Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Multiplayer Space Fighter

Author
Message
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Mar 2011 02:19 Edited at: 30th Aug 2011 18:20
Space Craft
(Working title)

Dark GDK + Multisync



Package Updated -- 29/04/11 -- 19:27 UK



Server is Down -- 25/05/11 -- 12:00pm UK

Next Session -- TBA









This version of DirectX might be needed, especially if you run win 7 or vista and have not installed any older games.

DirectX Aug07


Currently Working:
Options Menu - Screen resolution, Music volume
Ability to shoot and hit each other, scoring points
3D Scanner showing distant enemies
Time limit, dividing play into rounds.

Next Objectives
Sorted score list at all times
Accuracy stat
Proclamation of the winner of each round
Persistent storage of scores
Server spawned static and dynamic targets for extra points.

It's not my fault!
Morcilla
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Dec 2002
Location: Spain
Posted: 22nd Mar 2011 11:57 Edited at: 22nd Mar 2011 12:00
Looks worth a try, although yesterday more or less at 16h the client did never connect.
First it said 'not able to connect', or something like that, then I opened the firewall for it, and after re-launching and trying to connect again, then the music was playing but the screen had no update
I was trying last client version at the moment (and by the way, the full version was not able to be downloaded from your server).

[Edit: Oh I suggest that you set up a fixed schedule for server-up times along the week, maybe that would make more players to go in...]

McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Mar 2011 17:57 Edited at: 22nd Mar 2011 19:34
Hehe,

Well, I have been trying to put it up every evening. Problem is, if no-one posts feedback (as in the other threads) I have no idea if you are all trying and failing to connect.

I have removed the downloads from the other thread and included the latest files as an attachment on the top post. This to avoid having multiple different copies available.

I shall be putting the server up again this evening, around about 20:00pm UK time.

Client communicates with server to ensure correct versions. Generally it's best to allways get the latest version before trying to connect.

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Mar 2011 18:13
I have just tested the download from this thread and it works fine.

Enter your name, then press [return]

Read control instructions, then press any key to enter the game.

Allow a few seconds for assets to be loaded an prepped.

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 22nd Mar 2011 20:14
I'm logged in now, come and shoot me!

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2011 15:00
how about you post if you intend joining tonight.

That way I'll know to keep the server up.

It's not my fault!
swissolo
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2011 16:20
I will, when though???

swis
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2011 16:23 Edited at: 23rd Mar 2011 16:24
Check the top post ... Next Uptime is today at 18:00 UK time.

These forums are currently 1 hour ahead of UK time

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 23rd Mar 2011 20:01
Updated the download, make sure you get the latest version

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2011 00:48 Edited at: 31st Aug 2011 12:31
Updated the download in the top post

Added the round timer in.

All it needs now is high score display at round end and dare I say it, it's a Game!



It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2011 20:57
Server is up with some tweaks for stability.

Download the latest package and see who can score the most points in a round.

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 24th Mar 2011 23:17
Package Updated 21:16pm

See top post

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2011 18:42
Working on a random target spawn for extra points.

Don't forget to check and get the latest version from the top post before connecting.

If you can't connect, or get stuck on the options screen, it's likely you have an out of date client.

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 26th Mar 2011 16:14
Please leave feedback if you try it.

I need to know about connection issues, and general gameplay experience (framerate and lag)

Thanks

It's not my fault!
Game Warden
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2010
Location: Union, MO
Posted: 26th Mar 2011 18:24
Played the game today and I will have to say that it was pretty cool (I was lordbyron btw ) Everything for me ran real smooth and I didn't experience any lag through playing for about 25 minutes and was able to connect with no issues =) Great work it was a joy to play and I will be coming back for more soon.
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 26th Mar 2011 18:28 Edited at: 30th Aug 2011 18:23
Thanks to



We have a few screenies for you


LordByron scoring a hit on The Mysterons




A High speed pass with a hail of bullets





The Mysterons gets their own back




Thanks LordByron and The Mysterons, I got to see a lot how it behaves there.

The hail of bullets and your two shields lighting up from a distance was awesome.

Think I better add timestamping to the packets and do some work on client side prediction.

