Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Classic Chat / [STICKY] AppGameKit Version 2019.12.16

Author
Message
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Dec 2019 14:26
I've uploaded a new version to Steam and the TGC downloads area with the following changes

* Fixed CopyNetworkMessage failing to copy messages that were created locally
* Added GetRendererName to return "OpenGL" on desktop platforms and "OpenGLES" on mobile platforms
* Added GetNetworkClientIP to return the IP address of a network client
* Added GetNetworkServerIP to return the IP address of the server
* Fixed edit boxes not being selectable if FixEditBoxToScreen and SetViewOffset are used
* Reverted fix to GetSpriteHitTest and GetSpriteHit which changed previous functionality, use the ScreenToWorld commands when using SetViewOffset instead
* Added commands to get the state of the fourth and fifth mouse buttons on Windows if available

Let me know if you have any problems
Amon
5
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th May 2014
Location: Shropshire, United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Dec 2019 14:30
Cool. Waiting for studio update but this is still a nice fix release. Especially the SetViewOffset. Cheers
Win 10 Pro - AMD RYZEN 7 3800X Octacore - 16GB DDR4 - RTX 2080TI 11GB
Kevin Cross
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posted: 16th Dec 2019 16:50
Is this likely to work on older Macs?
OryUI - A WIP AGK2 UI Framework
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Dec 2019 17:02
Quote: "Is this likely to work on older Macs?"

I updated XCode again, so there's a chance, but I don't know.
fubarpk
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 16th Dec 2019 17:23
Thanks
fubarpk
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
Kevin Cross
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posted: 16th Dec 2019 17:32
Thank you. I'll give it a go tonight
OryUI - A WIP AGK2 UI Framework
AliceSim1
1
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Oct 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posted: 16th Dec 2019 18:29
Gracias! Sigan desarrollando AppGameKit!
Kevin Cross
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 15th Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posted: 16th Dec 2019 20:49
Same issue as before. Don't worry though. I can still use an older version for now.

Check with the developer to make sure AGK2.2019.12.16 works with this version of macOS. You may need to reinstall the application. Be sure to install any available updates for the application and macOS.
OryUI - A WIP AGK2 UI Framework
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Dec 2019 23:08
Ok, thanks for letting me know. Does the AppGameKit Player app work?
DavidAGK
AGK Developer
6
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jan 2014
Location:
Posted: 21st Dec 2019 21:41
Great, thanks for the update.
Using Tier 1 AppGameKit V2
Started coding with AMOS (Thanks Francois Lionet)
Jack
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Oct 2004
Location: [Germany]
Posted: 24th Dec 2019 13:59
Thank you Paul Great fix!

btw, I noticed a missing UDP byte to message command, does only work for strings/ ints - is this intended? For most work, this is no problem at all,
but I could release fully functioning ArtNet lib for AppGameKit in order to control various stage lights on a professional scale when the byte to udp message command is added

It works even now, but Is limited to a specific package length

[/url]

Moderator has changed your signature - max size of all images is 600x120px this includes multiple images grouped together.
Bengismo
2
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Nov 2017
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posted: 26th Dec 2019 20:29
Hi Jack

I have an AppGameKit Artnet library which uses memblocks to store the entire packet so its easier to make byte changes to individual bytes. When making up a network packet to send the minimum size is a 4 byte int (as you know!) or use a string that will autoterminate on a 0 value so thats not much use.



I use it to control lighting effects across multiple DMX universes and have not had a problem send packets to 40+ DMX lights via a network. The artnet packet as two bytes to control how much data follows and so if they are set correctly then only the data bytes that are valid are set and if extra bytes appear in the UDP packet after the stated length then they tend to be ignored by actual art net hardware. So all the uDP packet sizes are rounded up to nearest 4 bytes.

This isnt as bad as it sounds really as the original Artnet UDP packet defined only even number of data bytes (for 16bit hardware) so the most number of additional bytes sent is only ever 2, and like I said, most hard ware just ignores data after the defined length sent in the packet. Ive not had any problems myself with the extra 2 bytes being sent but Ive only really tried a few manufacturers of artnet hardware.

I must admit...having a AddNetworkMessageByte() command would be nice though. I only used memblocks in my code above to make packing bytes easier
Virtual Nomad
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area, USA
Posted: 6th Jan 2020 00:34 Edited at: 6th Jan 2020 00:35
The Online Help page for Create3DPhysicsStaticPlane is currently missing:
https://www.appgamekit.com/documentation/Reference/3DPhysics/Create3DPhysicsStaticPlane.htm.

Current Offline version attached.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
fubarpk
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 14th Jan 2020 18:28 Edited at: 15th Jan 2020 06:53
not sure why but 512 * 512 app icons used to work now no matter what size I use
I get this error and AppGameKit 2019.12.16 then crashes.
If I don't use any app or notification icons it compiles fine

that's exporting to an APK issue

Got it working but its only a problem with classic and only when you use an icon.png
it works fine in studio so I still think its fixable. My workaround was to move my agk
folder to the root directory
MerryChristmas Everyone
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Paul Johnston
TGC Developer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 16th Jan 2020 15:49
AddNetworkMessageByte and GetNetworkMessageByte have been added for the next version

Quote: "The Online Help page for Create3DPhysicsStaticPlane is currently missing"

Thanks, this should now be fixed

Quote: "not sure why but 512 * 512 app icons used to work now no matter what size I use "

I'm not sure why that would happen. There is setting in the Windows 10 privacy section that can disable access to the documents folder, but if that was the cause then I would expect the export to fail even without the icon. When you get the message, and before clicking ok, does the "build_tmp/resOrig/drawable-xxxhdpi" folder exist at that location? The folder will be deleted at the end of the export process.
fubarpk
Moderator
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide
Posted: 16th Jan 2020 19:04
Thanks paul, I moved the folder hence the creation folder, its a strange behaviour as it only effects when I use an icon
and hence was unsure how a permission thing could be an issue. but the main thing I have it working for now creating
elsewhere
MerryChristmas Everyone
fubarpk on Itch...………...https://fubarpk.itch.io/
fubarpk on googleplay..https://play.google.com/store/apps/developer?id=fubarpk
funkyChris
User Offline
Joined: 25th Jan 2020
Location:
Posted: 25th Jan 2020 16:45
For your information, the Steam version of AppGameKit Classic that is on sale on Steam right now doesn't even start on either OSX 11 or OSX 13.
The problem is that on the Steam page, the system requirements are written as "Minimum : Mountain Lion 10.8 or better - Recommanded : Mountain Lion 10.9 or better".
So I just bought AppGameKit, the Bumper Pack Bundle, the Game Pack 2 and the Visual Editor yesterday because they were on sale, following the Steam system requirements, and now I find I can't use them.

I think it may be a problem if Steam advertise some system requirements and the reality is different.

Did you find a workaround?

Attachments

Login to view attachments

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2020-01-26 02:19:59
Your offset time is: 2020-01-26 02:19:59