Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

AppGameKit/AppGameKit Studio Showcase / SpriteFX WIP - Animation system / spritesheet maker

Author
Message
DVader
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 28th Jan 2004
Location:
Posted: 25th May 2012 06:39
This is looking really nice baxslash! I'll be looking at this as soon as I get get a chance!

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 25th May 2012 12:20 Edited at: 25th May 2012 12:21
Thanks guys

I have great news, I finally fixed the tweening bug! A few more steps and I'll have animation playing / pausing then I can sort out export data. Once that's done the basic animator is working and ready to use.

All I'll need to do then is make a sample project using the zombie, tidy up the UI a little and I'll release the first working version. Not bad for a week's work

Nokiaqd
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 31st Aug 2009
Location:
Posted: 25th May 2012 12:34
real great news =)) good luck!!! we will wait =)

badablog.ru - bada developer
7RS
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th May 2012
Location:
Posted: 25th May 2012 13:16
Hi,
do you also supply the test code to be used in the game ? We can maybe try to add some enemies inside our game and test the animations but we need the api to manage it.

Load, create, animate. etc etc.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 25th May 2012 13:23
Quote: "do you also supply the test code to be used in the game ? We can maybe try to add some enemies inside our game and test the animations but we need the api to manage it."

Yes. It will include a full set of functions for example:
charID = loadCharacter(charFile$)
animID = loadAnimation(charID,animFile$)
setCharacterPosition(charID,x#,y#)
setCharacterAnimation(charID,animID,start#)
setCharacterFlip(charID,flipX,flipY)
setCharacterRagdoll(charID,ragOn)

Much like the spriter code I started. I want to be able to fully control my characters in terms of size, rotation, position, animation, animation speed etc.

I will also allow spritesheet export but that's just a bonus feature.

polomint
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2012
Location: Lancashire, United Kingdom
Posted: 25th May 2012 14:23
This is sounding better all the time,

Blackberry App Development & ZX Spectrum Game Development.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 25th May 2012 17:33
Animation is now working in the editor! The first time I got my zombie's leg to go up and then back down again I just about jumped out of my seat

The code needs optimising a little but the basic concept works beautifully. I can easily add smoothed interpolation at some point so the animation doesn't have to be start/stop but first I'll make it possible to delete keyframes as this is currently not working. I might actually make smoothed interpolation the default though, that's how it used to work in 3DS Max and it makes for more realistic movement.

The Slayer
Forum Vice President
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Nov 2009
Playing: (Hide and) Seek and Destroy on my guitar!
Posted: 25th May 2012 17:43 Edited at: 25th May 2012 17:43
Quote: "I just about jumped out of my seat "

Now, THAT's why people fasten their seatbelt.
Just kidding, bax! Really outstanding work you're doing man! Thanks.

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 25th May 2012 17:51
Quote: "Now, THAT's why people fasten their seatbelt."

I ALWAYS wear a seatbelt except when I'm coding

I just slotted scraggle's hermite function into my code and we now have smooth animation took two minutes...

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 25th May 2012 18:30 Edited at: 25th May 2012 18:46
I've just updated the Download to allow you all to have a play with the animation features (and hopefully spot some bugs...)

I'm off to London in a few hours for the hackathon at Google campus. Let me know how you get on with it?

Some quick undocumented pointers:
Click and drag on the screen to pan
Shift often gives an alternative action like move/rotate
Animation cannot YET be exported (but I have some time on the train with my netbook )
Click and drag the timeline to view all of it or quick click to select a frame

There's probably more but if you have any questions just post them here.

Here's a quick video showing it in action:


Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 25th May 2012 18:59
I am sooo impressed with this!

I just downloaded and played with the zombie.

I tried the shift action and moved the foot. And it still behaved properly when animated. Cool!

And I'm having fun doing strange things and breaking it! I'm a great beta tester, I always manage to break things.

Here is what I did to make it crash:
1. open zombie (cool dude)
2. played with moving and animation (works great!)
3. add new limb (the hand)
4. make the hand the parent to the head
5. move some more
6. play animation

==> Message box: Subscript is out of bounds at line 292 in root

Once, when I had nothing else to do for a few minutes, I was testing a java application without any instructions on how it was supposed to be used. It took me less than 5 minutes to crash it. I walked over to the contractor representing the company that made it (laughing all the way) and he was not amused. He said 'You are not supposed to do that!'. True, but their code let me and then didn't handle it.

