Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

FPSC Classic Product Chat / CoZ: Horror FX Shader -No more glowing characters-

Author
Message
creator of zombies
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Feb 2006
Location: UK: West Wales
Posted: 6th Aug 2009 13:04 Edited at: 6th Aug 2009 13:06
@Rampage: Well, If someone who has marketing contact with Lee would like to put a word in for me, I would be most greatful!

@Toasty Fresh: Thats a known FPSC bug. Simply use the appear 2 script when spawning your enemy and your problems will be solved.

@john schwarcz: Actually, Yes I can. Thanks for the shader idea, Ill get it out by tonight

@Roger Wilco: I think the answer is yes because I cant see any code problems that would say otherwise, although Iv'e never used X10, so you would have to try yourself.

@Ekipshi: Add these lines under the 'texture' line:


Also, as an added tip, when creating your specular map, instead of greyscaling the _D texture, simply greyscale the normalmap. This gives a smoother result. The rule of thumb regarding _S maps is:
*Lighter _S map = Brighter Spec map
*Darker _S map = Darker Spec map (reccomended)

Yours

CoZ

-Demon Sun: Lead Developer-
Dead Man's Cradle: Lead Developer
Toasty Fresh
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: In my office, making poly-eating models.
Posted: 6th Aug 2009 13:16
Quote: "Also, as an added tip, when creating your specular map, instead of greyscaling the _D texture, simply greyscale the normalmap. This gives a smoother result."


Nice tip. *cough*

Quote: "Simply use the appear 2 script when spawning your enemy and your problems will be solved."


Gotcha, thanks

"You are not smart! You are very un-smart!"
creator of zombies
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Feb 2006
Location: UK: West Wales
Posted: 6th Aug 2009 16:53
Stay tuned for some more releases tonight....I haven't finished yet

CoZ

-Demon Sun: Lead Developer-
Dead Man's Cradle: Lead Developer
bond1
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 6th Aug 2009 17:54 Edited at: 6th Aug 2009 18:02
Quote: "@Toasty Fresh: Thats a known FPSC bug. Simply use the appear 2 script when spawning your enemy and your problems will be solved."


Umm, that can be fixed in the shader pretty easily as well.

Scroll to the bottom and find this line:
result.w=map.w * Alphavalue;

And change to this:
result.w = map.w * 1;

----------------------------------------
"bond1 - You see this name, you think dirty."
General Jackson
User Banned
Posted: 6th Aug 2009 18:25
Rats, I must have A BAD graphics card (ATI Radeon 9000) the shader doesnt work for me, and I know i did everything right.
I need a newer laptop

He stood like a stone wall, not only in battle, but also for the Lord
creator of zombies
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Feb 2006
Location: UK: West Wales
Posted: 6th Aug 2009 19:13
@bond1: Thanks for the tweak Bond!. I knew there was a code tweak somewhere

CoZ

-Demon Sun: Lead Developer-
Dead Man's Cradle: Lead Developer
bond1
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 6th Aug 2009 19:19 Edited at: 6th Aug 2009 19:23
Hey no problem. Alphavalue is one of the parameters passed to the shader system, so you just need to bypass that value altogether, and hardcode it.

Did you ever get those other shaders problems sorted out? You had made a thread a month or so ago. If so, any tips for the other ATI users here? I noticed this shader is a single light shader that compiles under SM2. Adding a second light would require SM3...

----------------------------------------
"bond1 - You see this name, you think dirty."
creator of zombies
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Feb 2006
Location: UK: West Wales
Posted: 6th Aug 2009 19:31
@bond1: Well, it transpired that the stated shader problems where not down to my ATI card at all, It was just a malfunction of the FPSC mod I was using at the time. So far I have had no problems using any SM2 or SM3 shaders in either FPSC or other games/software. In regards to the SM2 format of my shader, I was considering a conversion to SM3, but then I run into such pitfalls as compatibility issues with quite a few members, not to mention the performance hit on older harware.

