Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Dark Shader. Does it work with gdk and vista?

Author
Message
General Reed
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 20th Dec 2007 21:19
Here is the code:
Quote: " //Create the camera
dbMakeCamera(cameraID);

//Load the bloom effect for this camera
_bloomEffect = Chaos::getFree(Chaos:T_EFFECT);
dbLoadCameraEffect( "..\\media\\Effects\\Camera\\Bloom.dbs", _bloomEffect, 0 );

//Set this bloom effect to this camera
_bloomImage = Chaos::getFree(Chaos:T_IMAGE);
dbSetCameraEffect(cameraID, _bloomEffect, _bloomImage);

//Make a quad for the camera effects to be rendered to
_bloomPlain = Chaos::getFree(Chaos:T_MODEL);
dbMakeObjectPlain(_bloomPlain, 2, 2);

//Load the quad effect
_bloomPlainEffect = 2; //Chaos::getFree(Chaos:T_EFFECT);
dbLoadEffect("Quad.fx", _bloomPlainEffect, 0 );

////Make a temp vector
dbMakeVector4( 1000 );
dbSetVector4( 1000, dbScreenWidth(), dbScreenHeight(), 0 , 0 );
dbSetEffectConstantVector(_bloomPlainEffect, "ViewSize", 1000 );
dbDeleteVector4( 1000 );"


It would appear that the line "dbSetVector4( 1000, dbScreenWidth(), dbScreenHeight(), 0 , 0 );" is the one causing the greif.
Im in vista, could this be something to do with it?

Thanks - General Reed

CPU: AMD X2 6000+ 3.0ghz GFX: NVIDIA BFG Geforce 8800GTS 640MB OC-550mhz core RAM: 2048mb

General Reed
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 21st Dec 2007 16:51
Anyone?

CPU: AMD X2 6000+ 3.0ghz GFX: NVIDIA BFG Geforce 8800GTS 640MB OC-550mhz core RAM: 2048mb

david w
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Dec 2005
Location: U.S.A. Michigan
Posted: 21st Dec 2007 21:15
yes it works
General Reed
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Dec 2007 02:57
well i wish that were the case, but the set vector command seems to crash the program. even the darkshader test programs. why is this?

CPU: AMD X2 6000+ 3.0ghz GFX: NVIDIA BFG Geforce 8800GTS 640MB OC-550mhz core RAM: 2048mb

jason p sage
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: Ellington, CT USA
Posted: 22nd Dec 2007 06:03
Set Vector or the one under it? I don't know it but usually vector ID is first param.

General Reed
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Dec 2007 09:05
the one under it dbSetEffectConstantVector(_bloomPlainEffect, "ViewSize", 1000 );

CPU: AMD X2 6000+ 3.0ghz GFX: NVIDIA BFG Geforce 8800GTS 640MB OC-550mhz core RAM: 2048mb

General Reed
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 26th Dec 2007 17:30
bump

CPU: AMD X2 6000+ 3.0ghz GFX: NVIDIA BFG Geforce 8800GTS 640MB OC-550mhz core RAM: 2048mb

Sephnroth
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 28th Dec 2007 18:06
we'll need mike to look at this. i'm having problems with all shaders - but most annoyingly problems with darkshader shaders which i just bought hoping that darkshader would outpuyt something that wouldnt cause darkgdk to crash.

Chances are he just needs to compile DarkShader.lib for 2008, heres hoping.

General Reed
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 28th Dec 2007 18:47
I concour. The darkgdk may be free, but half of it dosent work lol

CPU: AMD X2 6000+ 3.0ghz GFX: NVIDIA BFG Geforce 8800GTS 640MB OC-550mhz core RAM: 2048mb

jason p sage
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: Ellington, CT USA
Posted: 28th Dec 2007 19:51
Half? Come on.... That's a little harsh... But then I don't use enough of it to know for sure... but maybe you're right.

I Do Know I need the following Includes so far cuz they are missing in the headers:

My "common" Header


My (LIT Provided) GetMatrix4Element function


FERSIS
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th May 2006
Location:
Posted: 28th Dec 2007 20:07
So most haders dont work on GDK ,that doesnt mean that half of GDK doesnt work.
Its still the most easy and quick way to make great 3D games
Cheers for GDK
jason p sage
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: Ellington, CT USA
Posted: 29th Dec 2007 03:33
Are you serious? About alot of shaders in DarkGDK... hmm... that explains an issue I'm having trying to port one of Gandalfs shaders. Hmm... Well... I decided just a little while ago to skin the cat differently - though more because of frame rates - for the shader that I got working being to slow - I wanted to try a older shader - not OLD OLD - just a leaner one Gandalf wrote a while back - and it wouldn't run...but in DarkBasic it ran...

I'm going to just make my own texture mixer, that interrogates my objects for the stuff shaders do - like normals, angles, height, etc... and makes textures like that, in memory though - then export them as tiles. Frame Rates increase over 60%

General Reed
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 29th Dec 2007 14:57
Quote: "easy and quick "


I think you will find that stabitily of the engine is more important.

CPU: AMD X2 6000+ 3.0ghz GFX: NVIDIA BFG Geforce 8800GTS 640MB OC-550mhz core RAM: 2048mb

FERSIS
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th May 2006
Location:
Posted: 8th Jan 2008 16:06
yes indeed , thats the 'easy' part of my comment.
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th Apr 2008 13:31
what's the situation with dgdk on vc++ and darkshader or fx shaders in general?

it seems too few shaders actually work with dgdk.

can someone give us the rundown on the situation pls?
Mike Johnson
TGC Developer
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Sep 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 7th Apr 2008 11:10
Check the version number on the shaders you are using. Must be 2.0 or higher.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-09-29 17:25:40
Your offset time is: 2024-09-29 17:25:40