Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Should I choose AGK or AGK + Dark Basic?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
A big Hello to all game creators!

My question might seem a bit strange, but since I am a newbie in AppGameKit I thought this is the best place to ask.

I want to make a couple of simple 2D games and I am targeting 3 platforms primarily: iOS, Android and Windows PC.

Tier 1 perfectly fits my needs for covering these 3 platforms. I do however have a small question:

If I am correct, AppGameKit allows you to handle your game's resolution only once (when setting up your app initially). However, if I publish for Windows also, I would like my app to allow the user to change (from settings menu) the resolution from a small windowed mode, either to a bigger one, or to a full-screen one.

So I was wondering if I could do that in AppGameKit?

Otherwise, should I use AppGameKit for the iOS and Android ports of my games, while I use Dark BASIC for the PC port?

Please note that I only have knowledge of the BASIC language(s) syntax (that's why I made a tier 1 choice) and I wouldn't like to start getting involved with tier 2. It would be easier to use Dark BASIC in parallel with AGK.

Thank you for your patience reading this.
Digital Awakening
AGK Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Jul 2012 01:34
Not sure about your resolution question.

But I must warn you that AppGameKit doesn't have all the features that DBP have and vice versa. Also the commands and syntax is slightly different. Porting should be straight forward but you still have to go through your code line by line.

MarcoBruti
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 21st Jul 2012 15:16
Only to give you a hint.