[/u]Version 1.02 released[/u]

Fixes
*Transparency issues fixed (Thanks to Bond1)
*Shader now handles _S more effectivly (Use a Darker _S map for best results)
* A +1-2fps performance increase compared to 1.01

Download attached to first post

CoZ

-Demon Sun: Lead Developer-
Dead Man's Cradle: Lead Developer
bond1
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 6th Aug 2009 19:39 Edited at: 6th Aug 2009 19:40
Cool, so I guess ATI finally sorted it out then? Because actually SM3 shaders will generally be faster then equivalent SM2 shaders on compatible hardware. The code gets optimized at runtime, and functions get streamlined at higher shader models.

So I guess MP22 shaders work then? If so that is very good news!

----------------------------------------
"bond1 - You see this name, you think dirty."
creator of zombies
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Feb 2006
Location: UK: West Wales
Posted: 6th Aug 2009 19:45 Edited at: 6th Aug 2009 19:46
@bond1: I guess so...MP22 shaders seem to work flawlessly. Also, since I have my hands full with various aspects of shader dev at the moment, you are more than welcome to download and convert the latest release of my shader to SM3....Im sure it would be welcomed greatly by us "graphics whores" of the community! (I would do it myself, but I have my hands full)

CoZ

-Demon Sun: Lead Developer-
Dead Man's Cradle: Lead Developer
Robert F
User Banned
Posted: 6th Aug 2009 19:54
looks great CoZ.
Conjured Entertainment
AGK Developer
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Sep 2005
Location: Nirvana
Posted: 6th Aug 2009 23:58
Quote: "Scroll to the bottom and find this line:
result.w=map.w * Alphavalue;

And change to this:
result.w = map.w * 1;"

Check

Quote: "MP22 shaders seem to work flawlessly."

Check

Check it out...

Attachments

Login to view attachments
bond1
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 7th Aug 2009 01:33
Thanks Conjured, good news indeed!

----------------------------------------
"bond1 - You see this name, you think dirty."
racer13 fly
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Jul 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posted: 7th Aug 2009 01:48
Wow, looks awesome in the pics! But I'm lost, how do I use this?
(I know I'm being a noob here, lol )
Toasty Fresh
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: In my office, making poly-eating models.
Posted: 7th Aug 2009 10:37
Man, tis thing makes the enemies damn hard to see. Would it be possible to make the area that is exposed to light cover a larger area?

"You are not smart! You are very un-smart!"
creator of zombies
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Feb 2006
Location: UK: West Wales
Posted: 7th Aug 2009 11:18
@Toasty Fresh: I could make the overall area larger, but then I would just be re-introducing the problem that the shader fixed. In the several tests I have run, as long as you use some form of light in the area, your fine.

CoZ

-Demon Sun: Lead Developer-
Dead Man's Cradle: Lead Developer
Toasty Fresh
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: In my office, making poly-eating models.
Posted: 7th Aug 2009 11:51
Not in mine. My problem is that I can only see the enemy in the area that the light is facing them, nowhere else. There is basically just a thin strip of the enemy showing in the direction that the light is.

"You are not smart! You are very un-smart!"
creator of zombies
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Feb 2006
Location: UK: West Wales
Posted: 7th Aug 2009 13:58
@Toasty Fresh: Hmm, Thats most probably because I altered the fixed lightsource code, although It doesnt seem to cause a problem on my machine.

CoZ

-Demon Sun: Lead Developer-
Dead Man's Cradle: Lead Developer
bond1
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Oct 2005
Location:
Posted: 7th Aug 2009 15:12 Edited at: 7th Aug 2009 15:13
Quote: " My problem is that I can only see the enemy in the area that the light is facing them, nowhere else."


Yeah, that will happen in an shader that only uses a single light source. It only looks good when the character is facing the light. Adding a second "hero" light source based on camera coordinates would alleviate it but would require SM3, and I don't know if CoZ is willing to go that route.

----------------------------------------
"bond1 - You see this name, you think dirty."
CoffeeGrunt
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 7th Aug 2009 21:50
Wow, very pretty! I could really use this!

