Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Bitmaps vs. Images vs. Roll your own

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Feb 2008 22:33
Please excuse what must sound like a newbie question (mainly because I'm a Dark GDK newbie.) After starting out a preliminary program in both SDL and SFML I stumbled on Dark GDK and have begun again.

After going through the docs and the tutorials I'm a bit confused about bitmaps, images, creating one's own bitmap and displaying the bitmap. I began with the project produced by the wizard for 2D and the "demo" built into it compiles and runs fine, with the asteroids tumbling as expected. Eventually my intent is to draw a background for each level with a grassy area and a roadway. To this end I removed the loading of the image and instead created my own bitmap as a test. Thsi resulted in nothing displaying. I assumed that I treat a bitmap the same as an image and just assign a sprite to it. This may be where I'm going wrong, but everything I've seen in the tutorials show sprites being applied to images that have been loaded. The docs talk about loading bitmaps vs. loading images so I have to assume that they're treated differently.

So, after all that, could someone explain the use of bitmaps and how they're displayed?

Thanks,
Lilith

Lilith, Night Butterfly
Sephnroth
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 12th Feb 2008 23:07
What should be made a bit more clear in the docs perhaps is what it actually means when it says bitmap and image. The bitmap functions store the image data internally in a bitmap format and work only with bitmaps. The image functions will LOAD bitmaps still if that is the image format you want to work with!