Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Blue colors appears when I look up at my sky's edges ?

Author
Message
yahya
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 5th Jun 2009 23:30
I have a problem with the sky I got from DarkGDK tutorial, I increased the sky scale from 500 to 10000, but when I look around its edges, a blue color show up in-between edges.

http://img197.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gameskyproblem.jpg

I looked around and I found out that if I fix the Camera Range it should be solved but when I do "dbSetCameraRange(0,0,500);" it ends up looking like this:

http://img144.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gameskyproblem2.jpg
kklouzal
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2009
Location: Arizona
Posted: 5th Jun 2009 23:46
You need to set your camera's view range to be able to see a few hundred units past the outside of your skybox, or else the backdrop will cut into it when you look at it certian ways.

yahya
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 5th Jun 2009 23:55
ya but When I do that this happens

http://img144.imageshack.us/my.php?image=gameskyproblem2.jpg
kklouzal
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2009
Location: Arizona
Posted: 6th Jun 2009 00:01
It would be wise to post your links inside the "[link]" brackets.

I can't really tell whats going on in that picture, looks like your video card cant handle all that your making it render.

yahya
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th Jun 2009 00:43
How can it not handel it if it was just fine without changing my Camera range?
kklouzal
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th May 2009
Location: Arizona
Posted: 6th Jun 2009 01:54
Let me put it this way,

If you set your cameras range to 1000, every frame you are rendering 1000 units of your world out from where the camera is, change it to 10,000 thats making your graphics card work much harder as it must render 10x the amount of polys each frame or someting along those lines.


So it very well could be your graphics card if you have high resolution textures all over the place, many different textures, or a combination of the two and other things.

Unless you come back and say you have a decent card which you very well might and that makes everything i've said not matter =P

Diggsey
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 6th Jun 2009 01:58
No, the problem is caused by the inaccuracy in the depth buffer because you set the far value so large. Just make the sky box smaller, and use 'disable object zwrite' on it.

sydbod
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Jun 2008
Location: Just look at the picture
Posted: 6th Jun 2009 12:30
Come on guys have a look at what the O.P. posted.

Quote: ""dbSetCameraRange(0,0,500);""


Camera = 0
Near range = 0 BING!!! BING!!! BING!!!!(WARNING Will Robinson)
Far range = 500

To avoid Z fighting (the effect that the O.Ps. picture is showing, the FarRange/NearRange <= 5,000.(for good results)
He has 500/0 = infinity.

No wonder the Z buffer can not handle those settings.
SunDawg
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Dec 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posted: 6th Jun 2009 21:00
Quote: "If you set your cameras range to 1000, every frame you are rendering 1000 units of your world out from where the camera is, change it to 10,000 thats making your graphics card work much harder as it must render 10x the amount of polys each frame or someting along those lines."


Not 10x, but in effect 1000x. 3D is 3-Dimensional, ergo that's 10 times more over three axes, or 10^3.


My site, for various stuff that I make.
yahya
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 6th Jun 2009 23:08 Edited at: 6th Jun 2009 23:13
Quote: "Camera = 0
Near range = 0 BING!!! BING!!! BING!!!!(WARNING Will Robinson)
Far range = 500

To avoid Z fighting (the effect that the O.Ps. picture is showing, the FarRange/NearRange <= 5,000.(for good results)
He has 500/0 = infinity.

No wonder the Z buffer can not handle those settings."



Can you like, explain that in a more.......simple way please



Also I want to make the Sky box biger, since its original size is dbScaleObject( 2, 5000, 5000, 5000 ) I want to change it to dbScaleObject( 2, 7000, 7000, 7000 ) or more, since it kinda collides with my 3D world at some areas.
IanM
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 7th Jun 2009 14:47
Yes, never use a near range of 0. Always make the near range as large as you can without ruining the effect you are after.

Here's everything you need to know about setting your near/far ranges and their effect on the z-buffer: http://www.sjbaker.org/steve/omniv/love_your_z_buffer.html

It talks about OpenGL, but the same issues exist in DirectX too.

yahya
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 7th Jun 2009 22:59
Ya thanx I get it now , and how stupid my mistake is XD.

I just went as the guy said and put

dbSetCameraRange(0,1.0,1000000.0);

To just ease my mind and don't find further trouble with this XD
IanM
Retired Moderator
22
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2002
Location: In my moon base
Posted: 7th Jun 2009 23:49
With a range that large, you may see problems with your z buffer on nearby objects - at least now you'll know how to fix that.

jezza
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Mar 2008
Location: Bham, UK
Posted: 8th Jun 2009 15:27
Why do you need to make the sky box bigger in the first place? Just move it with the camera, and leave it quite small, and it will seem infinitely large.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-10-01 03:29:33
Your offset time is: 2024-10-01 03:29:33