Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / [DBP] Paradox Engine v2.1

Author
Message
Hassan
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2009
Location: <script> alert(1); </script>
Posted: 18th Aug 2011 03:29
^ is the XOR bitwise operation, search on google for more info

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 18th Aug 2011 06:31
Quote: "^ is the XOR bitwise operation"


Drat! I knew I'd get it wrong!

Clonkex

Diggsey
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Apr 2006
Location: On this web page.
Posted: 18th Aug 2011 20:44
Quote: "^ is the XOR bitwise operation, search on google for more info"


No, ^ is the power of operator in DBPro. In C++ it is the bitwise XOR operator.

[b]
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 19th Aug 2011 00:37
Ha! I was RIGHT! I knew it! I actually checked the help files just after posting and was about to come back and say I was right but my stupid internet crashed and wouldn't go again.

~~ is the bitwise XOR in DBPro.

Clonkex

Hassan
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2009
Location: <script> alert(1); </script>
Posted: 19th Aug 2011 01:55 Edited at: 19th Aug 2011 01:59
*fail* , thought it was like the C++ operator, sorry

Quote: "Drat! I knew I'd get it wrong!"

Quote: "Ha! I was RIGHT! I knew it!"

you know everything! (by the way, no offense , just kidding =p)

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 19th Aug 2011 03:54
Quote: "you know everything!"


Lol!

Quote: "(by the way, no offense, just kidding =p)"


No need for anyone to worry about offending me, I am completely un-offendable

So are you really in Iraq?

Clonkex

Hassan
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2009
Location: <script> alert(1); </script>
Posted: 19th Aug 2011 15:14
I'm from Iraq but i don't live there, I live in Qatar, sadly, if i was there i wouldn't have had the chance to be on this forum or any other :s

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 22nd Aug 2011 08:47
Quote: "I live in Qatar, sadly, if i was there i wouldn't have had the chance to be on this forum or any other :s"


Why, can you not use this forum in Iraq?

Clonkex

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 22nd Aug 2011 09:52
That's kinda exactly what he said

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 22nd Aug 2011 10:45
Quote: "That's kinda exactly what he said"


Oops. No, what I meant was is it not possible to use the forum in Iraq or was there some other reason. (like maybe he only discovered TGC existed when he moved to Qatar).

Clonkex

Hassan
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th May 2009
Location: <script> alert(1); </script>
Posted: 22nd Aug 2011 16:18 Edited at: 22nd Aug 2011 16:21
actually net connection is like, only a few hours a day available, and electricity is also only a few hours available, so you will need to be lucky that both of them comes together so you can use the internet =)

also - i think we went too far offtopic :s

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 23rd Aug 2011 01:32
Quote: "actually net connection is like, only a few hours a day available, and electricity is also only a few hours available, so you will need to be lucky that both of them comes together so you can use the internet =)"


Oh. That sounds very annoying.

Quote: "also - i think we went too far offtopic :s"


Yes, well if SH4773R would upload the latest version of his Paradox engine we wouldn't need to talk about other stuff

Clonkex

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 23rd Aug 2011 04:29
sorry about that but I have been working on some other important stuff (that might get me some good pay )
ill get back on PE when I finish the stuff im working on.

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 23rd Aug 2011 05:07
Quote: "ill get back on PE when I finish the stuff im working on."


That's ok. I'm still waiting for a reply from TGC about a plugin I wrote that I'm hoping to sell via their website. It's called Dark Resource.

Clonkex

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 23rd Aug 2011 09:33
What does Dark Resource do exactly?

kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 23rd Aug 2011 17:02
Whuah.

Glad you still work on it, the results are lovely

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 24th Aug 2011 00:29
Well....

It's a bit hard to explain in this post, so I will attach one of the help files that explains it properly. Actually, since they're so small, I am attaching ALL of the help files. That way you can see exactly what it is.

Clonkex

Attachments

Login to view attachments
SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 29th Aug 2011 05:17
Quote: "Well....

It's a bit hard to explain in this post, so I will attach one of the help files that explains it properly. Actually, since they're so small, I am attaching ALL of the help files. That way you can see exactly what it is.