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 27th Mar 2011 20:24 Edited at: 27th Mar 2011 20:25
Scores now reset each round, and there's audible warning for start of round.

What are your feelings on the zero plane (the blue grid).

It's there to help orientation in a largely featurless space.

It's not my fault!
XFS Illusion
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2006
Location:
Posted: 27th Apr 2011 11:30
Looks like some DBP code I put up a while back here

If so, glad to see it got used. Either way it looks good, I wouldn't mind taking a peak at the source just to see how it works. i'm actually recoding what I wrote in DarkGDK. Been working on it for years on and off as the mood comes in. It'll actually be plug n play as far as ships/maps go, kinda like a sand box. I began working on it again recently, basically scrapped the old code but still used it as a reference. Of course it uses a windows client (Though I plan to port it to openTK someday for multi-platform support). The server which is currently being worked on runs linux and mysql in a ram disk image for maximum speed. The code for the server is written in native C++, which handles the floats, player positions and such. Critical but less demanding data is stored in a MySql database, which is also running inside a ram disk. The socket is custom using system.net for the client, while the server runs its own code designed to compliment the client. This is the plan anyway, so far so good.

I went to babbling, anyway, look forward to seeing more of your work. I enjoy seeing the work of those who take an interest in games such as these. I'd prefer a good old dog fight in space over a FPS any day...mainly because they are so few and far between nowadays compared to FPS games...which are just about everywhere we look. Good luck with the project, hope to see more!

McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 28th Apr 2011 14:38
All coded from scratch without looking elsewhere and copying.

Am back in the UK now, and looking to get this running more longer term.

Watch this space.

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 29th Apr 2011 21:30
server is up. Please post feedback

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 10th May 2011 22:53
Well folks, I've done some minor tweaking and I've put the server up to see how long it lasts.

It'd be cool to see a few of you in there.

It's not my fault!
Design Runner
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2010
Location: In my own little world.
Posted: 11th May 2011 01:11
I'm in there right now. Hoping someone will want to face me

McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 12th May 2011 23:41
Server is up, again as long as it lasts

Please jump in and leave any feedback and suggestions

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 13th May 2011 22:20
Server is up along with a Team Speak 3 server

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 15th May 2011 13:57
Server is up. Teamspeak 3 is up

thanks to testers, I believe the server crashing is caused by changing resolutions once you are in game.

Please refrain from changing display resolution (do not press [esc]) until I can fix this bug.

It's not my fault!
kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 15th May 2011 14:58 Edited at: 15th May 2011 15:11
I'll join then


@Edit. Can you please add some chatbox ?

@Edit2. It's terribly hard to kill someone .

McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 15th May 2011 15:14 Edited at: 15th May 2011 15:24
Yeah, though I've left max speed open (you'll need it to get around the universe later) combat speed is really only 200 m/s or less. Go any faster and it's tricky to hit.

You don't destroy each other atm, you score hits in a 5 minute round.

There's Teamspeak 3 instead of chatbox. I'm not going to write that par when it's done better by third party. You can use Teamspeak 3 client to connect and leave text messages, no need for mic or voice chat (but you can if you want).

It's not my fault!
kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 15th May 2011 16:48
Aha. Ok .


Did you make the spaceship yourself?

McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 15th May 2011 16:57
Nope, the fighter is a free model fro the net

It's not my fault!
kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 15th May 2011 17:03
Quote: "Nope, the fighter is a free model fro the net"


Aha .

May i ask how long have you been making this game? (Pure curiosity)

Also, you're lucky that you have open IP , i do not.

Design Runner
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2010
Location: In my own little world.
Posted: 15th May 2011 17:04 Edited at: 15th May 2011 17:05
I can't seem to join I hit space or enter in the options section, but nothing happens. First time this has occurred, anyone know of a fix?
EDIT: it randomly worked now

kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 15th May 2011 17:05
Quote: "I can't seem to join I hit space or enter in the options section, but nothing happens. First time this has occurred, anyone know of a fix?"


i think he did put the server down.

Design Runner
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2010
Location: In my own little world.
Posted: 15th May 2011 17:14
It claims I am in a server with you and one Mclaine but I can't find anyone.

kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 15th May 2011 17:18
Lol. I made 407 points on not moving McLaine .

