Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Third Person/Player Body/Topdown Shooter + Tons More Script Pack!

Author
Message
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 10th Mar 2012 07:12
@Section 812
Okay thanks. I can't believe I never thought of it

-TZK

Section 812
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Feb 2008
Location:
Posted: 10th Mar 2012 07:24
Your welcome, If I come up with something better I'll post
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 10th Mar 2012 07:27
@Section 812
Okay, thanks again.

-TZK

The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 10th Mar 2012 07:55
Attached is my character animation code document, if someone wants to use it in their script. It includes animation code for:
WASD Movement
WASD\UpDownLeftRight Movement

Have fun with this guys. It is my 100% completed animation stuff that I have been working on for a LONG time. Animations are:
Walking
Running
Weapon Walking
Weapon Running
Weapon Strafing
Strafing
Jumping
Swimming
Falling
Weapon Jumping
Weapon Swimming
Weapon Falling
Crouching

This has not been implemented into the latest alpha release of the pack yet.

-TZK

Attachments

Login to view attachments
NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 10th Mar 2012 18:08 Edited at: 10th Mar 2012 20:15
Wow TZK amazing again thanks for your hard work! can't wait till this pack is bug free.

EDIT: so I turned off skybox as you already discovered that fixes it. But when I turn it off everything looks wierd and disoriented.

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
maxiqueen123
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th May 2009
Location:
Posted: 10th Mar 2012 23:13
melee weapons ?

and normal weapons dont work or i do it wrong

Your signature has been erased by a mod - Please reduce it to 600x120 maximum size.
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 01:41 Edited at: 11th Mar 2012 01:47
@maxiqueen123
Yes, I am aware of the weapons not working, I have no idea how to use the 'useweapon' command. I took a look at the Silent Hill 3rd person, and it uses pretty much the same gun code, yet it works perfect. If anyone could help me get this command to work it would be greatly appreciated. As for melee weapons, I don't know, I'll have a look later and see if I can put it in.

@NIlooc223
Yes, it looks distorted because there is nothing there, so the game doesn't know what to render outside of the segments. So it just renders whatever was last in view. Thus giving the effect. This is also the reason that turning off the skybox fixes the bug.

EDIT: I've just noticed, the topdown shooter seems to be my most popular script

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 02:57
TZK: Iv'e been learning so much stuff from you the top down shooter is the most popular because its never been done in fpsc vanilla.

Also with the 3rd person the actuale player can float through objects and segments therefore losing sight of the character your controling. is there a way to apply collision to the acctual player or "camera"?

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 03:01
@NIlooc223
Yes, I myself have noticed this, but I don't think there's a way to fix it yet. I'll have to look at some of the commands. But I don't recall one that does this. I may ask SC if he can implement one, it probably wouldn't get integrated into 119 though, this pack probably won't be completed until V120 anyway, because SC has some commands in that, which will fix most of the bugs so far.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 03:34
TZK: Well I'm looking forward to this pack being completed and I will be testing it out on every update.

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 03:44 Edited at: 11th Mar 2012 03:54
I've attached the completed player body and third person toggle script if you wanna try it
you press P to toggle.
designed for stock wehrmacht. Latest animation code not yet implemented.

EDIT: Release 4 coming soon, just testing the scripts now. New stuff is:

Animations for player death
Updated to latest animation code

-TZK

Attachments

Login to view attachments
NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 04:14 Edited at: 11th Mar 2012 04:19
Downloading will test soon TZK

EDIT: I tested that script on a few different characters and it worked perfect!

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 04:25
@NIlooc223
Really? wow, I didn't know that all the stock characters had the same limb numbers!

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 04:31
TZK: Yep infact I also used one from the viral outbreak pack! it changes there animations though but it still works.

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 04:31
Release 4 is out!

* All scripts now use latest animation code
* All scripts contain additional code for player death
* Added third person toggle
* All scripts renamed
* Scripts now located in scriptbank\TZK\Mega Script Pack

-TZK

sic1ne
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Sep 2010
Location:
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 04:34
for some reason none of the scripts work for me ive tried a test game over and over i cant get any of them to work i placed all the scripts in triggerzones and nothing happens?

The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 04:35 Edited at: 11th Mar 2012 04:38
@sic1ne
Read the first post completely, you need 1.19 Beta 9 (r605) or higher to use the scripts. If you have done that and they still don't work, then I have no idea at all
EDIT: WHOOPS, I typed 1.18 beta 9 instead of 1.19 beta 9. fixed.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 04:36
sicne you place it in the characters main script section

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
sic1ne
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Sep 2010
Location:
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 04:53
@ the zombie killer i am running beta 1.19... im a tad bit confused sorry to bother you ok so i take the stock wehrmacht and place any of the 3 scripts you gave me tptoggle,thirdperson,playerbody in the main ai section of the wehrmacht then what?do i just place my start marker and load a test game or no start marker? and since the start marker is us the character itself that we play as how does placing this script in the wehrmacht make me 3rd person?

The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 04:56
@sic1ne
You need a start marker as well, when using the scripts, the start marker is basically just where you want to start. So, place a start marker, and then the wehrmacht (doesn't have to be wehrmacht by the way anymore) can go anywhere. But you will always spawn at the marker. The script makes it third person by changing the camera offsets and making the entity rotate etc.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 04:58
TZK: The animations are very nice. Testing more of it still. Also what if you made a perfectly black skybox would this do anything?

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:00
@NIlooc223
Nope, since a black skybox would just have the seizure effect, except it wouldn't blank to a sky, it would blank to black.

-TZK

sic1ne
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Sep 2010
Location:
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:02 Edited at: 11th Mar 2012 05:02
thanks for the help now i understand how you got the 3rd person view!! but 4 some reason none of the scripts will work for me i attached the script and when i spawn the character is standing there and im not in third person lol ill keep trying thanks for your help theese are awsome scripts dude if i could just get them to work for me hahah nice work!!

