Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / Not a game-it's particles for you! See for yourself!

Author
Message
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 19th Apr 2006 23:59 Edited at: 3rd May 2006 06:49
THREE FUNCTIONS RELEASED!!!
I am now releasing the function code for free.


FOUR VIDEOS RELEASED!!!
Very impressive examples of the power of these functions.


there is amajor spark-function bug! fixing it right now!


SNOW FUNCTION SCREENSHOTS POSTED


VIDEOS FIXED FOR PUBLIC VEIWING (for your information, the videos are being fixed to be viewed by people who do or do not own Fraps, the video recorder. Also, the videos are now about 30 seconds long, and usually about 3 mbs in size. Thanks to those who helped me fix them. ):

Spark function.

Dust function (flame version).



That's right. What you read is true! I'm working on a free particle pack. The effects in the images below were made by Agent Dink. I will not be distributing those, but will give out my complete functions I wrote for the use of the community.

The first function is (working fully):

RequestDirtSmoke(xpos#,ypos#,zpos#,maxsize,magefaderate,scalerate,liftrate#,imagemode)

This is a function used to request smoke made from dirt. Most of the the parameters are self explanatory. The imagemode parameter is used to adjust the transparency mode to match the of image. NOTE: THE IMAGE MODE MUST BE EITHER 1, 2, OR, 3!!! Typically .png images use mode 1 and bmp images use mode 2. The 3rd mode is a second form of mode 2. Since mode 2 can be kind of solid looking with certain images, change a mode 2 effect to mode 3 and it will take care of the prob, althoguh the effect amy appear a little smaller.

This is a screenshot of the above function at work, showing an upturned car starting to smoke before the blow (pardon the poor landscape ):



Also, below I took the same function (even though it is used for smoke) and used another image in the place of the smoke image to make a kind of flame effect, even though the function wasn't written for this. The car is now upon the point of exploding:



The dirt clod function:





The spark function (more screens coming soon...this one is difficult to see, so you must get the video...and even then, it is not as good as it is when you use it live )




Snow function is underway! This is what I have so far:





And the image I made for the function:



Videos: (sorry if the effects look slow in the videos; that's because of FRAPS):

Video of Flames:

Flames (about 30 secs long, 3.03 megs)

Video of Sparks:

Sparks (about 30 secs long, 3.26 megs)

Video of Snow:

Snow (about 30 secs long, 2.28 megs)

This is how it works:

For the dust function, the parameters are:

PARAMETER-------DATA TYPE------------DESCRIPTION
x#------------------------real--------------------x position of effect
y#------------------------real--------------------y position of effect
z#------------------------real--------------------z position of effect
maxsize-------------------integer-----------------maximum size of effect (must be > or = to 100!)
faderate------------------integer-----------------rate of effect's image fading
scalerate-----------------integer-----------------rate of effect scaling
liftrate#-----------------real--------------------rate of effect rising
imagemode------------integer (1, 2 or 3!)----image mode of effect

For the dirt clod function, the parameters are:

PARAMETER-------DATA TYPE------------DESCRIPTION
x#------------------------real--------------------x position of effect
y#------------------------real--------------------y position of effect
z#------------------------real--------------------z position of effect
maxsize-------------------integer-----------------maximum size of effect (must be > or = to 100!)
gravityrate#--------------real--------------------gravitional pull on effect
clodlife------------------integer-----------------life of effect
liftrate#-----------------real--------------------rate of effect lifting
clodradius#---------------real--------------------radius of effect
imagemode------------integer (1 or 2!)-------image mode of effect

For the spark function, the parameters are:

PARAMETER-------DATA TYPE------------DESCRIPTION
x#------------------------real--------------------x position of effect
y#------------------------real--------------------y position of effect
z#------------------------real--------------------z position of effect
maxsize-------------------integer-----------------maximum size of effect (must be > or = to 100!)
gravityrate#--------------real--------------------gravitional pull on effect
scalerate------------------integer-----------------rate of effect scaling
liftrate#-----------------real--------------------rate of effect lifting
clodradius#---------------real--------------------radius of effect
faderate------------------integer-----------------rate of effect's image fading
imagemode------------integer (1 or 2!)-------image mode of effect


This is code for the functions:



Simply copy in the above code to the end of your code, outside of the program loop. Then, inside your loop somewhere, put in these statements:



Also don't forget to load the effects! Put this code before your program loop, and make sure you have some images in the folder for it to load! You can easily rename it if you have to:



And whenever you want some dust, type:



Set image mode to 1, 2 or 3 to find the best mode that matches your image. This must be 1, 2 or 3! Modes 1 and 2 are different transparency methods to match your images so that there will be no squares around the smoke. Mode 3 is a special version of mode 2. It allows for certain images that are solid to look more see through, which increases the effect. Mode 3 will probably decrease the apparent size of the effect, so beware! Most png images will probably use mode 1

Similarily, for dirt clods, request them with statement:



There is only image mode 1 and 2 for this effect.

And for Sparks:



There is also only image mode 1 and 2 for this effect.

Next up, rubble effects (metal chunks, etc. from an explosion).

Stay tuned!

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Need particles? Click here!
Chris Franklin
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posted: 20th Apr 2006 00:29
Sweet

Theme park simulator wip boards

DB newbie
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 13th Nov 2005
Location: um..... i dont remember.
Posted: 20th Apr 2006 00:33
Quote: "Sweet "


couldnt have said it better myself.

visit my site (unfinished)
www.freewebs.com/dbnewbie
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 20th Apr 2006 02:04
Thanks guys. I'll try to work faster to keep the updates coming.

Thanks for the positive feedback!

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 6600 GT 128MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Jerok
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th May 2005
Location: Mars. Wait a sec I\'m on MARS. OMG
Posted: 20th Apr 2006 02:04
cant wait till you finish this

http://www.ebaumsworldsucks.com/(not my site or my movie)
BF game programmer
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jan 2005
Location: hoover alabama
Posted: 20th Apr 2006 02:28
awesome cant wait for it.

Boba Fett - "put captin solo in the cargo hold"
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 20th Apr 2006 03:52
Glad to hear that. My next step is to get the dirt clods working completely, and then I'll post some more screens.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 6600 GT 128MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Zotoaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Posted: 20th Apr 2006 22:13
That second one looks especially awesome!

Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 21st Apr 2006 02:29 Edited at: 21st Apr 2006 02:57
Thanks. Hmm, I thought the first one was better. But I guess that's 'cause all the effects are clumped together too much so it looks like one image.

Good news! I've decided to release the functions as I finish them! Check out my first post...give me a few mins to post it!

Enjoy!

EDIT: dirt clods added!

EDIT2: I will write up an appropriate example program later.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
The admiral
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Aug 2002
Location:
Posted: 21st Apr 2006 13:01
Looks like a very quality effect

The admiral
Balid
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 21st Apr 2006 13:51
Thanks, Uncle Sam. Nice work.

Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 21st Apr 2006 21:23 Edited at: 21st Apr 2006 21:26
You're welcome, and thank you for the positive feedback. I'll try to get that spark effect done soon.

If anyone is interested in coding their own effects, I would be happy to explain the process involved.

EDIT: I'm adding for details o the variable types for the two functions above.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 22nd Apr 2006 00:08 Edited at: 22nd Apr 2006 00:29
Sorry for the double post, but I have jsut uploaded a video of the dirt clods in action.

By the way, one effect I am considering adding is a global effect for all particles (wind, etc.).

EDIT: adding two more videos of the dust and flames.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Oddmind
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posted: 22nd Apr 2006 03:23
hey do you think you could make some good blood spatter? I think it would be cool to have it a bit misty, like windex spraying.

formerly KrazyJimmy

I'm the lizard king, I can do anything.
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 22nd Apr 2006 05:22
Hmm...windex blood...not bad.

I'll consider it.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Steve J
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posted: 22nd Apr 2006 23:59
Looks great. Pretty flexable, but you should think about the ability to add "bits" in it. Like parts of a vehicle for explosions, because I do like the fire effect.

Undercover Steve lost his passport.
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 23rd Apr 2006 08:34 Edited at: 23rd Apr 2006 08:38
Good idea, that sounds neat. How about a debris effect, where you can set it to bounce on the matrix or advanced terrain.

What do you think guys? Should I give it a go, or not worth it?

EDIT:

by the way, thanks for the comment.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
AlexI
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2004
Location: UK
Posted: 23rd Apr 2006 13:41
has any one got any images i can try this fire or smoke affect with


Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 23rd Apr 2006 18:19
Hmm...I would give away the oens Agent Dink made (with his permission), but then my games would look like everyone elses. Go to "the Artist's Challenge" in the Db Pro board. David will surely make some for you.

Good luck with the functions, and please post here if you are having trouble. By the way, jsut to let everyone know, if you set a maxsize of 100, that is actually the same as the object size. So to make it bigger, you need a number like 110.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Agent Dink
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Mar 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th Apr 2006 23:29
If you want to release them go ahead,its up to you. Our smoke effect looks nice in the picture Maybe I'll try the functions out later today if I have time.

www.badpicsofmatt.tk
www.silver-dawn.net
zircher
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posted: 26th Apr 2006 01:36
Quote: "Where can I find the custom Fraps FPS1 codec?

The Fraps codec (FPS1) is put on the system when you install Fraps. If you've reinstalled Windows you will also need to reinstall Fraps in order to play back your movies.

Please keep in mind that if you want to give your raw footage to another person they will also need to have Fraps installed.
"


http://www2.fraps.com/FRAPS272.EXE
--
TAZ

"Do you think it is wise to provoke him?" "It's what I do." -- Stargate SG-1
Steve J
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posted: 26th Apr 2006 04:46
try it, the debris function. I would love to include something like it in my game.

Your signature has been erased by a mod because it's larger than 600x120...
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 26th Apr 2006 22:10
Well then, I guess I shall!

Quote: "Quote: "Where can I find the custom Fraps FPS1 codec?

The Fraps codec (FPS1) is put on the system when you install Fraps. If you've reinstalled Windows you will also need to reinstall Fraps in order to play back your movies.

Please keep in mind that if you want to give your raw footage to another person they will also need to have Fraps installed.
"

http://www2.fraps.com/FRAPS272.EXE
--
TAZ
"


What do you mean?

Quote: "Our smoke effect looks nice in the picture "


Thanks to your images.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 26th Apr 2006 23:19 Edited at: 26th Apr 2006 23:47
Ok, sparks finished! I have added the new function to the first post.

Screenshot (kind of hard to see...I will add a video to my first post right now):



There two main things you can do with sparks. They can be instant flashes, like the above, or they can be little bits of fire that leap down out of a blaze. To do the above, I set the gravity, radius and liftrate to 0, and put the fade rate high, like 5 for example. The flash method would look extremely effective as fireflies in the night for your games.

I will post up a screenshot of the other method as well soon.

By the way, I am considering fireworks.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Olby
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 26th Apr 2006 23:27
@Uncle Sam:

Quote: "Where can I find the custom Fraps FPS1 codec?

The Fraps codec (FPS1) is put on the system when you install Fraps. If you've reinstalled Windows you will also need to reinstall Fraps in order to play back your movies.

Please keep in mind that if you want to give your raw footage to another person they will also need to have Fraps installed."


Zircher meant that IF YOU DONT HAVE FRAPS installed you wont be able to playback these video files and I apparently wont install fraps on my pc, I have lots of other soft. Could you please compress them with any other video codec?

"Gangsters die, they don't go to heaven where angels fly!"
AMD Sempron 3.1+ Ghz, 512MB Ram, ATI R9550 256MB Ram, Sound Blaster Live!, WinXP SP2, DirectX 9.0c
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 26th Apr 2006 23:28 Edited at: 26th Apr 2006 23:29
Not to worry! You do not need Fraps. They are avi files. You definetally do not need Fraps!

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
zircher
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Dec 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posted: 27th Apr 2006 03:38 Edited at: 27th Apr 2006 03:42
<bzzzzt> WRONG ANSWER.

AVI is a just the file extension and has nothing to do with the encoding of the video, in this case. I commonly see AVI files encoded with the DIVX codec of the week and I have to hunt down another codec to play 'AVI' files.

The movies did NOT work for me and Windows specifically told me that I needed to install the FPS1 codec. The only way that I found to get the codec was to install FRAPS. After I did that, I was able to watch the movies.
--
TAZ

PS. That quote is from FRAPS' own FAQ page.

"Do you think it is wise to provoke him?" "It's what I do." -- Stargate SG-1
Balid
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 27th Apr 2006 05:06
FRAPS worked for me.

Thanks TAZ

Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 27th Apr 2006 05:50
Sorry zircher, I should have believed you.

So how exactly can I make them viewable for anyone regardless of whether or not they have Fraps.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Olby
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Aug 2003
Location:
Posted: 27th Apr 2006 13:12
Save them with different compression codec, Im sure FRAPS allows you to select it, tho I never used FRAPS for video recording before, and kinda lazy to download and install it also.

"Gangsters die, they don't go to heaven where angels fly!"
AMD Sempron 3.1+ Ghz, 512MB Ram, ATI R9550 256MB Ram, Sound Blaster Live!, WinXP SP2, DirectX 9.0c
danielp
User Banned
Posted: 28th Apr 2006 00:37 Edited at: 28th Apr 2006 00:38
I've heard that people make the video in FRAPS, then open the avi or whatever format it is in Windows Movie Maker, then they save it as an MPEG using Windows Movie Maker. You would have a smaller file and it would work on everybodies computer.

danielp

danielp
Email - thegamecreators@danielp.e4ward.com
My Specs - 2047MB RAM | P4 3.4GHz | XP 5.1.2600 SP2 | GeForce 6800 256MB | Dell 230310 1600x1200 34x27cm
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 28th Apr 2006 02:11
Thanks. Will try.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Steve J
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posted: 28th Apr 2006 06:46
so you going to try the debris? Sparks look good for a broken light look in a scifi game.

Evil Mods keep erasing my below 600x120 sig...
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 28th Apr 2006 08:01 Edited at: 28th Apr 2006 08:01
Yes, I shall. I will give it my best shot.

It is true that sparks would be really neat in a SciFi game. Imagine the cracked lightbulb, still spitting out bits of heated metal.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Steve J
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posted: 28th Apr 2006 08:03
make the debris textured billboard plains. that would be the easiest option.

Evil Mods keep erasing my below 600x120 sig...
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 28th Apr 2006 08:23 Edited at: 28th Apr 2006 08:24
Good idea. How about a spin effect maybe?

EDIT: wait a minute...if it is plains, then it will be the same as dirt clods, just a different image!

I might have to make 3D models.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Cash Curtis II
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 28th Apr 2006 09:54
Quote: "I've heard that people make the video in FRAPS, then open the avi or whatever format it is in Windows Movie Maker, then they save it as an MPEG using Windows Movie Maker. You would have a smaller file and it would work on everybodies computer."

That's what I do, every time.


Come see the WIP!
Steve J
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posted: 28th Apr 2006 17:33
hmm, maybe an alpha mapped cube? You want to go with simple options. I was thinking smoke, or fire with the debris emmitting outward from it.

Evil Mods keep erasing my below 600x120 sig...
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 28th Apr 2006 20:29 Edited at: 28th Apr 2006 20:34
Hmm...I'll have to think about it...I'll find a way.

Quote: "That's what I do, every time."


Thanks Cash.

EDIT: wow, you are right! It worked! It made a 13 mb movie into about 217 kb! Thank you! Now my movies can be more than 2 seconds! Now if only the sound worked...

I will be putting up new versions of the videos very soon.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 28th Apr 2006 23:18
Sorry for the double post. Two videos have been fixed, and are now 30 seconds long and much smaller (see above). Also, there is a little trouble with the spark function. For a few seconds the sparks don't show, while it cycles through them, and then they appear. This is only at the begginning of the program, but I will still see to it that they are fixed.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Pricey
19
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Feb 2003
Location:
Posted: 29th Apr 2006 23:23
amazing. thanks so much

:: 3Ghz Pentium 4 / Hyper Threading, 1024mb RAM, 250GB HDD, 256mb Radeon 9600XT Graphics ::


Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 29th Apr 2006 23:36
You're welcome. Right now I'm trying to decide what to make next...I think the debris would be pointless, since it is the same as the dirt clods, just with a different image. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated and possibly accepted.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Jerok
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th May 2005
Location: Mars. Wait a sec I\'m on MARS. OMG
Posted: 30th Apr 2006 00:58
you could try weather effects such as snow or rain

http://www.ebaumsworldsucks.com/(not my site or my movie)
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 30th Apr 2006 01:05
Ahh yes! Thank you!

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Cash Curtis II
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 30th Apr 2006 08:46
Uncle Sam, this is starting to look too good. I'll wait for a bit more development, then I'll try it out.

I have an idea that you might or might not be interested in. Particles look great, no doubt, but they're more of just a decoration than anything else. DarkPhysics bridges the gap between looks and utility by making them react to the environment.

What if you did something like that? Say for example, you had an extra option that allows you to perform collisions on the particles. Using Sparky's DLL, you'd shoot a ray from the last good position of the particle to the next good position of the particle. If there was a collision, it could relocate at the point of collision and change direction to the opposite of the collision normal.

You couldn't use it for everything, but it would be fabulous for some applications with limited numbers of particles. You could have particle explosion debris that bounced around.

Sparky's DLL is very fast, too, as I'm sure you well know. I doubt that the collision checks in DarkPhysics would be faster, it just has the extra hardware to take care of the extra collisions. It would, of course, require that the user set every object up for collision. Imagine though how impressive your own tech demo would look.

Just thoughts.


Come see the WIP!
Bizar Guy
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 20th Apr 2005
Location: Bostonland
Posted: 30th Apr 2006 17:34
Quote: "I have an idea that you might or might not be interested in. Particles look great, no doubt, but they're more of just a decoration than anything else. DarkPhysics bridges the gap between looks and utility by making them react to the environment."
Ooh, you should make particles that react to the wind...

Looks great btw, Sam.

Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 30th Apr 2006 20:29
Thanks guys.

Cash, you've hit the nail on the head. I've considered these things myself, and I think it would be pretty inpressive. That would be a good reason to make the debris function, and now I think I shall.

Bizar Guy, the snow is already going to be affected by wind. The function progress is underway.

I have to go now. I'll fill you in later.

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 1st May 2006 07:17 Edited at: 1st May 2006 07:42
Snow is pretty close to being done!






Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Want a real FPS? Click here!
Uncle Sam
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Jul 2005
Location: West Coast, USA
Posted: 2nd May 2006 01:09
No one likes the snow?

Uncle Sam
Nvidia Geforce 7600 GS 256MB PCIEx, 2.66 GHZ Pentium 4 proccessor, 768MB RAM
Need particles? Click here!
Cash Curtis II
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Apr 2005
Location: Corpus Christi Texas
Posted: 2nd May 2006 01:30
The snow was perfect. It looked nice, and not too processor intensive.





Come see the WIP!

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2022-09-25 10:14:56
Your offset time is: 2022-09-25 10:14:56