I'll see if your game is hack-proof for sec .

McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 15th May 2011 17:43 Edited at: 15th May 2011 17:50
lol, it won't be hack proof

Yeah, mainly trying to get the network and flight engine sorted, there's lots more to do yet.

Check the date of this WIP for how long. Started it a couple of weeks before first post. I don't work on it full time though.

It's not my fault!
kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 15th May 2011 17:51
Quote: "lol, it won't be hack proof"


I think i managed to change my points from 0 to 212 and then from 212 to 112. If you have seen that too .

McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 28th Jun 2011 02:56
Just busy re-factoring the code at the moment.

Going to have a proper solar system, and ship choice next.

It's not my fault!
Noley
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Dec 2010
Location:
Posted: 28th Jun 2011 05:04
Just curious what exactly you're using for your networking? Multisync, etc? and what language you're writing in? GDK? Dark Basic?


I've been working on a project in DarkGDK and I just integrated Multisync into my project, got my server live today with a few friends online running around the starter map! Lol I remembered seeing this thread ages ago and after I got my server functioning today it reminded me of your project lol so I came to see how you're doing

Great progress so far by the way
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 28th Jun 2011 12:27
It's Dark GDK and Multisync.

Yeah, was out of the country for a while, and then comes the re-factoring before I went further and had too much to re-factor.

It's not my fault!
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 30th Jun 2011 18:36 Edited at: 30th Jun 2011 19:01
Added some screenshots showing the new menu's that have been added.

Working at getting the server on a seperate box so it can be left running.

At this point, I'd like to invite anyone with more artisitc talent than me to contribute better menus and models for the game. Even if it's just spending the time searching for free models you would like to see in game.

Menu's are just 1600x1200 bitmaps. Placement of the values can be changed.

Hopefully, have the server accesible and running again in the very near future.

It's not my fault!
Design Runner
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2010
Location: In my own little world.
Posted: 30th Jun 2011 20:26
If you would like this ship (attached) I would be more than happy to texture it and give it to you (free of course).

Attachments

Login to view attachments
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 30th Jun 2011 20:57
Sure,

Get it textured and lets take a look.

It's not my fault!
Game Warden
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2010
Location: Union, MO
Posted: 30th Jun 2011 22:37 Edited at: 1st Jul 2011 03:50
Hey McLaine I would be more than happy to make a model or two for your game. I will get started on it and post some pics when I have made good progress Plus it will give me reason to visit this awesome game again

EDIT: Here is a pic of the model so far. It has 246 faces. I plan on working on UV Unwrapping it and texturing it tonight and tomorrow



McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 1st Jul 2011 11:25 Edited at: 1st Jul 2011 11:26
Nice. Sorta reminiscent of a Viper from BSG, but with a Viking twist!

Get it textured.

It's not my fault!
Game Warden
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2010
Location: Union, MO
Posted: 2nd Jul 2011 02:33 Edited at: 2nd Jul 2011 02:34
Here is the model with textures. I have attached the .x model and .blend file along with the texture images. My textures really aren't that great but I guess it's efficient for not having a tablet. I wouldn't mind normal mapping this ship if you would like. It would give me some practice since I don't have much experience with normal maps. Let me know what you think



Attachments

Login to view attachments
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jul 2011 11:53
Cool man, liking it.

I don't know much about texturing, but are you able to make it look more Metal and dirty it up a little?

It's not my fault!
Game Warden
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th May 2010
Location: Union, MO
Posted: 2nd Jul 2011 19:32 Edited at: 5th Jul 2011 04:52
Yea I should be able to do something with it. I really need to get a tablet to make it all easier but I still gotta learn more in GIMP and might be able to at least use layers to make the texture look a little better.

EDIT: Here is a pic with some more character lol. I may revisit this once my Wacom tablet is in.



Attachments

Login to view attachments
McLaine
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location:
Posted: 16th Aug 2011 14:16
Nice one man.

Battlestar Galactica Online is taking much of my time at the moment. But I am still working on theis. Just to let you all know.

It's not my fault!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-01-31 14:09:36
Your offset time is: 2023-01-31 14:09:36