Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / BBB Gui Plugin

Author
Message
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 20th Dec 2009 09:34 Edited at: 30th Apr 2012 14:35
This is a plugin which allows you to add Windows GUI components to your applications. It works under windows xp, vista and 7 and has visual styles turned on by default - you don't need a manifest file to tell the Windows to turn on visual styles.

Finished
Still working on
Not yet started or it doesn't work

Features:
Windows
Buttons
Combobox - 2 different types
Editbox
Radiobox
Listview
Listbox
Treeview
Rebar
Updown (spinner) controls
Tab controls
Static windows and images
Toolbar
Menus - window menus and context (popup) menus
Groupbox
Dropdown groupbox
Splitter
Imagelists
Date picker
Color picker dialog
Open and save dialog
Folder requester dialog
Messagebox dialog
Progressbar
Scrollbar
Trackbar
Statusbar
Cursors
Web browser
Window theming (using .msstyles theme files)
MDI windows
Rich editbox
Sintax highlighting editbox
Font requester dialog
Window skinning
System tray
Transparent windows
GDI - drawing lines, circles, rectangles (black or colored)


Here is a complete command list (there is currently 355 commands):
+ Code Snippet

Tell me what you think, report bugs and tell me what you want me to add.

Update 04/30/2012 (v1.4.0.2.) NEW
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 04/29/2012 (v1.4.0.1.)
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 04/08/2012 (v1.4.0.0.)
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 07/13/2010 (v1.3.0.0.)
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 03/18/2010 (v1.2.0.2.)
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 03/09/2010 (v1.2.0.1.)
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 3/01/2010 (v1.2.0.0.)
======================
+ Code Snippet

Update 02/09/2010 (v1.1.0.0.)
=====================
+ Code Snippet

Update 12/30/2009 (v1.0.0.1.)
======================
+ Code Snippet


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS:
* My application has a silent crash on exit, what's the problem?
I'm still working on this problem. Possible solutions: stop using theme files or use Newton's plugin just for theming. You can find his plugin at the following link:http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=163892&b=5

* I compiled the examples but they don't work as they should. Why?
Make sure you included "BBBGUI_Constants.dba" file in you project. If you did and it still doesn't work try adding the following line at the beggining of your project: #include "BBBGUI_CONSTANTS.dba"

* When i compile my application i get the following error: "The program can't start because USkin.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."
Make sure the "USkin.dll" file is in the same folder as your application exe. If you are compiling in debug mode then your application exe is in dbpro's temp folder.

Screenshot of the plugin in use:


Attachments

Login to view attachments
Joeeigel
Recently Online
Joined: 6th Jun 2006
Location: A dark room...
Posted: 20th Dec 2009 14:15
If its done, why did you post it in the WIP board? Also, can we please see some screenshots of it in action?

Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 20th Dec 2009 20:46 Edited at: 20th Dec 2009 20:50
Quote: "If its done, why did you post it in the WIP board? Also, can we please see some screenshots of it in action?"


Well, i plan to add a couple of commands more and I don't know if there are any bugs so this version could be called 0.9 alpha ->that's why is it in the WIP board.

For screenshots of it in action please check my other WIP board called Landscape & Map Creator - my 3d modeling program whoose interface is created using this plugin.


http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=159294&b=8

God is real unless declared integer.
revenant chaos
Recently Online
Joined: 21st Mar 2007
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 03:02
This looks good... too bad it doesn't work for me. I get the error message:
Failed To Load DLL (3: BBB GUI.dll)

DBpro 7.5 beta 1
Windows XP Media Center Edition (Service Pack 2)
AMD Athlon 3700+ 2.2ghz
2gb PC3200 RAM
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 03:35
Quote: "This looks good... too bad it doesn't work for me. I get the error message:
Failed To Load DLL (3: BBB GUI.dll)"


Try installing Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86)

Here is the link:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=9B2DA534-3E03-4391-8A4D-074B9F2BC1BF&displaylang=en

God is real unless declared integer.
Yodaman Jer
Forum President
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Sep 2007
Location: Forum Presidential Headquarters
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 04:38
I like the screenshots in your other thread! I've been fascinated with learning GUi stuff recently, so I may try this out later on.


Sign up here!
revenant chaos
Recently Online
Joined: 21st Mar 2007
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 11:38
Quote: "Try installing Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86)"

I already has this installed (as well as visual c++ 2008 express).
I downloaded and installed it anyways in case anything needed to be repaired but it still crashes with the same error.
peterJBE
Recently Online
Joined: 11th Mar 2008
Location: Belgium
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 12:41
Your project looks interesting.

