouldn't they buy it?

paul5147
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2006
Location: Hot & Sunny
Posted: 14th Sep 2007 22:18
Hi,payed for this via the paypal link but where/when/how do i get the unlock code cos i cant wait to try this,thanks
Silvester
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posted: 14th Sep 2007 22:41
Xilo,

I assume you are not at home at the moment, as i haven't received the required details yet.


Master Xilo
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Sep 2006
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Posted: 15th Sep 2007 00:06
Quote: "Hi,payed for this via the paypal link but where/when/how do i get the unlock code cos i cant wait to try this,thanks "

are you paul.parkinson3 (at) ******.*** ?

Then you should have received it!

Quote: "I assume you are not at home at the moment, as i haven't received the required details yet."


I'm at home, sorry I didn't write you. I can't accept bank transfers
So the only way for you would be putting the 5 euros into a letter and send them to me.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-02-08 22:40:14
Your offset time is: 2023-02-08 22:40:14