Clonkex"


Sorry for the late reply, that plugin looks good, nice job
new demo coming very, very soon...

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 29th Aug 2011 07:47
Quote: "Sorry for the late reply"


Perfectly all right.

Quote: "that plugin looks good, nice job"


Thanks

Quote: "new demo coming very, very soon..."


Yay! Will download as soon as released!

Clonkex

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 29th Aug 2011 20:03 Edited at: 29th Aug 2011 20:10
Here is the change log and the new demo
And no you cannot walk upstairs



Attachments

Login to view attachments
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 00:04 Edited at: 30th Aug 2011 00:13
Quote: "Here is the change log and the new demo"


Cool. Downloading now...

EDIT: The player is too slow, too wide, and can't jump or go up stairs, but it looks great. You should concentrate less on graphics and more on the engine part (collision, movement, physics, etc).

Clonkex

kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 00:12 Edited at: 30th Aug 2011 00:13
Quote: "-Removed Advanced lighting (too slow)
-Removed Newton Physics (temporary)"


Awww..


Quote: "-Added Sparky's Collision DLL
-Added player controller
-Added Anisotropy (16x)
-Added AntiAlaising (18x)
-Enabled VSYNC
-Added Poly Counter
-Added TBM
-New Map
-Added Realtime Occlusion Culling (Dynamic Objects only)
-Enabled xlook
-Added veiw bobing
"





... Must... test... nooow....

www.kamacdev.wordpress.com
SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 01:35
Quote: "The player is too slow, too wide"

To slow? to wide? He is a little overweight and now you have hurt his feelings

Ill fix that stuff

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 05:15
Quote: "He is a little overweight and now you have hurt his feelings"


Lol I didn't say fat, now, did I?

Quote: "Ill fix that stuff"


Good.

Clonkex

Fluffy Rabbit
User Banned
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 12:06
Quote: "-Added AntiAlaising (18x)"


Really?
kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 14:15
Wow

The effects of your work are pretty cool! (just tested)

www.kamacdev.wordpress.com ~ My developer blog
Red Eye
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2008
Location:
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 15:36
Quote: "Really?"


Probably meant 8x. Or 16x with epic card.

Good job so far on the engine!

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 30th Aug 2011 17:25 Edited at: 31st Aug 2011 00:26


this is my setup screen line

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 31st Aug 2011 00:17
I just had a thought. Will the Paradox Engine have an editor, or will it just be a customizable source code?

Clonkex

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 31st Aug 2011 00:25
Quote: "I just had a thought. Will the Paradox Engine have an editor, or will it just be a customizable source code?"


There at release their will likely not be an editor with it, I use mapscape and it works way better then any editor I could make it will not have customizable source but it will have scripts

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 31st Aug 2011 01:02
Is mapscape a free program?

Clonkex

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 31st Aug 2011 04:03 Edited at: 31st Aug 2011 04:04
Yep you can grab it on evolved's site

Mr Bigglesworth
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 31st Aug 2011 05:07
Quote: "this is my setup screen line"

You can have a max of x16 anti-aliasing for DirectX9, so by setting it to x18 is pointless, it will just default it to x16
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 31st Aug 2011 06:24
Quote: "Yep you can grab it on evolved's site"


I will as soon as my internet download limit is reset on the 10th next month. It's currently shaped to about 5-10 kilobytes a second - incredibly slow.

Clonkex

kamac
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location: Poland
Posted: 31st Aug 2011 22:41
Quote: "SH4773R"


You're making good progress on your engine, how it comes you didn't get a bit bored of it after so much time ?

http://www.kamacdev.wordpress.com ~ My developer blog, mind paying a visit ?
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 1st Sep 2011 00:23
Quote: "how it comes you didn't get a bit bored of it after so much time?"


Dogged determination

Clonkex

P.S. The phrase is "how come", not "how it comes".

spudnick
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Nov 2010
Location:
Posted: 1st Sep 2011 01:45
Ok, another game engine, kewl

Can you screen shot the editor and features of how you would use it, also what make this an iseal engine to uses, does it have a built in terrain editor,

what model formats can you use, or is it just .X files only
what physic engine are you using, Ie Nvidia or Bullet,as i would prefer to use bullet as its free and has more hardware support.