I have de same problem as Revenant Chaos.
dbpro 1.74

The visual C++ redistributable package is also on my system.
Melancholic
Recently Online
Joined: 26th Nov 2009
Location:
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 14:46
I also have the same problem
tiresius
Recently Online
Joined: 13th Nov 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 17:42
This looks really cool. Are there any plans to add a Canvas gadget? If BlueGUI becomes unusable in the future I may switch to this for my project, as it seems similar. Nice work!

I'm not a real programmer but I play one with DBPro!
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 21st Dec 2009 21:31
I uploaded a new version in the first post. Check if it works now.
For compiling the examples i used dbpro 7.5 beta2.


Quote: "This looks really cool. Are there any plans to add a Canvas gadget? If BlueGUI becomes unusable in the future I may switch to this for my project, as it seems similar. Nice work!"


I don't have blue gui, what is Canvas gadget used for?

God is real unless declared integer.
lucifer 1101
Recently Online
Joined: 26th Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posted: 22nd Dec 2009 00:53
0.0 Exactly what i need by the looks of it...
revenant chaos
Recently Online
Joined: 21st Mar 2007
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 22nd Dec 2009 01:13
Ok the examples work now, and I must say it looks great (your ruby theme looks really nice). However when closing the application I get a crash every time (no matter if I escape out, or click the X).
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 22nd Dec 2009 01:27
Quote: "However when closing the application I get a crash every time (no matter if I escape out, or click the X). "


That's probably because uskin library needs to be released before closing the application. I will add a command for that. I never got a crash like that though.

God is real unless declared integer.
lucifer 1101
Recently Online
Joined: 26th Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posted: 22nd Dec 2009 01:34
i get the same problem, but overall very nice
tiresius
Recently Online
Joined: 13th Nov 2002
Location: MA USA
Posted: 22nd Dec 2009 21:20
Quote: "I don't have blue gui, what is Canvas gadget used for?"

I think a Canvas gadget is just a windows GDI region with which BlueGUI had very basic commands to it, such as setting color and drawing point, box, lines, etc. It also had a function to grab the canvas contents and stick it in a DBPro image. I use the Canvas in my level editor as a minimap on a panel gadget.

I'm not a real programmer but I play one with DBPro!
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 23rd Dec 2009 07:14
I uploaded a new version in the first post.
I added a new command -> KILL BBB GUI. It shouldn't crash any more when you exit the application.

God is real unless declared integer.
peterJBE
Recently Online
Joined: 11th Mar 2008
Location: Belgium
Posted: 23rd Dec 2009 10:35
@Brendy Boy

Now I could compile your examples. It looks very interesting.

It did not work for me until I copied your files to
c:\program files\the game creators\dark basic professional\projects
and not to a folder like:
H:\newdownloads\bbbgui\BBB Gui examples
In that case I received the message BBBGui.dll not found.
I always installed your latest updates, to test the software
There is also a spelling difference between TGC's 'plugin-user' folder and yours.
revenant chaos
Recently Online
Joined: 21st Mar 2007
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 23rd Dec 2009 12:15
Quote: "I added a new command -> KILL BBB GUI."
You mean End BBB GUI?

Quote: "It shouldn't crash any more when you exit the application."
Sorry man, It still crashes.
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 23rd Dec 2009 22:00
Quote: "You mean End BBB GUI?"

Yeah, I meant END BBB GUI.

Quote: "Sorry man, It still crashes. "

I quite sure that the problem is in uskin.dll that i use for theming the windows. Try calling the START BBB GUI command without specifying the theme file (Ruby.msstyles), does it still crashes?

God is real unless declared integer.
JosephB
Recently Online
Joined: 12th Sep 2006
Location:
Posted: 24th Dec 2009 13:53
Works nicely when you don't include the theme file.
Tylerman35
Recently Online
Joined: 23rd Jul 2009
Location:
Posted: 24th Dec 2009 17:46
i get an error saying USkin.dll was not found. And after that Failed to load BBB Gui. How can i fix this?
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 24th Dec 2009 21:11
Quote: "i get an error saying USkin.dll was not found. And after that Failed to load BBB Gui. How can i fix this? "


Do you have the newest version of the bbb gui plugin?
USkin.dll has to be in the same folder with yout application exe file.
Have you tried compiling the examples without specifying the theme file.
Which version of dbpro you use?
What version of windows you have?

God is real unless declared integer.
Liopriwo
Recently Online
Joined: 2nd Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 24th Dec 2009 21:49
Thank you very much for this plugin!

