Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Geek Culture / What is your story?

Author
Valued Member
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th May 2016 11:31
I just love AGK2 I started with DarkBASIC, then went on to DarkBASIC Professional (which I still use as I do not want to convert all of my tools made in DBPro), and now, finally I am using AGK2 for the games themselves.

I have always loved digital games since early childhood. I played a lot, but then some day, I found out just exactly that blue screen on the C64 was for, not just loading games, it was a programming prompt. I started learning programming on my C64, never got any good at it back then, but I got a taste for making games. It has been my dream to make games ever since. As an adult, I made a decision, to go all in on learning to program and develop games.

In the beginning, I wanted to make big games like Morrowind, but slowly, I realised that I knew too little about game development and programming, so my games slowly got smaller and smaller scopes and my programming experience grew. Now, I can finally make real games. My first release is getting closer to release than anything else I ever made. I am so happy that I ended up with AGK2 for several reasons. I can use BASIC which is easy, I can convert important stuff to C++, I can release one source code on many platforms easily. Now even Raspberry Pi is supported which is great, I can now run a small, power efficient test server and I can even release my game on Raspberry Pi, at some point It would be great with PS and Xbox support as well, at some point I am living my dream

What is your story?
13/0
BatVink
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 15th May 2016 12:42