Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / [DBP] Paradox Engine v2.1

Author
Message
kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 28th Apr 2011 16:01
Nice to see you keep working on your engine . Also, could you think of adding particle system/some image system so when you hit a metal material with a bullet, it creates sparks out of it?

I'd like to see that feature, adds more 'coolness' .

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 29th Apr 2011 01:11
Quote: "Nice to see you keep working on your engine . Also, could you think of adding particle system/some image system so when you hit a metal material with a bullet, it creates sparks out of it?

I'd like to see that feature, adds more 'coolness' ."


great idea, source engine does a great job of this I'll see what method they use, I will try and add this feature in v.2.1.3 or v2.1.4


My software never has bugs, it just develops random features.
C4: silly putty for men.
Cliff Mellangard 3DEGS
Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Feb 2006
Location: Sweden
Posted: 29th Apr 2011 01:28
Do you have some new screenies or videos?
Iam a visual kind of guy
Great progress so far!
SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 29th Apr 2011 02:05
Quote: "Do you have some new screenies or videos?
Iam a visual kind of guy
Great progress so far!"

sorry not at this moment, most of the work I'v been doing (apart from shaders witch aren't working) is under the hood stuff.

Once I get shaders working expect a boatload of sreenshots.


My software never has bugs, it just develops random features.
C4: silly putty for men.
kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 29th Apr 2011 15:01 Edited at: 29th Apr 2011 15:02
I'd also very like to please you, to fix your guns holding/shooting. I mean, they're positioned bad and aim-to-eye isn't really to eye .

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 29th Apr 2011 17:07
That was old version stuff, in v2.1.3 or v2.1.4 full animation support will be added for your models to have their own look and feel.

V2.1.3 and v2.1.4 will be the versions where paradox engine begins to really shine


My software never has bugs, it just develops random features.
C4: silly putty for men.
kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 29th Apr 2011 20:09
Nice one ! Keep it up ! Also, any idea when can you show us the shaders ?

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 29th Apr 2011 20:26
Im currently havin issues with the shader system, I might open a thread about it on the dbp forum.


My software never has bugs, it just develops random features.
C4: silly putty for men.
kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 29th Apr 2011 21:02
Aha. Do you use envolved shaders or built in DBPro cmds?

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 1st May 2011 20:32 Edited at: 1st May 2011 20:34
Quote: "Aha. Do you use envolved shaders or built in DBPro cmds?"


So far I have not implemented either because I can't make another camera. Iv been busy this weekend so don't expect much work until Monday or Tuesday.

Collision is working almost perfectly now, just need to iron out one last bug.


My software never has bugs, it just develops random features.
C4: silly putty for men.
Red Eye
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 16th May 2011 19:26
How is this coming along?

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 19th May 2011 08:27
Pretty much where I left it in my last post, I might start work on pe again soon


My software never has bugs, it just develops random features.
C4: silly putty for men.
SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 26th May 2011 08:21
Update (at last!) Now working on level editor.


My software never has bugs, it just develops random features.
C4: silly putty for men.
kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 26th May 2011 15:39
Quote: "Update (at last!) Now working on level editor."


Keep it up .

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 30th May 2011 06:07
From the blog:

Quote: "Collision finaly working (for the most part)
YEEEEESSSSS!!!! Collision is now working! Its still only sticky collision, Good enough for me at this moment though. Sliding col coming soon."



My software never has bugs, it just develops random features.
SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 30th May 2011 07:05 Edited at: 1st Jun 2011 04:15
NEW DEMO

Download attached for v2.1.2 R1

New features:
-rotating skysphere
-collision
-gun switching (number keys)
-Longer loading time
-Map glitches (don't mess around with the window )

I know its not much, but hey its something! work is now focused on shaders and graphical effects. After that animation for guns and finally scripting. I really appreciate your guys's support


My software never has bugs, it just develops random features.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Mr Kohlenstoff
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posted: 30th May 2011 14:27
Quote: "New features:
...
-Longer loading time"


Wait.. what?

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 30th May 2011 20:14
Its a joke


My software never has bugs, it just develops random features.
kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 30th May 2011 20:37 Edited at: 30th May 2011 20:46
Quote: "Its a joke "


Lol. I'll download the demo .

Edit@

Hmmmmm. No shooting yet? Collision has some problems. There's no of it when walking onto the window. Also, add bounds of looking up/down :S. I like how the weapon follows the player!

