Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / Hello everyone, I made pong.

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 23rd Jun 2018 16:50 Edited at: 24th Jun 2018 00:04
Hi guys my name is Thomas and I'm new to AppGameKit.

I just made what I think is a working version of Pong. If anyone would like to look at the code and suggest ways for me to improve that would be most helpful. I've not done any programming before besides the original darkbasic when I was 14! It's my new hobby and I'm really enjoying the challenge.

I'm sure everything i've done is probably the worst way to do it, I look forward to any criticisms and learning opportunities.

Thanks for having me And thanks for making a great trial version of AppGameKit free to use
My next thing will be to try and make a space invaders style game.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
janbo
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jun 2018 17:25
Welcome,
I did not test the game but I see, you managed to use GoSub and it still looks clean, although in general its a better idea to use functions instead.
And instead of checking ballpath every time, you could change the direction of the ball directly: ballposx=ballposx+balldirx

Nevertheless I think you did a good job.
Thomas John Gorham
Years of Service
User Offline
Thanks.

What's the advantage of a function over gosub? Is this really dumb question?
Carharttguy
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 25th Jun 2018 11:38
Hi Thomas

That's not a dumb question at all. The main difference is that a function can return a value (or not). And with a function, you ALWAYs return to the calling line and proceed from there. (So as a label with a return statement)