Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / Full Screen Game Launcher with Settings Page

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: FPSC Multiplayer Games
Posted: 13th Jul 2019 05:04 Edited at: 13th Jul 2019 05:25
Oh no! Not another game launcher!

I started playing with this idea because of a recent post about an in-game options sub-menu. Of course we can only have settings for those things which FPSC allows us to change. Stuff like Anti-Aliasing, Particle Effects and Shadows probably isn't going to happen. So I wanted to create a launcher that allowed for adjusting those things which could be change, and looked like it was a part of the game.

The start screen plays a video (most any video type) and has 4 option buttons: play, settings, website and exit.

The play button seamlessly loads the FPSC Game Menu...

and the game loads normally. All the screens can match design and layout for that integrated look. These could use more flair but I just wanted to prove the concept.

The settings screen is complete and working with the exception of the graphics slider. I haven't worked out the exact settings yet and I may have to change or replace that, but the rest is complete and working. The key mapper was especially fun to do. ha!

I will continue to refine it because I'm retired and it keeps me busy. Right now it's all hard coded. I don't know that I'll create an editor or config type file to make it an end-user configurable app, but if there is anyone with a completed game that would like a customized version, we can talk about it.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
ScooT9
Years of Service
User Offline
Playing: Half-Life: WAR
Posted: 13th Jul 2019 09:04