Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit Studio Chat / Simplest way to setup a leaderboard?

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Hello i'm new to AppGameKit and i've been editing a one of the sample projects, was hoping to work on getting a working leaderboard next, what would be the easiest way to do this?
ruckertheron
Years of Service
User Offline
Are you trying to do this locally? or on the internet?
TamBam
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Sep 2021 11:07 Edited at: 1st Sep 2021 11:08
@oddyseous this is my YouTube video ( Hindi Language ) on High score https://youtu.be/GsaD5mwtNW0 local Pc/Android
hosch
Developer
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Sep 2021 12:57 Edited at: 1st Sep 2021 13:17
I've recently set up a leaderboard for ORBITER. If you want to do everything yourself, there is no "easy way". You will need to learn PHP at least and SQL most certainly.

You will need:
- a php script to handle communication with your database
- a server to host your php script
- a server to host your SQL database

If you only want to save something like "name:score:name:score" in a text file and retrieve this information to further process in AppGameKit, you won't need SQL, but PHP. This would be the easiest thinkable setup, but is only viable for a small playerbase.

An alternative and most likely the simplest way would be to integrate the Game Center functionality , which comes with a default leaderboard. The downside to this is that your players would need to register for that.
PartTimeCoder
AGK Tool Maker
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 1st Sep 2021 14:27
This is from an old project, the php should work off the bat

db install sql (I think this was the right one

config.php

add_score.php

get_score.php