Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Program Announcements / Breakout Clone with Level Editor

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Jan 2006 03:41
3 MB Download: http://www.shrikesoftware.com/SmashBall.zip

I've never worked with a full 2d game before so I was interested to try my hand at it. Breakout seemed like a good place to start. I began the game this summer and after a little less than a week it was pretty much done. And I just realized I totally forgot to release it!

Right now its nothing special, just a good breakout clone that lets you create your own levels and has some cool features (any sized brick you want, place bricks down to the exact pixel). Depending on my mood I might continue to work on it and do some unique things.

Let me know what you think!

Current features:
18 different powerups
10 Levels
Different types of bricks (exploding, invulnerable, etc.)
Level editor

Stuff to do in the future:
Full 50 playable levels
Moving bricks
More unique powerups
More powerfull level editor
Better/more backdrops

Oh and press 1 to turn the music off, 2 to turn it back on (haven't gotten around to an options menu).

If you have any suggestions for powerups or gameplay ideas let me know.

Kangaroo2 BETA2
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 3rd Jan 2006 12:49 Edited at: 3rd Jan 2006 12:52
Ok, I'll be the first to say that I LOVE this! I know its "just" breakout, but you've got all the important elements in there, some really cool powerups, clean, crisp graphics, and smooth play.