Sorry your browser is not supported!

You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web technologies, in order to use this site please update to a new browser.

Browsers supported include Chrome, FireFox, Safari, Opera, Internet Explorer 10+ or Microsoft Edge.

Work in Progress / NOX: Open Source FPS

Author
Message
Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 7th Aug 2007 18:12 Edited at: 1st Sep 2007 10:59
LATEST FILE:

NOX (v3.0) (10MB) http://dbnox.mapmasterz.com/noxbetathree.rar

NOX (v1.2).rar (3.4MB)
NOX (v1.1).rar (1.9MB)
NOX (v1.0).rar (2.6 MB)

NOX (latin for night) is a simple FPS Engine. Its open source, so feel free to edit it and create your own games. Alternatively - if your not a code person - you can wait until I update it (which shouldn't be too long).



Features

Usual FPS stuff -
Collision
Jumping
Stairs
Sliding down slopes
Shooting
Lightmaps

Cool stuff -
Canon ball physics
Doors
Flashlight
Monster AI (basic, but very effective)
Monster animation (a bit robotic)
Added scaryness!

Credits

Music - Edgen
Sound Effects - Various artists found on Flashloops
Map Textures - Sock
Base Textures - Mayang
Shaders - Evolved
Collision DLL - Paul Johnston

Tools

Models made in Metasequoia, animated in Milkshape
Map made in 3DWS
Textures made in PSP

All entities (such as doors, monsters...) are placed in 3DWS, making it very quick to create maps.

Todo
Normal mapping (almost finished)
Smarter monsters (easy, just takes some thinking through)
And everything else thats missing from your average FPS game (like heath - that could be a good place to start!)

It should be bug free, but let me know if you find anything dodgy.

Yea...so any comments or critism?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Accoun
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2006
Location: The other end of the galaxy...
Posted: 7th Aug 2007 18:43
Looks not bad...
BTW: There was a game called "nox", so maybe you should change the title.

Make games, not war.

Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 7th Aug 2007 18:47 Edited at: 7th Aug 2007 18:50
So much for the max 50mb limit on the forums, wouldn't even let me upload 1mb! I've had to cut out the music and the exe, so you'll have to complie it yourself and imagine the scary ambience. To get it to work, your gonna need Sparky's collision dll too. If TGC can sort out there uploading applet thing, I'll upload a complete exe. Cheers!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Accoun
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jan 2006
Location: The other end of the galaxy...
Posted: 7th Aug 2007 18:50
Quote: "So much for the max 50mb limit on the forums, wouldn't even let me upload 1mb!"

Maybe use file hosting sites. Like filefront.

Make games, not war.

Lukas W
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Sep 2003
Location: Sweden
Posted: 7th Aug 2007 20:00
Ah, Oliver. Long time since I've seen you on the forums.. I think.
I remember Smeg (was it?), It was a great game/demo.

This engine looks very cool too. Good job again.

Dr Manette
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 17th Jan 2006
Location: BioFox Games hq
Posted: 7th Aug 2007 20:16
Wow, that's amazing. I'd have to say that this is a really good fps, I love the levels and feel. That one monster in the top left corner scared me good, too. The models need a scarier look, imo.

Inspire
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 7th Aug 2007 20:19
Wow, that's very cool. I love the gun.

Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 7th Aug 2007 22:14
Accoun, ah yea - never seen that game before. Nevermind, it doesn't matter, i doubt people are going to get them confused!

Lukas W, yea havent been around for a while - been at uni, but its the holidays now, and i can't find a job . Smeg - haha - rather an unfortunate choice for a name. Stopped working on that when i couldnt find a way of animating models, got a copy of milkshape now tho. I've just been playing your sheep game - LOL, its awsome, strangely addictive too. Gonna have a look at your other ones next.

Dr Manette, thanks! any ideas how i can make them scarier then? I thought about putting some flesh on them, or may cobwebs. They definately need some smoother animation too.

Inspire, thanks, the gun was probly the easiest thing to make. Just a cylinder with a couple of extruded faces.

In case, people haven't figured out the controls:

WASD - Movement
Space - Jump
F - Flashlight on/off
Left mouse - Shoot
Right mouse - Open door
TEH_CODERER
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 12th Nov 2003
Location: Right behind you!
Posted: 7th Aug 2007 23:12
Isn't that media from Cube/Cube 2?

Eitherway, looks pretty cool.

Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 8th Aug 2007 00:17
Yea, the map textures appear in cube 2. But they were originally done by Sock, for a quake level. BTW, you can get some seriously cool textures from http://www.simonoc.com/pages/maps.htm. I will eventually replace them with my own, but I want to get the bulk of the code finished first. The rest of the models were done by me, but i've copied ideas from loads of places (namely cube, serious sam, imagepals and psonic).
QuothTheRaven
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 8th Aug 2007 00:51
Link to sparky's?

Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 8th Aug 2007 09:06 Edited at: 8th Aug 2007 09:28
Ok, heres the lastest file...includes the exe and Sparky's collision dll which needs copying to Dark Basic Professional/Compiler/plugins-user if you want to complie it.

Enjoy

[edit] Opps, forgot to add it!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 8th Aug 2007 15:37
Update (v1.1):
Added health and health packs
Added ammo and ammo packs
Added one more room with lots of monsters (at bottom of the well)
Item selection HUD

Right click is the 'use' button to open doors and pick up items.

If anyone tries it, could they post their frames-per-second. I running it on my laptop, and its not the fastest of things!

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Windsept
11
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 9th Jun 2006
Location: United States
Posted: 8th Aug 2007 19:21 Edited at: 9th Aug 2007 00:48
Very Cool Game. I am looking forward to the continuing development of it.

Balid
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 21st Nov 2003
Location: MI, USA
Posted: 9th Aug 2007 05:55
Lost in Thought
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 9th Aug 2007 13:32
Looks like your off to a good start. I'm a big fan of open source stuff. Send me an email if you want me to set you up with an ftp account for webspace to post updates on.

FPS was 150-260.

Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 9th Aug 2007 13:47 Edited at: 9th Aug 2007 13:47
Windsept, Balid, thanks for the motivation .

Lost in Thought, much appreciated! I might take you up on your offer a bit later. At the moment I can upload everything to the forums, but the game is getting bigger quickly. Ah and thanks for posting your fps. I take it you took the 60 sync limit off. I was just wondering if i should make everything run fps independent (a seriously boring task). But i think that if it runs smoothly on my crap computer, it shouldn't matter.

Heres another pic...



Story

Location: Mining Station on Mars, Year: 2014

The mining has disturbed some acient burial ground. Your collegues have all perished in a freak-of-nature cave-in. Your 5 miles underground. Your mission: get the hell out of there!

Haha, what do you think?

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Lost in Thought
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 9th Aug 2007 14:00
Actually I just ran the precompiled exe and there was no FPS cap 0_o

It even says Sync rate 0 in the code though.

DARKHALO2K
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 9th Aug 2007 14:24 Edited at: 9th Aug 2007 14:27
Hi there! Your demo's great, and I was wondering if you'd allow me to incorporate some of the code in to my projects? I should say that i'm hoping to release my works commercially, but would of course credit you where appropriate. So, if happy with me using your code, could you please provide me with your full name so that I can make others aware that you helped me?
I would be using the 1.1 version of the code, though look forward to you taking your background plot and creating more maps around it for us to explore! Keep up the good work, and thanks.
Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 9th Aug 2007 14:26
haha, so it does that must have been pretty difficult to control. its supposted to be set to 60!
Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 9th Aug 2007 14:36
DARKHALO2K, yea sure you can use it (thats why i put it up ). Only, please don't copy the media - I know for certain that some of it can't be used commercially. No need to give me credit, all the difficult bits are done by Sparky's collision dll. I would be interested in seeing what you make with it tho - post a demo on the forums! If you need any help with it, just ask. Good luck!
DARKHALO2K
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Sep 2003
Location: UK
Posted: 9th Aug 2007 14:41 Edited at: 9th Aug 2007 14:42
Thank you buddy, I appreciate it. And, as such, would really like to give you credit to any of the code that I incorporate in to my projects. If you change your mind after reading this then you can message me with your name if you don't want to post it here.
My work has been underway for some time, and so no worries on the media as i've pretty much got all that I need now.
Thanks again mate, and I wish you all the best for your projects.
Vorg1
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 7th Dec 2006
Location: Seattle
Posted: 9th Aug 2007 18:20
looks awesome
Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 10th Aug 2007 13:06 Edited at: 10th Aug 2007 13:09
Cheers Vorg1.

I've just added multiple weapons. So far, I've got a rocket launcher and a double barrel shotgun - but you can add as many as you like. Each weapon has ammo, reload times, damage values, animations, sounds, and different modes of fire (e.g. the shotgun fires two shots at once). I've also be messing around with melee weapons just by making the bullets hidden and short ranged. I'll upload the new version soon.

I've also gone thro the code optimizing everything. It now runs crazy fast! Instead of checking collision with 50 monster and 20 bullets, it only check which ones are 'active' (usually around 5 at one time).

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Flamboyant Fish
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Apr 2007
Location: Undersea kingdom.
Posted: 10th Aug 2007 18:02
This is fantastic!

Do you mind if we the community start coding to this with you? Think of stuff like vehicles and NPC scripting. It would get the job done half as fast!

