Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Windows / VS2010 T2 Menuing system with GetSpriteHit

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Jul 2012 23:57 Edited at: 2nd Jul 2012 01:56
Hello!

Warning : I am new to VS 2010 and C++ so while I am doing my best to make things clean and easy to read if I am doing things wrong please dont be afraid to point them out I'm quite glad to correct my ways.

I am trying to lay down a menu system using the GetSpriteHit() function to determine which button the user clicked on and then call the function that runs that menu.

The program compiles, splash screen loads. MainMenu loads; some times I get a regular pointer, some times I get a spinning "busy" icon (I'm on win7 so its a circular one) but I can not click on my menu button; and even if I do the spinning just keeps going and nothing happens.

I assume I'm handling the C code wrong to pass to the PlayMenu ?

One extra question; I had to modify the template.h file to include the extra function names or the compiler kept complaining that function did not exist in the app ? Is this the right way to do it ?

Thanks in advance!
Hodgey
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 2nd Jul 2012 10:35
I'm not C++ pro either but I'll see what I can do.

One of the problems might be that you're creating the same sprite over again but not deleting it. E.g I'm not sure how AppGameKit handles this:

agk::CreateSprite(501, 501);
agk::CreateSprite(501, 502);

i.e How does AppGameKit handle creating the same sprite again without deleting it? To be safe, you could check for its existence before creating the sprite e.g