If I was ever given the opportunity to remove all the bad from the world, I wouldn't, because for there to be heroism, compassion and all that is good, there must also be all that is bad.
racer13 fly
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Jul 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posted: 8th Aug 2009 03:07
Could anyone please tell me how to use it?
john schwarcz
User Banned
Posted: 9th Aug 2009 06:14
so coz, did you finish putting the reflectivy shader into the horror one?! (if so your amazing and fast as hell! lol) love to see a vid cause i cant test it out on this comp.

shadow666
Kravenwolf
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Apr 2009
Location: Silent Hill
Posted: 9th Aug 2009 06:37 Edited at: 9th Aug 2009 06:48
Thanks a lot for the shader COZ, it works and looks great

Kravenwolf

CoffeeGrunt
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 9th Aug 2009 12:48
It looks great, but have you got a version for Project Blue? I can't get the characters to appear with my edit...



If I was ever given the opportunity to remove all the bad from the world, I wouldn't, because for there to be heroism, compassion and all that is good, there must also be all that is bad.
creator of zombies
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Feb 2006
Location: UK: West Wales
Posted: 9th Aug 2009 13:16
CoffeeGrunt: I raised this problem with S4real and Plystire before, and it seems that the malfunction of some of my shaders with the latest version of PB is down to bugs in the full screen shader system. If I recall, S4real and myself didnt exactly know why this happens.
Ill have a tidyup of the code today and see if I can get this working.

CoZ

-Demon Sun: Lead Developer-
Dead Man's Cradle: Lead Developer
CoffeeGrunt
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 9th Aug 2009 13:42
Thanks, I've got another favour I need to ask you, I've already talked to ply about it, but he said you'd be better able to help me out...

I got the Parallax shader from the Ultimate Shader Pack, and it works okay on static entities, the only issue being that trademark lightmap glitch. So I tried integrating the code from the IlluminationMap shader into it, and I got the texture loading routines and such sorted, but I'm completely stumped on how to get the shader to overlay the lightmap on the Diffuse texture...

Here's the shader, I was wondering if you had any advice on how I could achieve this?



If I was ever given the opportunity to remove all the bad from the world, I wouldn't, because for there to be heroism, compassion and all that is good, there must also be all that is bad.
creator of zombies
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Feb 2006
Location: UK: West Wales
Posted: 9th Aug 2009 14:09
@CoffeeGrunt: Wow!, Thats some serious HLSL. Firsty, could you upload the default shader that works on the static entities, so I have a base to use (Leave the texture string names as they are because Im not using the new shader system), as well as any textures/hightmaps you have made for a certain entity. This will ensure I have a quick means of testing. Im pretty sure I have a good idea of what the problem is, Im just not sure If I can fix it, but Ill have a go.

CoZ

-Demon Sun: Lead Developer-
Dead Man's Cradle: Lead Developer
CoffeeGrunt
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 9th Aug 2009 14:35
Ok, here's the download, the shader appears to require normal maps, specular maps and diffuse maps, which FPSC supports, but it also needs height maps, which vanilla FPSC doesn't, but the PB shader system does support adding your own. The height map is the (tex_H) texture...

I've attached the textures I used for the model pack 3 barrel01 as well, good luck mate...

If I was ever given the opportunity to remove all the bad from the world, I wouldn't, because for there to be heroism, compassion and all that is good, there must also be all that is bad.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Plystire
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 18th Feb 2003
Location: Staring into the digital ether
Posted: 9th Aug 2009 23:25 Edited at: 11th Aug 2009 01:01
@CG:

I also told you online that the lightmap texture had to be the first texture in the shader. It would have been good to do that before coming to ask CoZ.


@CoZ:

I'm not sure how your shaders not working would link to the FS3, since your shaders don't even use it. The only real concern of using your shaders would be to convert them to be used in the new system, which would be painless for a shader coder such as yourself. If you wanted to discuss more, you can hit me up on MSN.


The one and only,


The Fps Creator rocks!
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Oct 2008
Location: Sneaking down your chimney.
Posted: 10th Aug 2009 16:14
It doesn't work. They still glow.

I want a new computer!
dark peanut
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posted: 10th Aug 2009 16:29
Quote: "If the shader doesnt work for you, It's you that has made a error."




dark peanut

Check out my Ultimate Competition Entry here: http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=153854&b=25 Ultimatum: The Final Deadline

creator of zombies
18
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Feb 2006
Location: UK: West Wales
Posted: 12th Aug 2009 12:31
@dark peanut: Indeed. You will never get rid of the glowing completely, that is down to FPSC's hardware lights, and the way dark lights hadles that lighting on enemies.