Its not what you know, its who you know.
Dark Dragon
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2007
Location: In the ring, Kickin\' *donkeybutt*.
Posted: 10th Aug 2007 18:19 Edited at: 10th Aug 2007 18:21
Dude! Put This Thing in a zip!!!!!!! I'm Dyin' to play it!!!!
I dont know what an rar is......

Quote: "This is fantastic!

Do you mind if we the community start coding to this with you? Think of stuff like vehicles and NPC scripting. It would get the job done half as fast!
"

Yeah!!!
Game King
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 25th Mar 2007
Location: Naples, FL
Posted: 10th Aug 2007 19:19
@Dark Dragon- .rar is like .zip, just google winRar and u'll find a free download of it.

Dark Dragon
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2007
Location: In the ring, Kickin\' *donkeybutt*.
Posted: 10th Aug 2007 19:46
I have a proxy. my dad won't allow me to go anywhere.....
Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 10th Aug 2007 21:05 Edited at: 10th Aug 2007 21:07
Flamboyant Fish, yea sure. Having said that, i've never understood how more than one person can work on a code - I had a look at that blackout fps, i admire their organisation and everything, but it looked way to complicated for me! If you can get it sort tho, and get some people interested, I'd be happy to help.

Dark Dragon, I'll try to upload the next release as both a ZIP and a RAR. They tend to be twice as large tho. You should really have a look at getting winRAR!

Gonna add vehicles over the weekend (unless the weather is nice ). I've got it all planned out in my head. No fancy physics, but should be fun to play! Whats better - inside the vehicle (call of duty style) or outside (like halo)?

Justed modeled the crowbar:

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Dark Dragon
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2007
Location: In the ring, Kickin\' *donkeybutt*.
Posted: 10th Aug 2007 23:05
okay. i'll wait
Flamboyant Fish
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Apr 2007
Location: Undersea kingdom.
Posted: 10th Aug 2007 23:09
Quote: "Whats better - inside the vehicle (call of duty style) or outside (like halo)?"


Either way is cool.

Quote: "Location: Mining Station on Mars, Year: 2014"


A mine means you could drive some big vehicles like a tractor type thing or fork lift! It would make a cool puzzle for you to shovel away debris that stands in your way with a heavy mining vehicle.

Its not what you know, its who you know.
Dark Dragon
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2007
Location: In the ring, Kickin\' *donkeybutt*.
Posted: 10th Aug 2007 23:14 Edited at: 10th Aug 2007 23:17
....or you could have giant mechs blowing stuff up... ...

By the way oliver, how did you do splitscreen?(Code Please?).......................PLZ???
PowerSoft
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 10th Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posted: 10th Aug 2007 23:20
SET CAMERA VIEW if i remember correctly...

The Innuendo's, 4 Piece Indie Rock Band
http://theinnuendos.tk:::http://myspace.com/theinnuendosrock
Dark Dragon
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 22nd Jun 2007
Location: In the ring, Kickin\' *donkeybutt*.
Posted: 10th Aug 2007 23:21 Edited at: 10th Aug 2007 23:22
Quote: "SET CAMERA VIEW if i remember correctly..."

huh?
(DB User,Not DBPRO)
Inspire
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 10th Aug 2007 23:31
@ Oliver:

I would have an outside view of the vehicle.

Flamboyant Fish
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Apr 2007
Location: Undersea kingdom.
Posted: 11th Aug 2007 02:15
Quote: "....or you could have giant mechs blowing stuff up.."


heh heh that's always more fun.

Its not what you know, its who you know.
QuothTheRaven
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 2nd Oct 2002
Location: United States
Posted: 11th Aug 2007 02:44
The next thing you need to do is position the mouse at the same place once every game loop. A lot of Dark Basic programmers miss this completely. For people like me who have dual screen monitors, it's extremely annoying to turn right and watch my mouse appear on my other monitor, then try to shoot (which is in reality clicking on my desktop) and having the game minimize and crash. Lock the mouse in one place.

Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 11th Aug 2007 13:54 Edited at: 11th Aug 2007 14:37
just a quick one...

did anyone pay any attention to trig when it was explained at school? if so...

i have a cube moving over a terrain. i want it to rotate so that it is flat on the ground. i can use the normal data to point it in the right direction, however it completely messes up the y rotation (that is, the direction the car is pointing). has anyone figured this out before cos its making my head hurt!?

cheers

[edit]

SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET!!!! I just got it... had to make my own point object command that doesn't use the y angle. In case your interested...