The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:03
@sic1ne
Okay then, try installing this into your fpscreator folder: https://forumfiles.thegamecreators.com/download/2324247
That is the fpsc version I'm using.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:06
TZK: Oh I see...there must be a way around this.

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:07
@NIlooc223
Hm, it's frustrating isn't it.

-TZK

sic1ne
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Sep 2010
Location:
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:16
i have a crazy glitch going on right now lol im going to try to post a video of it i attached the toggle script to the wehrmacht and loaded the game i wasnt in 3rd person mode at all but if i hit w a s or d on the keyboard i was able to move the wehrmacht character left right and backwards lol so i had full controll of him almost if i used thoose keys but i was still in first person mode? haha thats not normal is it?

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:18
did you update to beta 9 cause I had that issue on beta 8

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:18 Edited at: 11th Mar 2012 05:19
@sic1ne
Actually, yes that is normal, what you are experiencing is the rotation bug, I haven't finished setting up the camera rotation, so for now the only way for it to work 100% perfect is for you to look at the entity directly. The only scripts that are working almost perfect for me right now are the topdown shooter and the third person toggle. And even then, the topdown shooter has one show-stopping bug. If the character doesn't actually move though and just animates, then yes, you have an abnormal bug happening.

-TZK

sic1ne
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Sep 2010
Location:
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:23
ahhaa gotcha pretty cool so far dude keep up the hard work and thanks for the scripts!!! ps: if you need any music for your game dont hesitate to ask

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:27
Sorry for double post but with this third person pack you can pull off sky diving. all you have to do is turn him on his stomach and when you fall he does that or when you jump.



Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:28 Edited at: 11th Mar 2012 05:29
oops double post

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:35 Edited at: 11th Mar 2012 05:40
@NIlooc223
lol, that's cool. How 'bout a video to showcase it
*cough*firstpostvideo*cough*

@sic1ne
Quote: "ps: if you need any music for your game dont hesitate to ask"

I'm currently not using FPSC to make a game, since I use FPSC free, but I am making a topdown zombie shooter in game maker. But I haven't really gotten far enough for any need for music at the moment, but when you're a developer you've gotta take every chance you get. How about some atmospheric stuff?

-TZK

sic1ne
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Sep 2010
Location:
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:44
shure i could do that for you no problem dude!! wow how did you get so good at scripting you dont even have a full copy of fpsc wow lol

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:45
TZK: So for the skybox fix this is what I was thinking...

turn off the actual skybox in the setup.ini

then get the .x model of the skybox and turn it into an fpsc entity.

put it in game so it covers all sides.

This makes it appear as if you still have a real skybox but you will not get the leaking issue. Do you think this would work?

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:49 Edited at: 11th Mar 2012 05:50
@NIlooc223
Yeah, I guess it could, but I don't think skyboxes are models, I thought in FPSC they were 2D like in doom 1 and 2, hang on I'll check.
EDIT: Whatta ya know, they are models, I'll try and see if it works now, but I think the problem is not the skybox itself, but the segments constantly disappearing and re-appearing.

@sic1ne
Practice, lots of practice.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:53 Edited at: 11th Mar 2012 05:55
TZK: Well we will see... I'm working on sky diving at the moment hope my parachute works

EDIT: is there a way to change the falling speed? im falling so fast the character begins to get choppy.

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:58 Edited at: 11th Mar 2012 06:01
@NIlooc223
Haha lol. The skybox model is waaay too small to load in, so I'll try another method: disable culling.
EDIT: Nope.avi, all that solution does is cause lag.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 05:59
TZK: haha well it was worth a shot

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 06:02
@NIlooc223
Yeah, and when I said small, I meant small, it's smaller than the wehrmacht's hand lol.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 06:03
TZK: Wow thats small. What does culling exactly do?

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 06:06
@NIlooc223
Culling hides whatever isn't in the player's view, thus making so that FPSC doesn't need to render as much of the world, thus massively reducing lag. It made one of my levels go from 12FPS to 56FPS.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 06:08
TZK: Ah I see. I'm curious if multiplayer would work with these scripts... have a top down death match

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 06:16
@NIlooc223
It might, but I don't think you can use scripts in multiplayer, since there are no dynamic entities, but if you could somehow apply it to a character, it may (note: MAY) work. The script would probably require some modification though.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 06:19
TZK: I did not know this as I have never used the multiplayer. Why do they not update it so you can use scipts? that puts serious limits to multiplayer with no scripts.

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 06:23
@NIlooc223
The same thing that I've always thought. I guess it's because of how hard it is to synch all the other players' movements and stuff etc, while performing a script action too. I think there was a trick to getting scripts into multiplayer though, it had something to do with health packs. I know that you can change the death scripts in multiplayer to get ragdoll though.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 06:26 Edited at: 11th Mar 2012 06:33
TZK: I'll see if I can get third person in multiplayer or not.

EDIT: Ok so I'm thinking if you rewrite the script so you can make the health pack be the "player" so the player (health pack) is tied to the character. Does this sound possible?

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 06:44
Sorry for double post...

The possibility to have third person in multiplayer would not work because of collion issues unless those are worked out its a hopeless idea

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks
The Zombie Killer
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Mar 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 06:51
@NIlooc223
Oh well, it doesn't matter. I don't see many online FPSC games anyway.

-TZK

NIlooc223
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Aug 2010
Location: Heaven
Posted: 11th Mar 2012 06:52
TZK: Thats because its to hard to make any with fpsc.

Your signature has been erased by a mod - no affiliate links thanks

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-12-01 13:50:12
Your offset time is: 2022-12-01 13:50:12