Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / My program has issues

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 11th Jun 2009 04:59
Hello i have been using this for about a week, all i have learned are some basic features of dark GDK and i came up with this little program. (that i put in a zip as an attachment) It seems that i have created fake gravity and a suitable ground, but i cannot get the ground to duplicate and i am stuck to one tiny area... and yet if you go off and then press back, you float through the block upwards. I am no expert at this so that was just a run through of my problems.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Mireben
Years of Service
User Offline
I try to answer at least some of the questions in your source code.

This prevents your program from exiting immediately when the ESC key is pressed. Imagine that the user accidentally presses ESC without saving the game first, and the program closes without warning or question, the user won't be happy. It's OK for a test program, but for a finished game, you probably want to ask the user "do you really want to quit?"

If you don't use the dbEscapeKey function, then you don't need this part:

because the program will end on ESC anyway.

Next question:

Sure, the help tells you how: "You can move your sprite by calling the sprite command with new position coordinates."

But there are lots of number twos there and they don't mean the same thing, so maybe it's more understandable like this:

To move left, use negative PIXELS. The IMAGE_NUMBER is the image from which the sprite was created.