Have a look here and you can see how better Bullet is
http://bulletphysics.org/wordpress/

will it suport Multiplayer via TCP/IP

so what would be the benefits of using this engine compared to others.

Thanks

I'am not GOD but i can make you see again by taking my fingers out of your eyes and i can make you walk again by taking your beer away, but if you take my beer you will not walk again
Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 1st Sep 2011 03:16 Edited at: 1st Sep 2011 03:18
Quote: "Can you screen shot the editor and features of how you would use it, also what make this an iseal engine to uses, does it have a built in terrain editor,"


Actually Paradox Engine has no editor whatsoever. The level editor SH4773R is using is MapScape, free to download here.

Quote: "what model formats can you use, or is it just .X files only"


In theory it supports any format that DBPro supports.

Quote: "what physic engine are you using, Ie Nvidia or Bullet,as i would prefer to use bullet as its free and has more hardware support."


The engine is written in DBPro, and as far as I know there is no wrapper for Bullet for DBPro. Actually I am writing one right now. Expect to see it in the WIP forum soon.

Quote: "Have a look here and you can see how better Bullet is"


And that is why I am writing a wrapper for it. It's free, fast, powerful, hardware-independent, and most of all, easy to use!

Quote: "will it suport Multiplayer via TCP/IP"


As far as I know there is no multiplayer support yet.

Quote: "so what would be the benefits of using this engine compared to others."


So far, only the nice shaders. It has no particularly outstanding features.

Sorry for answering for you, SH4773R, but I figured I'd save you some time so you can continue working on it.

Clonkex

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 1st Sep 2011 04:07
Quote: "Sorry for answering for you, SH4773R, but I figured I'd save you some time so you can continue working on it. "


No need to apologize! You hit all that spot on Thanks!

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 1st Sep 2011 08:34 Edited at: 1st Sep 2011 08:40
Quote: "No need to apologize! You hit all that spot on"


That's good. It shows I actually do know stuff about your engine even if I do think it's currently useless

Clonkex

P.S. It would seem less useless if you could at least jump - that's one of the most basic things for an FPS engine, and it makes it seem like nothing's actually been done on this engine because you can't.

SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 1st Sep 2011 09:38
The main reason that im not working on collision right now is I plan to use a physics wrapper so I would be wasting my time. Hurry up on bullet wrapper!

swissolo
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2010
Location:
Posted: 2nd Sep 2011 23:15
I usually force 32x AA on my graphics card
So yep, the player's epicly slow, probably due to his weight problem. Slim em' up a bit and he'll be fine.

swis
No, it's not pokemon.
Joined: Tues Dec 16th 2008
SH4773R
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Jan 2010
Location: AMERICA!!!
Posted: 3rd Sep 2011 04:10
I'v forced him to attend 24-Hour fitness 3 times a day for the past few weeks (he has nothing better to do.) and now he is a lot more quick on his feet

Clonkex
Forum Vice President
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th May 2010
Location: Northern Tablelands, NSW, Australia
Posted: 12th Sep 2011 00:34
Quote: "Hurry up on bullet wrapper!"


Ok, I will post the preliminary version as a WIP post and see what people want me to work on the most. It's nowhere near finished but it's usable and will allow people to see what I've done so far and also get me working again I was taking a break from it

Clonkex

NickH
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 19th May 2008
Location: Nova Prospekt, North Yorks, UK
Posted: 25th Oct 2011 14:03
This looks very nice. I get 60fps, but it's still not smooth when looking around and moving. I have a 120hz monitor and an ATI4580. I saw you said you'd enabled vsync so I'm guessing that was just the speed of my graphics card and not my monitor. It seems very jerky for some reason. Is this just me?

Keep up the good work!

IlluminatedFX.com
For web design and graphic design services

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2023-01-31 14:49:26
Your offset time is: 2023-01-31 14:49:26