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 30th May 2011 22:16
The window glitch is the maps fault, ill fix it soon. The shooting is included in graphical effects, which is what I am workin on at this moment


My software never has bugs, it just develops random features.
SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 1st Jun 2011 04:25 Edited at: 1st Jun 2011 04:43
Quote: "Muzzle flash, and .gun files

In this small update I am releasing I have added a customizable muzzle flash for each gun. The first file format .gun has been added to the engine, use this format to customize your guns look and feel. In future versions more options will be added to the file."


A new quote from the blog, my pace has quickened

Here is the new update (2.1.2 R2) Please give some feed back, try to modify the .gun files and see how it works out


New features:

- .gun files in the scripts folder to customize your guns
- muzzle flash added

Gun 2 is not updated for new features yet, editing its .gun file will have no effect.

This is not a new version it is a update of v2.1.2 R1 to v2.1.2 R2,
this 2.1.2 R2 release is standalone.


Also, Like the new logo?


My software never has bugs, it just develops random features.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Red Eye
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 1st Jun 2011 18:20 Edited at: 1st Jun 2011 18:21
Its good progress.

Some notes:
disable object zwrite (muzzle flash obj)
set object light (muzzle flash obj, 0)

Add loading bar (illusion of a faster loading time).

Scripts are a good start, but i recommend using something more readable .

Like:

xoffset = value;
yoffset = value;
zoffset = value;

...something like that.

Also I would start programming a custom debugger for your own object classes (i assume you have one), so it would output any important data to the debugger or any error. I made one myself for my engine and I cant live without it.

Other less important notes:
- Performance in Dbpr (what am I saying!?)... in ANY programming language is something you need to take care off right away! While programming you need to think about every possible way how to improve it so it wont be heavy on cpu or gpu.

Anyways,

I am loving the progress, keep it up!

Greets,

Leo

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 2nd Jun 2011 06:28
Quote: "Scripts are a good start, but i recommend using something more readable .

Like:

xoffset = value;
yoffset = value;
zoffset = value;
"


Good point, even though there is a help file I can see how it would be unreadable to most people.

Quote: "Also I would start programming a custom debugger for your own object classes (i assume you have one), so it would output any important data to the debugger or any error. I made one myself for my engine and I cant live without it."


Good idea, I tend to not use debuggers but I will give making one a shot

Quote: "Other less important notes:
- Performance in Dbpr (what am I saying!?)... in ANY programming language is something you need to take care off right away! While programming you need to think about every possible way how to improve it so it wont be heavy on cpu or gpu."


This has been in my mind while developing the engine I plan to do a post-completion / pre-release optimization also.

Quel
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Mar 2009
Location:
Posted: 30th Jun 2011 12:50
When i tried out the demo, it gave me a dull dark very gray room without any kind of shadows, with random flashes of maybe fire(?) in front of me full screen when moving... and the pistol has its muzzle flash constantly showing up in its center...

Should it look like this?

-In.Dev.X: A unique heavy story based shoot'em ~35%
-CoreFleet: An underground commander unit based RTS ~15%
-TailsVSEggman: An Sonic themed RTS under development for idea presentation to Sega ~15%
SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 4th Jul 2011 10:14 Edited at: 4th Jul 2011 10:15
No.... i bet it was the zwrite causing flashing, Could you run it again press~ and type stat then post the results here

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 28th Jul 2011 12:12
I am now rewriting everything and making my engine more script centered. Evolved shades coming soon

AbdulAhad
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Feb 2010
Location: Karachi, Pakistan
Posted: 29th Jul 2011 18:18
Looking forward to it mate!

Abdul Ahad

2Beastmode4u
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2011
Location: Loading...
Posted: 30th Jul 2011 22:07
I will definitely be following this.

I don't know if this happened to anyone else, but when I used the latest demo it would blur when I look around and be randomly colored...

Great work though. Now I can look forward to 2 more FPSC Engines!

About the reasons that people would use this over FPSC (even the free version of FPSC)

Quote: "1. Its free
2. It will be more flexible
3. About 4 second load times
5. It will have cars (later versions)
6. It will have airplanes (later versions)
7. Dark ai (i know fpsc all ready has it but still)
8. Physics (dark phy or newton)
9. ITS FREE! "


1. Well, you got me there mate.
2. How exactly is it more flexible?
3. Can't wait to see that.
5. (Yes 5, you skipped 4, ) FPSC can already do that, unless you are talking about entering and exiting cars realistically, but FPSC can already do cars.
6. Same as 5
7. I hope this one will be better that FPSC
8. Same as 7
9. Seems I've covered this one already


Cheers.