CoZ

-Demon Sun: Lead Developer-
Dead Man's Cradle: Lead Developer
john schwarcz
User Banned
Posted: 14th Aug 2009 04:41
could i see a vid with it in motion ? (cause i still cant test it )
ps: can you make it shinyer? and make it like that wibblyreflief mapping shader?

shadow666
Toasty Fresh
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: In my office, making poly-eating models.
Posted: 14th Aug 2009 12:14
Quote: "and make it like that wibblyreflief mapping shader?
"


Will you just shut up about that thing? I have no idea why you like it so much, it looks like crap TBH.

"You are not smart! You are very un-smart!"
john schwarcz
User Banned
Posted: 14th Aug 2009 19:38
whats TBH? lol an i think it looks amazing!

shadow666
Crusader2
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 8th Aug 2008
Location: Somewhere...
Posted: 14th Aug 2009 19:45
Quote: "Well, If someone who has marketing contact with Lee would like to put a word in for me, I would be most greatful!"


You should already have a pack out. These shaders are amazing and are worth good money; I'm surprised somebody from TGC hasn't approached you yet. I've already proposed an idea to have shaders to be uploadable to the GCS. I know it's possible; I believe bond1 has uploaded a weapon with a custom shader. Bond1, if you would be so kinda as to share that little trick with CoZ, I'm sure many people would appreciate it.

Best,
Crusader2

Some people say that I'm crazy... And I agree.
USE PLY'S MOD!
SekoIdiootti
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Mar 2009
Location: Finland
Posted: 14th Aug 2009 20:07
Quote: "whats TBH?"

To Be Honest, (I think.)


^My game, Gore Club Mission^
john schwarcz
User Banned
Posted: 17th Aug 2009 19:11
so coz... lol any updates? (bump)

shadow666
john schwarcz
User Banned
Posted: 21st Aug 2009 01:13
hey can some people please make a video with it so i can see it better, i cant use it because i have a mac, and it would be really cool if someone could thanksss,

i miss coz....

shadow666
racer13 fly
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Jul 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posted: 21st Aug 2009 04:58
Sorry for asking, but how do I use this? I'm kind of unaware of how to use shaders with FPSC (or at least where to put them).
DarkJames
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Aug 2009
Location:
Posted: 3rd Oct 2009 20:35
one question what do i have to do to obtain the shader to work???
instructions i mean....








:::SANTINUS:::


http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=157699&b=25
[X9]venom infection!
Kravenwolf
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 14th Apr 2009
Location: Silent Hill
Posted: 3rd Oct 2009 20:37
Quote: "one question what do i have to do to obtain the shader to work???
instructions i mean...."


Click on the character's effect field and apply the horrorfx shader

Kravenwolf

cloudwalker
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 11th Sep 2009
Location:
Posted: 4th Oct 2009 01:21
Nice work!
Ocho Geek
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 16th Aug 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Posted: 4th Oct 2009 13:33
love your shader work, loved your shader pack too

I love Cheese; It Fills Me With Glees,
My Tastebuds it please; oh yes, i love cheese.
shadowfire
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2009
Location: England
Posted: 4th Oct 2009 14:09
hey, i downloaded the shader and it's great, but can i just ask, what is the character you're using in the first screen? (sorry if someone's already asked)



Can you solve the mystery of bunker 413?
CoffeeGrunt
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Oct 2007
Location: England
Posted: 4th Oct 2009 19:32
It's from CheeseCake's horror pack...the Corpse Eater I think it's called...

Violence isn't the answer, it's the question...
shadowfire
15
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Mar 2009
Location: England
Posted: 4th Oct 2009 21:14
wierd... i have that but even with full shader effects on and COZ's shader it still doesn't look anywhere near as good as that.



Can you solve the mystery of bunker 413?
Toasty Fresh
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Jun 2007
Location: In my office, making poly-eating models.
Posted: 5th Oct 2009 04:01
You'll want to make normal and specular maps for it before it works.

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-17 16:11:07
Your offset time is: 2024-05-17 16:11:07