+ Code Snippet
Lost in Thought
13
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 4th Feb 2004
Location: U.S.A. : Douglas, Georgia
Posted: 11th Aug 2007 14:36
Been a while since I was in school and I never took trig other than the bare necessities that relate to electronics. This code may help though:

http://forum.thegamecreators.com/?m=forum_view&t=37680&b=6

Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 12th Aug 2007 11:45 Edited at: 12th Aug 2007 11:47
Hello!

Flamboyant Fish, nice idea. I've added a mining tractor (just a small one for now). And move-able rubble shouldn't be to hard to do - will try that later. Thanks for the feedback.

Dark Dragon, the split screen is just done in photoshop - so i can upload two pics at once. But it could easily be done as PowerSoft said.

Inspire, done, the camera outside.

QuothTheRaven, never thought of that! God thats gotta be annoying, haha! I'll be sure to add it, thanks.

Lost in Thought, thanks for the link. I managed to figure it out at last. [shameless brag] My technique only uses one collision command, rather than four! [haha sorry]

Ok, heres support for vehicles. I'll upload the files next. You have to walk up to the bulldozer and press E to enter. Left key is for the left catterpillar track, right for the right one. Both to go forward. And E to get out.

This is just a 'taster'. At the moment its all extremely simple, but demonstates the basics nicely i think. Next thing is to add some inertia physics and tidy it up (yea, i kno you can fall of the map ).

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 12th Aug 2007 11:52
And the code

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 12th Aug 2007 11:56
Tha codes

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 12th Aug 2007 12:06 Edited at: 12th Aug 2007 12:09
Doh. All attempts at uploading it to the forums failed. Hopefully i'll be able to sort something out...

[edit]

WOW, i look stupid . I didn't realise it was posting all this on another page. It would be nice if the forums told you that! Ok, so it did work. It's now uploaded both as a zip and a rar.
Inspire
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 23rd Dec 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posted: 12th Aug 2007 15:37
@ Oliver:

lol. I'll take a look at it when I get home. Sounds awesome!

Flamboyant Fish
10
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 5th Apr 2007
Location: Undersea kingdom.
Posted: 12th Aug 2007 22:06 Edited at: 13th Aug 2007 01:32
O.o slick game! Love that vehicle you've got there.

I've been messing around with that mine monster code. Not sure how you want us to post our updates so I'll just put it in the code box.

+ Code Snippet

+ Code Snippet

I've added the following:

*monster uses a waypoint to keep tabs on players last visible location
*monster runs around wild when they've lost player
*monster only attacks a player on the same level as it, other wise it runs around wild

Try not to shoot it, but just watch it with the map in wireframe. I slowed down the monster intentionally so you could see it do it's stuff.

Its not what you know, its who you know.

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 13th Aug 2007 11:31
Flamboyant Fish, very nice! I'll try it tonight! I think its easiest if i add it to the code i'm working with, and then i'll upload it all together.

I've improved the vehicle handling, so now you don't need a seperate terrain object, and it basically feels more realistic. And i'm working on plowing down the skeletons with the bulldozer at the mo!
Advancement Games
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 14th Aug 2007 22:40 Edited at: 14th Aug 2007 23:02
It looks great so far, I am going to check it out.

EDIT: Are you going to make a player model, you know, for if you do multiplayer. I was thinking about making an FPS with the player model and having the arms and head act as a separate limb from the body for looking up and down.
Advancement Games
12
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 6th Jan 2005
Location:
Posted: 17th Aug 2007 19:18
Any new Updates?
Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 18th Aug 2007 13:44 Edited at: 18th Aug 2007 13:44


Thanks for your interest Advancement Games

At the moment I'm trying to make a complete game (just one level, but it should be huge) to show what it is capable of. Heres a pic showing the new HUD, and the crowbar. And the bottom one is the level i'm working on. I've also been cleaning up the code and optimising bits and pieces. Oh, and i made a website, check it out:

http://dbnox.mapmasterz.com/

(the download link is currently unavailable, get it of the forums)

I'm hoping to get it all finished in time for the next newsletter. Which means i have 9 days. Not nearly enough time, but im gonna be real busy in a few weeks, so development will stop/slow down.

Advancement Games, im afraid i wont have time to do a player character or muliplayer... but if someone wants to continue the project...

And lastly a request.... does anyone have 3DWS and want to make some levels for this? Its really easy, you just build a level as normal and place all the entities from within 3DWS. It would be really cool if i could have several levels to download on the website!

Oliver

Attachments

Login to view attachments
Oliver
14
Years of Service
User Offline
Joined: 24th Nov 2002
Location: Switzerland
Posted: 18th Aug 2007 13:54 Edited at: 18th Aug 2007 13:54
And i've just made it so the screen glows red when you get hurt.

Attachments

Login to view attachments

Login to post a reply

Server time is: 2017-07-23 23:28:20
Your offset time is: 2017-07-23 23:28:20