I try very hard to program for that kind of situation. I work on the 'idiot' principal. There is guaranteed to be at least one using my stuff. And they will also be loud mouths about anything that happens.

It is hard to figure out how someone will do something they shouldn't and fix it.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 25th May 2012 19:04
Thanks AL, those are exactly the kind of bugs I need to find!

I have a good idea what's causing that bug too. One for the train journey I think

Quote: "I work on the 'idiot' principal."

Me too, but from the other side

Glad you like it. I want it to be fun to use!

Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 25th May 2012 20:25
I just had a cruel thought.

Find some images of my ex, copy pieces and do an animation of him:
1. putting foot in mouth
2. sticking his head up his butt
3. and a variety of very rude things

Yup, it is a tool that we can have fun with.

Thank you oh so much!

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 25th May 2012 20:28
Ouch! Remind me not to accidently date AL lol

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 25th May 2012 20:32
I have decided to wait for this GREAT tool until I start my next project!

I think this will make things much easier for me!!!

BAXSLASH is da KING!
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 25th May 2012 20:51
I did say it was a cruel thought.

Actually, I don't harbor any particular ill will towards my ex.

I can't think of any exes (one husband, several boyfriends) that I am not on good terms with.

The best revenge is living well.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
MrValentine
AGK Backer
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Dec 2010
Playing: FFVII
Posted: 25th May 2012 20:57
Phew...

Yup out perform their living standards ^^

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 25th May 2012 21:46
On behalf of baxslash products I must state that we do not condone the use of our software (free or otherwise) for this kind of malicious use.

Now where did I put those pictures of my ex...

Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 25th May 2012 22:28
I'm sorry, I just can't help the occasional wicked thought.

And all sorts of shapes are very suggestive.

A chinook helicopter flew over when we were at a baseball game, at just the right angle. I lost it totally and made my husband laugh with what I thought it looked like. I don't know how it was configured or what it might have been carrying at the rear, but I just cannot find an image that looks the same.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
JimHawkins
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 25th May 2012 23:49
Seriously - I think there's a wonderful potential market for limbs, heads, torsos etc so we can all construct really fun stuff.

This is a great idea - well done!

-- Jim
polomint
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 3rd Apr 2012
Location: Lancashire, United Kingdom
Posted: 26th May 2012 09:42
@Jimhawkins: I have some limbs, heads and torsos you can buy. Just don't let on to the police,

Blackberry App Development & ZX Spectrum Game Development.
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 26th May 2012 13:39
Ideas:

* option to move parts or group of parts, left/right & up/down, not just rotate

* copy and paste keyframe data

The rest is FANTASTIC!
JimHawkins
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Jul 2009
Location: Hull - UK
Posted: 26th May 2012 13:56
$polomint - thanks, mate! Can you iron them into 2D before shipping?

-- Jim
Rich Dersheimer
AGK Developer
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 1st Jul 2009
Location: Inside the box
Posted: 26th May 2012 20:20
Quote: "I have some limbs, heads and torsos you can buy. Just don't let on to the police"


ewwww...

Quote: "thanks, mate! Can you iron them into 2D before shipping?"


Splat, sizzle, ewwww...
halley
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 27th Apr 2011
Location: China
Posted: 27th May 2012 12:37
This is a good idea and a good work, very interesting and funny.

The Miracrea Games
bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 27th May 2012 15:33
most amazing fact is that the tool itself is also made in AppGameKit!!!!!!
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 27th May 2012 23:58
That makes it a real WYSIWYG tool

baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 28th May 2012 13:44
Quote: "* option to move parts or group of parts, left/right & up/down, not just rotate"

This is not quite possible (or at least very hard) to implement for limbs with parents. Root limbs will be allowed to move as they are not positioned according to their parent rotation. I may try this at some point but frankly you could achieve this by making limbs into orphans to allow movement. Even if this is only done for certain animations it should still work.

Quote: "* copy and paste keyframe data"

Yes, this will be added.

I will be spending some time getting this tool to its first usable state very soon (this week I hope) but I have a few other jobs to work on now so work will be limited.

Keep posting ideas / questions and I will keep updating it.

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2012 14:53
Can't you simply ignore any parents & childs and just apply the left/right/up/down movement to the particular limb or set of limbs?

lets take the example of the zombie. his hands rotate for certain number of keyframes for the walking animation. then if hit by a bullet, his hand will fall to the ground.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 28th May 2012 15:01
Are you wanting to animate that during the game or in the editor?

If it's in the editor I will be adding the option to delete a parent (create an orphan), this will allow you to position the sprite (and any of its children) wherever you like and tween automatically.

If it's in-game I will add an option in the code to ragdoll any limb which will take any children with it so you could ragdoll the upper arm (add a blood splatter emitter to the top of the shoulder / arm) and the rest of the arms would ragdoll with the upper arm leaving your character armless. That sound OK?

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 28th May 2012 18:18
sounds great!

that should cover all the basic animation needs!
Kobaltic
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Jan 2012
Location: PA, USA
Posted: 29th May 2012 01:49
Love the ragdoll idea.
3d point in space
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 1st Jun 2012 00:34 Edited at: 1st Jun 2012 01:26
ok this is the interface I have been working on for this project the tool bar works and also save/load if you help baxslash like on what you have done so far I think it can be better. I would like to know your save format also.


Developer of Space Chips, pianobasic, zipzapzoom, and vet pinball apps.
Developed the tiled map engine seen on the showcase.
Veterian for the military.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 1st Jun 2012 11:23
@3d point in space, that looks great. I love the idea of using a windows interface but I don't use C++. I could do it in C# with an updated .NET wrapper but I don't have the time to learn a new language right now.

There has been some interest from TGC in this and I will probably release a free version that does all the basic animation and a paid advanced version with more features.

I'd be happy to team up with you if you want to write a Tier 1 interface for me but what I have works. Maybe you could write a new .NET dll? That way I could use forms in C# and transfer the code I have to .NET... here's hoping

3d point in space
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 1st Jun 2012 17:57
i dont know c# very well, because in the milatary I used mfc go figure. I just don't like your save feature and load feature. You know that I can translate you code in this new gui. And I do alot of the mfc work. I dont know if I can rewrite the wrapper in C#. I think the orignal author would be better suited for that.

Developer of Space Chips, pianobasic, zipzapzoom, and vet pinball apps.
Developed the tiled map engine seen on the showcase.
Veterian for the military.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 1st Jun 2012 18:04 Edited at: 1st Jun 2012 18:04
Quote: "I just don't like your save feature and load feature."

Me either. You've convinced me to rethink this project anyway.

Quote: "You know that I can translate you code in this new gui. And I do alot of the mfc work."

Thanks! I appreciate the offer. I started rewriting the GUI in C# anyway. I haven't yet found a nice way to get a console running in a windows form in C# yet but I had a quick play with making a GUI while I had a few minutes. What do you think?



Attachments

Login to view attachments
Ancient Lady
Valued Member
20
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Mar 2004
Location: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Posted: 1st Jun 2012 18:09
The GUI looks good.

Now the hard part is getting the functionality into it.

Cheers,
Ancient Lady
3d point in space
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 1st Jun 2012 18:16
that is nice looks alot better then mfc any way. MFC is a program of the past that is not very well suited for new things but it works well with every thing. I don't know how you are going to put the concel in c#, and mfc takes too long to write out by hand. Maybe I will see if I can get it too work in C# also and tell you if I did. I don't think that there is much difference in c# and c++.

Developer of Space Chips, pianobasic, zipzapzoom, and vet pinball apps.
Developed the tiled map engine seen on the showcase.
Veterian for the military.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 1st Jun 2012 18:27
Quote: "Now the hard part is getting the functionality into it."

The biggest problem I can forsee is getting the AppGameKit console to run in embedded in the form. I've read a few "solutions" on the tinternet and but haven't got any working yet... I'll try again at some point but unless I can get AppGameKit running in that there panel it'll make it a much harder project to achieve. The functionality in forms is what I do every day at the moment

I might still take your offer 3d, but I'd like to have full control over the source and converting it would mean I'd be relying on you to get it working. Not that I don't think you can do it it's just if you got hit by a bus I'd have a heck of a job sorting the code out. If it's C# or AppGameKit basic I can fully control the source. Yes, I'm a control freak

If you have any luck getting the console running in a form I'd be very happy to hear about it!

3d point in space
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 1st Jun 2012 18:41
i wonder if you can run dll's with basic baxslash that might be another solution to the problem I am having hard time with c# because I dont use it very often.

Developer of Space Chips, pianobasic, zipzapzoom, and vet pinball apps.
Developed the tiled map engine seen on the showcase.
Veterian for the military.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 1st Jun 2012 18:43
Quote: "i wonder if you can run dll's with basic"

Not currently. TGC might add raw commands for loading dll's at some point but who knows...

3d point in space
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 1st Jun 2012 20:05 Edited at: 1st Jun 2012 21:17
hu this is a good site I found for c# and importing dlls, This article also explains that you can't mix concole apps with C# apps.
but that will leave the menu out.
http://www.csharp411.com/console-output-from-winforms-application/

Developer of Space Chips, pianobasic, zipzapzoom, and vet pinball apps.
Developed the tiled map engine seen on the showcase.
Veterian for the military.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 1st Jun 2012 23:55
You might be right. I'll take another look next time I get a chance.

BatVink
Moderator
21
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Apr 2003
Location: Gods own County, UK
Posted: 2nd Jun 2012 01:35
Is AGK for .NET any good? Maybe it will port easily?

3d point in space
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 2nd Jun 2012 02:16 Edited at: 2nd Jun 2012 09:11
my problem is that the format that i get returned from windows mfc file save and open is in c:\document\filepath

I not sure about the new commands of setting a file path is it not
document/filepath. Are you suppose to

agk::SetCurrentDir("document/filepath");
it does change the path but,
then using agk::CreateImage(agk::LoadImage()) does not work for some reason it returns a checkered image. I thought someone else had this issue but can't find the post.

I retry and install agk I think might have an older version. Any way I got mirror move and copy to work with my tool bar. Need to add rotate too it. I cant get the file thing on ago to work right know I am using the same image tell I figure it out. The reason I am so slow right know is because I amsick from the compition. I think I post my snake game as a different name like snake vet and put in the discription made by a vet. Which gets people too buy it. Of course that means changing it a liitle so it don't look like snake snaker.

Developer of Space Chips, pianobasic, zipzapzoom, and vet pinball apps.
Developed the tiled map engine seen on the showcase.
Veterian for the military.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 2nd Jun 2012 10:11
It's the .NET wrapper I am using in C#. It works fine but the problem is getting forms to work with it. I might have a solution to that when I get a chance to solve it.

3d, I had some problems with that too but I think I avoided it rather than finding an answer. Are you making your own version of this now? I don't mind a bit of competition, just wondered

mr_d
DBPro Tool Maker
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere In Australia
Posted: 2nd Jun 2012 12:16
looks amazing baxslash!
tagging this topic so i get updates...

3d point in space
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 30th Jun 2009
Location: Idaho
Posted: 2nd Jun 2012 15:50 Edited at: 2nd Jun 2012 16:23
.no I am not competing againts you ju.st having a back up plan just so it can get done I need this tool too. It is because I like it. I email you what I have done and put todo on the code that is yours. Why do you think every thing is a compition it is better if people help you instead of just. Saying its cool tool without helping. I think there are people that you know that know c++, if you cant do it that way. The way I am doing it any way would take a lot more people because its Mfc code which is harder to code then a pre made Gui maker, and it looks out of date. I think people like karmax can help also with the code. I already know it don't work with winforums.

Developer of Space Chips, pianobasic, zipzapzoom, and vet pinball apps.
Developed the tiled map engine seen on the showcase.
Veterian for the military.
baxslash
Valued Member
Bronze Codemaster
17
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 26th Dec 2006
Location: Duffield
Posted: 2nd Jun 2012 18:38
Take it easy 3d I was just asking. I'm happy that you like the tool enough to want it quickly! I only started it because Spriter is taking too long for me

Don't take what I said the wrong way. I would gladly accept help if it were in a language I already know and if I hadn't already invested time in that area. Also as there might be a financial issue with an advanced version at some point I didn't want to complicate things at this point.

I may never even finish it in which case your own version might be the only one... Who knows?

bjadams
AGK Backer
16
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 29th Mar 2008
Location:
Posted: 2nd Jun 2012 18:59
Seems like it's going to take some time for this tool to be done.

I think I will make a small utility myself to just facilitate the job for my next project (right now I am hardcoding rotation data manually), and then use Spriter in the long run...

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2024-05-03 00:00:47
Your offset time is: 2024-05-03 00:00:47