Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Convert 3D coordinates to screen coordinates

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
A few minutes ago I wrote a small function that converts 3d coordinates to screen coordinates and returns false if the 3d point is outside the screen:

If the 3d-point is visible, the screen coordinates are saved in ScreenX and ScreenY.

I hope you find it useful.

FINAL VERSION RELEASED!!!!
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 18th May 2008 22:36
Kewl stuff. I'm not into the 3D stuff just yet but maybe someday.

AAR, something like this probably needs to be posted in Code Snippets for the benefit of humanity.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
bobba
Years of Service
User Offline
There is an easy bodge way to convert 3d to 2d coordinates. It’s actually fairly efficient too. If you create an object at the given 3d coordinates you can then use:

dbObjectScreenX : int dbObjectScreenX ( int iObject )
dbObjectScreenY : int dbObjectScreenY ( int iObject )

to get the 2d coordinates, then just delete the object you made. Because the object is deleted before the call to dbsync it is never rendered to screen so will not appear.
jezza
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th May 2008 09:11
thanks guys this will be really useful.
tobi453
Years of Service
User Offline
hi bobba,

you're right. You can do it with dbObjectScreenX and dbObjectScreenY but I don't want to use a object for this.

Zotoaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 19th May 2008 16:23 Edited at: 19th May 2008 16:24
I rewrote it so you can actually return the values using std::pair. Just access them by using the .first and .second fields.

Untested btw: