Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Dark GDK / Really low frame rates

Author
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jun 2008 03:20
Some opinions please. At home I have a 2.1 GHz processor and at work a dual core 3.2 GHz. Running the same game I get a max of 60 FPS on my work machine. At home it maxes out at 30 FPS.

Is it possible that my video card is constrained to this low rate? I've set dbSync (0) and both machines stick at these figures.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
I'm not a programmer but I play one in the office
Mahoney
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jun 2008 03:25
That is a huge difference, depending on the type of dual-core. Video specs for each?
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jun 2008 03:45
home = RADEON 9200 SE AGP (0x5964), 128 Meg RAM

work = ???
The work PC says the name is Radeon X300 but the device type is not available. It does say the description is ATI. No memory size is available either. I do have dual monitors at the office but they're identical.

Lilith, Night Butterfly
Mahoney
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jun 2008 04:02
Got it. The X300 supports DirectX 9.0 fully. The 9200SE supports up to DirectX 8.1. So, lack of full support for 9.0 features would make the difference. Also, what type of dual-core?
Lilith
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jun 2008 04:19
x86 Family 15 Model 4 Stepping 1 GenuineIntel ~3192 Mhz

According to System Information

Lilith, Night Butterfly
Mahoney
Years of Service
User Offline
Posted: 24th Jun 2008 04:24