Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Newcomers AppGameKit Corner / New to AppGameKit

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 10th Apr 2021 00:04
Hi. Many years ago, in the early 1990's I started programming with STOS on an Atari 1024 STFM. I started working on a game then moved to a PC clone and the game idea was dropped. Since then I've programmed in Visual Basic , but the idea of creating the game I never finished has stayed. Several years ago I bought Gamemaker, but although made an attempt to get into game making didn't appeal as I love coding. Then a health setback, throat cancer, two severe cases of sepsis, then a heart attack, meant that my interest in most things waned. Over the past four years I've dabbled in Unreal, Clickteam Fusion and a couple of other game engines.. In 2019 I purchased AppGameKit, but my brain just couldn't get around the syntax of the BASIC language.
My daughter recently asked about the old STOS game idea I had long ago... and why don't I create it again in some other game engine that was on special on Steam, but didn't think and RPG creator it would fit what I was doing. But... I did see that AppGameKit had a newer version, AppGameKit Studio, so I bought it, and to cut the long story short, here I am... And believe it or not I have been able to string along a few lines of code to get things working. I also sleep better