I just have one question: Does it have any restrictions?
revenant chaos
Recently Online
Joined: 21st Mar 2007
Location: Robbinsdale, MN
Posted: 25th Dec 2009 07:44
Quote: "I quite sure that the problem is in uskin.dll that i use for theming the windows. Try calling the START BBB GUI command without specifying the theme file (Ruby.msstyles), does it still crashes?
"
Nope, without the theme file it doesn't crash upon exiting.
Plotinus
Recently Online
Joined: 28th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 25th Dec 2009 23:18 Edited at: 25th Dec 2009 23:19
This is fantastic. Thank you for making this available. I'm sure it will be widely used - it deserves to be. I had the same crashing problem and also found that by removing the theme it was resolved.

I really like the professional-looking, anti-aliased font that you have used for the windows and objects. I very much wish it were possible to use fonts like this for normal text in DBPro (instead of the ugly, un-anti-aliased text that it prints out; even Cloggy's dll cannot produce anti-aliased text in small sizes like this, yet all modern applications use it).

I'm wondering if I could use your MAKE LABEL command in place of TEXT, in a large window, to produce a window with many lines of nice-looking text. Ideally, though, I'd like to do that in the main DBPro screen, not in a new window. Is there any way I could do something like that with this plug-in?
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 26th Dec 2009 01:40
Quote: "I'm wondering if I could use your MAKE LABEL command in place of TEXT, in a large window, to produce a window with many lines of nice-looking text. Ideally, though, I'd like to do that in the main DBPro screen, not in a new window. Is there any way I could do something like that with this plug-in? "


Well, you can but label's background will be visible all the time. You can't show only text -> for that to work the label's background would have to be set to transparent and that would be painfully slow.

God is real unless declared integer.
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 26th Dec 2009 01:42
Quote: "I just have one question: Does it have any restrictions? "


What kind of restrictions?

God is real unless declared integer.
Liopriwo
Recently Online
Joined: 2nd Dec 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Dec 2009 12:41
Quote: "
What kind of restrictions?"


I mean if your plugin is free for commercial use.
Plotinus
Recently Online
Joined: 28th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Dec 2009 18:00
Quote: "Well, you can but label's background will be visible all the time. You can't show only text -> for that to work the label's background would have to be set to transparent and that would be painfully slow."


I could just make the label colour the same as the background colour. I've been doing a bit of experimenting with this and it looks good. The only problem I've got is that it doesn't seem to be possible to delete or change the text in a label once it's been created. I want to simulate a screen of scrolling text, so what I was thinking was to have a label for each row on the screen, and then change the text in the labels so that it looks like it's scrolling upwards. But I find that when I change the label text, it changes for a moment and then reverts to the text it had originally. Might there be any way around this? Thanks for any ideas!
Tylerman35
Recently Online
Joined: 23rd Jul 2009
Location:
Posted: 26th Dec 2009 21:13 Edited at: 27th Dec 2009 00:42
This code wont work when i press the X Button

+ Code Snippet

also can you make a tutorial on this for If statements. For example (if menu button clicked then make object box)or something like that.

By the way i like the gui!
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 27th Dec 2009 01:20
Quote: "I mean if your plugin is free for commercial use. "

It is.


Quote: "But I find that when I change the label text, it changes for a moment and then reverts to the text it had originally. Might there be any way around this? Thanks for any ideas!"

I don't know why that happened, it shouldn't. Is anybody else experiencing the same problem.


Quote: "This code wont work when i press the X Button"

Is the file "BBBGUI_CONSTANTS.dba" included in your project?
Did you set the dbpro window to main window with SET MAIN WINDOW command?
Is this happening in one of the examples that come with bbbgui or in some project of yours?

Quote: "also can you make a tutorial on this for If statements. For example (if menu button clicked then make object box)or something like that."

Of course I can. And I will for one of the future updates.

God is real unless declared integer.
Hockeykid
DBPro Tool Maker
Recently Online
Joined: 26th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 27th Dec 2009 10:28 Edited at: 27th Dec 2009 10:41
Found a bug

if the dbp program is not closed with the X (the gui X in the top right) your application will get a silent crash

Also do you think maybe you could get the top GUI bar to appear when in windowed-full screen and windowed-desktop ?

hookkshot
Recently Online
Joined: 12th Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide, Aus
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 14:01
When i use the COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM STRING(comboboxnum)

it comes up with

could not determine parameter type of "COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM STRING(comboboxnum)"

