Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / Start Screen Button Help

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
I want to know if there is anyway you could have an image that works like a button. If you could give some sample code with to help explain I would appreciate it very much. I am a noob when it comes to agk so if there was some article you found that helped you out when you first start a would also appreciate.
Hodgey
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 27th Sep 2012 01:26
AGK has built in button commands which automises most of the process.

Scroll down to "Universal - Button" and make special note of the SetVirtualButtomImageUp() and SetVirtualButtonImageDown() commands.

Mobiius
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Sep 2012 14:57
Or you could use the image as a sprite and check for a button press with the following:

GetPointerReleased() is one when, you guessed it, the mouse button, or screen touch is released.

GetSpriteHitTest() checks if the coordinates are within the bounds of a sprite.

I use this in my UI engine and it works very nicely.

I live for video games! (And beers, and football, and cars!)
See what I live for here: [url]http:\\www.TeamDefiant.co.uk[/url]
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 28th Sep 2012 15:07
The main advantage of the built in commands is that by pressing a "virtualButton" the pointer is disabled so you don't get a click registered when the user clicks on a button.

Using sprites is better when you want to define the shape of your button a little better. I tend to use my own pointer UDT so I can set the pointer state manually when one of my sprite buttons is pressed.

this.mess = abs(sin(times#))
MarcoBruti