God help me, Please.
SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 1st Aug 2011 12:27
Lol it does appear that I skipped 4

1. -
2. Cars and airplanes, but apparently fpsc can also do that now.
3. I might have exaggerated a little bit... loading will be faster than fpsc by a considerable amount
4. Missing in action

I don't really expect people to use it but oh well

As for the demo errors: all glitched elements of any previous demos are irrelevant as I have restarted from scratch on the engine.

I need to go get some and get back to programming

Red Eye
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 1st Aug 2011 13:08
You ain't on much on MSN, come online!

Looks good, nice to hear you are back on dev, and restarted this engine.

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 6th Aug 2011 02:34 Edited at: 6th Aug 2011 02:39
Surprise! Here is a new teaser screen shot of v2.2.1.

Evolved's shaders sure do look great after a few weeks of work adding them



Rundown of new features (so far)
-Way faster load time
-high fps
-SPARK 3D particle system
-Evolved Adv Lighting and FS shaders
-Newton Physics
-Anisotropic Texture Filtering

Currently adding dynamic sky

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Design Runner
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Oct 2010
Location: In my own little world.
Posted: 6th Aug 2011 06:38
Wow. This so far is looking great. Loving the new shaders! Great work commico, as always.

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 6th Aug 2011 07:09
Thanks , I just realized how much I need to change my name. Ill have to contact a mod

2Beastmode4u
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2011
Location: Loading...
Posted: 6th Aug 2011 07:20
That looks great. This is getting better and better.

One feature that I will say will make this engine a choice for me is if you implemented the choice of culling.

I really don't know why it isn't in FPSC already so you could beat them to the shot while they're working on AGK.


Cheers.

God help me, Please.
SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 6th Aug 2011 10:50
Fpsc does have portal based culling. but I will look into culling for my engine, great idea

2Beastmode4u
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Feb 2011
Location: Loading...
Posted: 6th Aug 2011 17:01
Yes it does, but not like this:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=185588&b=8




Cheers.

God help me, Please.
SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 6th Aug 2011 20:14
True, ill see what I can do

Paradox452
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Jul 2011
Location:
Posted: 9th Aug 2011 04:48
The engine looks really good

And look at that, it's named after me! K00L

The wisest leader is the one that can avoid the conflict in the first place.
SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 9th Aug 2011 09:49
Thanks

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 10th Aug 2011 08:18
Got realtime culling half way done, allready showing a 4.2 percent average increase in performance.

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 14th Aug 2011 22:00 Edited at: 14th Aug 2011 22:16
New demo coming soon, then alpha release But for now here is a new screen shot



Attachments

Login to view attachments
TheComet
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 14th Aug 2011 22:09
Looks nice, good luck with this

TheComet

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 14th Aug 2011 22:16 Edited at: 15th Aug 2011 06:43
Thank you

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 15th Aug 2011 10:45 Edited at: 16th Aug 2011 06:28
If you haven't already, please read this.

I didn't think about the fact that you might be using a physics engine such as Newton for the FPS movement, so you can probably ignore my post if you are. But read it anyway.

The screenshots are looking good, though. I tried using shaders but I got stuck on ones that needed camera masks. I just can't understand how that works!

Clonkex

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 15th Aug 2011 11:21 Edited at: 15th Aug 2011 11:30
I have read and responded for now newton has been removed but until I add it again I think I will try to use the code you supplied, thanks again

The idea of a camera mask as I understand it is to prevent the rendering of a camera
How a FS shader should work:

Make viewing camera
Make render camera
Make a quad to render to
Render the shader on camera
Grab image from render camera
Texture quad w/ image
Position and rotate quad infront of viewing camera
Mask render camera
Mask objects so they only appear in render camera

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 16th Aug 2011 00:55 Edited at: 16th Aug 2011 06:27
Oh, yeah, I understand that. I mean I don't understand the bits part of the camera mask command. As far as I know, you can't just put the camera number to make it not render. It needs to be a "bit mask", whatever that is...

Clonkex

Max P
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 16th Aug 2011 13:44
You have the use the next code for masking:
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 17th Aug 2011 02:53
Does that only sync those cameras or sync all cameras except those?

Thanks for the code, though. Maybe I can put some cool shaders in Rift!

Clonkex

Max P
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 17th Aug 2011 11:31
It only syncs the cameras you put in there:
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 18th Aug 2011 00:21
Thanks heaps! I needed some easy, simple code like that even if I don't understand the maths involved (I do know ^ means power.....I think)!

Clonkex

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-09-24 00:26:29
Your offset time is: 2023-09-24 00:26:29