2.0Gh AM2 Processor, 9800GT, 2Gb Ram
hookkshot
Recently Online
Joined: 12th Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide, Aus
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 21:20
Has anyone else had this problem

2.0Gh AM2 Processor, 9800GT, 2Gb Ram
bloody bamboo
Recently Online
Joined: 29th Dec 2009
Location: Germany
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 21:40
I think a documentation would be no bad thing.
bloody bamboo
Recently Online
Joined: 29th Dec 2009
Location: Germany
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 22:00
Quote: "When i use the COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM STRING(comboboxnum)

it comes up with

could not determine parameter type of "COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM STRING(comboboxnum)""


try it once with:
+ Code Snippet
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 22:08
Quote: "When i use the COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM STRING(comboboxnum)

it comes up with

could not determine parameter type of "COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM STRING(comboboxnum)""


It seems that i wrote the name of the command wrong inside the bbb gui keywords, Sorry about that, i'll upload an update in a few hours.
Correct name is: COMBOBOX GET SELECTED ITEM TEXT(combobox_handle)

God is real unless declared integer.
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 29th Dec 2009 22:18
Quote: "if the dbp program is not closed with the X (the gui X in the top right) your application will get a silent crash
"


You need to end your application with a command END BBB GUI
If you use themes then you will have a silent crash anyway because there's obviously a bug inside the uskin.dll.
If you don't want silent crash don't use themes.

Quote: "Also do you think maybe you could get the top GUI bar to appear when in windowed-full screen and windowed-desktop ?"

I'm not sure if that's possible, but i'll see what i can do.

God is real unless declared integer.
hookkshot
Recently Online
Joined: 12th Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide, Aus
Posted: 30th Dec 2009 04:29
Yep thats what it was works great now thanks

2.0Gh AM2 Processor, 9800GT, 2Gb Ram
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 30th Dec 2009 06:18
I uploaded a new version in the first post.

God is real unless declared integer.
N65
Recently Online
Joined: 9th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 30th Dec 2009 14:51
Good morning. How do I get the text I enter in an editbox?
lucifer 1101
Recently Online
Joined: 26th Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posted: 30th Dec 2009 22:50 Edited at: 30th Dec 2009 22:51
would it be possible to add gui elements to the main dbpro window without having to create a new one?...


also is there a way to lock a windows location so the user cant move it?..
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 30th Dec 2009 23:05
Quote: "Good morning. How do I get the text I enter in an editbox? "


WINDOW GET TEXT(editbox_handle)

God is real unless declared integer.
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 30th Dec 2009 23:09
Quote: "would it be possible to add gui elements to the main dbpro window without having to create a new one?..."


You can. Just use a handle of dbpro window, which you can get with GET DBPRO WINDOW() command, as a parent window handle.


Quote: "also is there a way to lock a windows location so the user cant move it?.. "

Currently no, I'll see if I can implement that somehow.

God is real unless declared integer.
lucifer 1101
Recently Online
Joined: 26th Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posted: 31st Dec 2009 01:26
thanks for that..

lets say i have a treeview and i want to change a whole heap of the information from it, is there a way to just delete the whole thing and remake it...
Brendy boy
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Jul 2005
Location: Croatia
Posted: 31st Dec 2009 01:48
Quote: "thanks for that..

lets say i have a treeview and i want to change a whole heap of the information from it, is there a way to just delete the whole thing and remake it... "


Of course there is. Every control that you create you can delete with DELETE WINDOW command.

God is real unless declared integer.
Yodaman Jer
Forum President
Recently Online
Joined: 17th Sep 2007
Location: Forum Presidential Headquarters
Posted: 31st Dec 2009 06:53
This definitely looks intriguing. I want to try it out after I get DarkBASIC Pro and CodeSurge re-installed on my system (I had to perform a system recovery due to a stubborn piece of malware). It's looking excellent so far (judging from the pics in your other thread)!


Sign up here!
hookkshot
Recently Online
Joined: 12th Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide, Aus
Posted: 31st Dec 2009 09:05 Edited at: 31st Dec 2009 09:06
I recommend everyone getting this. I've made a nice options for my game using this gui.

With that latest Update Brendy Boy i have had no problems running this.

2.0Gh AM2 Processor, 9800GT, 2Gb Ram
N65
Recently Online
Joined: 9th Sep 2007
Location:
Posted: 31st Dec 2009 14:33
Quote: "Quote: "Good morning. How do I get the text I enter in an editbox? "

WINDOW GET TEXT(editbox_handle)
"


Thanks Brendy Boy!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2016-02-12 09:34:11
Your offset time is: 2016-02-12 09:34:11