Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

3 Dimensional Chat / [Feature request] It is to hard to create a mesh during runtime in AGK

Author
Message
TGC_User
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2016
Location:
Posted: 25th Mar 2018 19:07
I have used unity before and to create a mesh there are a few steps to this in unity:
1. Say where you need to place the vertices
2. Say which ones should be connected
And then you have a face/mesh.

However AppGameKit doesn't seem to support this.
It does have memblocks: https://www.appgamekit.com/documentation/Reference/Memblock.htm
But it seems different and over complicated. I tried understanding it but couldn't find anything to understand how it works using tier 2.

This is how i created a mesh in Unity:
https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/Example-CreatingaBillboardPlane.html
It was super easy to to understand, however i don't prefer using unity for multiple reasons.

Could AppGameKit get somethings like this? It opens a world of new possibilities.
Procedural generated terrain.
Deforming meshes and such.
Many thanks
Phaelax
DBPro Master
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 25th Mar 2018 22:53
Quote: "AppGameKit doesn't seem to support this."

Quote: "it seems different"


Well, it's two different products so yea. If AGK's mesh format is the same as DBP, then shared vertices need duplicated. So in your example that showed a quad defined by 4 points, you'd have 6 in AppGameKit, 3 for each poly and yes two of the verts will have the same coordinates as others.
Tiled TMX Importer V.2
XML Parser V.2
Base64 Encoder/Decoder
Purple Token - Free online hi-score database
Legend of Zelda

"I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended." - Linus Torvalds
TGC_User
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2016
Location:
Posted: 26th Mar 2018 01:34
I never used DBP. That seems really inefficient i never understood how exactly memblocks work.
Thats my problem its different from how most engine do it. And i couldn't find any guides on how to use it.
AGK is different from unity yes. But the was unity does it is much more common.
TheComet
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Oct 2007
Location: I`m under ur bridge eating ur goatz.
Posted: 26th Mar 2018 13:06
There's an example on how to use memblocks in AGK: https://www.appgamekit.com/documentation/Reference/Memblock/CreateObjectFromMeshMemblock.htm
"Jeb Bush is a big fat mistake" -- Donald Trump
https://vt.tumblr.com/tumblr_o2rvwdLLSF1rmjly4.mp4
TGC_User
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2016
Location:
Posted: 26th Mar 2018 13:40
Problem is that it is for basic and isn't as easy as i thought converting it over to C++
Phaelax
DBPro Master
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Apr 2003
Location: Metropia
Posted: 30th Mar 2018 16:29
Why not? It's basically calling the same commands in C++
Tiled TMX Importer V.2
XML Parser V.2
Base64 Encoder/Decoder
Purple Token - Free online hi-score database
Legend of Zelda

"I like offending people, because I think people who get offended should be offended." - Linus Torvalds
TGC_User
8
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Feb 2016
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2018 02:46
So i converted the easy part of the code but cant dont know how to convert the vertex part

Jack
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 20th Jul 2018 05:33
* Create a float array called Vertex
* Create a integer array called Color
* c++ for loop with quite diffrent syntax
* add agk:: and a semicolon to all other commands


you can also use c++ structs for this, in order to name the array content, but that is optional,

everything in Tier1 has some kind of representation in c++
Search for the explicit task, how to manage it in c++

[/url]

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-04-24 01:34:52
Your offset time is: 2024-04-24 01:34:52